Tax-Day