I’m A Drinker…

I drink a lot….of water that is! (What were you thinking?!) I easily drink 2 -3 liters everyday. So yeah I also pee a lot! And yes…during the night too but it is something I just get usedΒ to and I don’t even notice it any more. Keith and I are frequent potty passers around 2:00am. So basically a good rule of thumb is to take your body weight, divide by 2 and that is how many ounces you get each day! For me that would be 115/2 =Β 57.5 ounces…obviously if I am packing in almost 100 ounces a day but I sweat A LOT of water during my morning 10+ mile runs so I NEED it!!

Do you get enough water everyday?

So why is water so important? Water makes up more than two thirds of the weight of the human body, and without it, we would die in a few days. The human brain is made up of 95% water, blood is 82% and lungs 90%. A mere 2% drop in our body’s water supply can trigger signs of dehydration: fuzzy short-term memory, trouble with basic math, and difficulty focusing on smaller print, such as a computer screen. (Are you having trouble reading this? Drink up!) Mild dehydration is also one of the most common causes of daytime fatigue. An estimated seventy-five percent of Americans have mild, chronic dehydration. Pretty scary statistic for a developed country where water is readily available through the tap or bottle.

Water is important to the mechanics of the human body. The body cannot work without it, just as a car cannot run without gas and oil. In fact, all the cell and organ functions made up in our entire anatomy and physiology depend on water for their functioning.

  • Water serves as a lubricant
  • Water forms the base for saliva
  • Water forms the fluids that surround the joints.
  • Water regulates the body temperature, as the cooling and heating is distributed through perspiration.
  • Water helps to alleviate constipation by moving food through the intestinal tract and thereby eliminating waste- the best detox agent.
  • Regulates metabolism

In addition to the daily maintenance of our bodies, water also plays a key role in the prevention of disease. Drinking eight glasses of water daily can decrease the risk of colon cancer by 45%, bladder cancer by 50% and it can potentially even reduce the risk of breast cancer. And those are just a few examples!

Are you [water] drinker?

41 Responses

  1. Yes ma’am I am. I have a 32 oz cup I keep on my desk. It’s all I allow myself at work. I drink 1 before lunch and 1 after and always drink water during my workouts as well. I can always tell a difference in performance when I am not properly hydrated.

  2. Yes, I drink a lot of water, too! My husband and I invested in a water cooler, though, because I’m picky about how my water tastes! Ever since I moved to California, I have a hard time drinking the tap water… it tastes funny!

    I also drink lots of green juice and tea, so I hear you about the trips to the bathroom! Ha ha. πŸ˜€

  3. I suck at drinking water. I need to do better. I try to drink more every day and I am getting better.

  4. Omg, I pee so often at work! It’s slightly obnoxious…

  5. I’ve been trying to drink more and more water this month– I’ve been doing pretty good! Carrying a bottle around with me is key– if I have it, I’ll drink it! πŸ™‚

  6. i’m the WORST about water. i really need to drink more. i always forget until i’m dyyyying of thirst. not good.

  7. I drink a ton, and yes it does result in too many bathroom trips. I split my drinking between water and tea–for when the AC is really cranked up in the office.

  8. The only exercise I do is walking. Sometimes, I don’t drink enough. But sometimes I drink a lot before bed…and literally get up 10x during the night to pee. I don’t know how much water I really ought to get.
    I often feel thirsty, but don’t wanna drink.
    Other liquids appeal to me πŸ™‚

  9. I used to be terrible about drinking water. I’ve never liked it. I still don’t like it, but I just chug it anyway all day long b/c I know it’s good for me.

  10. I drink a lot. A lot of people my age say that they bring their cell phones everywhere they go, but I’d have to say I pick my reusable water bottle before I think about my phone.
    When my friends are over I’m always offering them water and then they say how healthy feel because they’re drinking so much water!
    And it’s the only thing I ever drink.
    Sometimes the frequent bathroom trips are annoying but going to the bathroom more often than most is a lot better than the feeling of dehydration!

  11. OH YEAH! I am in the bathroom every hour!! i love water…I like it room temp too! πŸ™‚ hate ice in there!

  12. i know i do not drink enough…..it is hard to though because i am a school teacher and cannot use the bathroom so frequently…….i need to work on this πŸ™‚

  13. I am so annoying on car trips and I even annoy myself in the middle of the night getting up 2-3x! But I’m always thirsty, so I just keep on drinking! I don’t think I drink a ridiculous amount though – probably only around 60-70 oz. I hate when I substitute teach or am doing another job where I know I can’t go for a while, then I purposely try not to drink a lot.

  14. I drink 3-4 liters per day. I just love water more than other beverages and always have my water bottle with me. I definitely notice when I don’t drink enough. I get bad headaches and just feel gross.

  15. I log my water every day to make sure that I get enought water… how tall are you if you don’t mind me asking? You and I weight the same.. but from your pics I think you are taller than I am.. (I am 5′ 2″)
    Its good to finally catch up with your blog.. after two days of walking around like a zombie.. I am now finally functional enough to read blogs again… I have my weekend recap coming up tonight…

  16. big time water drinkier! when i dont get my usualy 2-3 liters I usually can tell!

  17. I drink a lot of water as well, and am ALWAYS peeing. Sometimes it can get annoying, especially in the middle of the night. But yes, water is amazing and essential.

  18. I REALLY need to work on my water drinking!! This post has motivated me to try to drink more!

  19. I feel naked without my water bottle, if that tells you how much I drink. And yeah, I pee all day long. Can’t remember the last night I slept without getting up to pee. I drink 2-3 liters a day straight up, plus coffee, tea, and whatever goes into my smoothie. This girl is hydrated!

  20. I never drink enough water and am constantly working on it. Better go have a drink right now!!

  21. I rather water than anything else!

  22. I drink a crazy amount of water. I have my mom to thank for that one. She never had juice or pop in the house. If we were thirsty it was water or milk end of story.

    I always have a glass of water with me. I think Ive probably drank at least 4 glasses already today. I pee alot too!! lol
    In high school, my socials teacher refused to let the class start our midterm until I went to the bathroom. I insisted that I didnt need to go and he said “but you WILL, and you cant leave during the test. Go now”.

  23. I drink one to two gallons πŸ™‚ I love h2o

  24. I think I drink enough water, I’m constantly carrying my Camelbak around with me.

  25. I have my camlback water bottle at ALL times. I drink between 72 and 96 ounces a day (the bottle holds 24, so that’s 3 or 4). I sweat a lot, too, so need serious water consumption. I don’t drink much else other than coffee.

  26. 2am is typically my pee time too lol! πŸ™‚

  27. LOL at LEAH !! I do drink water …I’m always thirsty though…it *pisses* me off – quite literally ;)…
    water doesn’t cut it though lately – i’ve been going to juices, flavored waters, hot chocolate, chocolate milk …;)

  28. Love me some water. I seriously need to invest in tp for as much as I run to the bathroom due to too much h20. I don’t know how people don’t drink it.

  29. I am a huge water drinker and a frequent pee-er. My husband still makes fun of me after 7 years for running to the bathroom. I love my water! πŸ™‚

  30. I’m totally a drinker! I haven’t gotten what I need to in lately but boy, I sure do pee a lot when I do! I am always going to the bathroom in the middle of the night which stinks but to get to my clear urine stage (TMI?!) , I have to drink, drink, drink!

  31. Woohoo! I get more than enough water too! My husband and I do the tag team bathroom thing too at night! Not to mention how much water I eat in my food! All the fruits and veggies add up to even more! I love water!

  32. I tend to go through phases with water. I’ll have 2-3Ls, at least, for 4 days in a row and then very little for a day or two. Maybe it’s just my body’s way of balancing out and keeping all my internal levels where they should be.

  33. Wonderful informative post. Water is essential. I drink lots of water and gave up sugary soft drinks. Best move I’ve made in a long while. Cheers!

  34. I’m pretty good at drinking water and tea throughout the day. But I could always do better. (In the middle of reading this post I ran to the sink to refill my water bottle!)

  35. I usually drink 3 liters of water every day. One while I’m working out and two at work. I try to stop by 8pm otherwise I’d be up every couple of hours!

  36. I’m a water drinker too. Cheers! πŸ™‚

  37. Sigh…I’m so bad about water now. I was good when I was in school, because I was always drinking water in class (and constantly taking pee breaks from class). But now that I work, I can go days without really drinking water.

    I need to change that for real.

    In fact, you just inspired me to go fill up my Sigg and get drinking…

Leave a Reply

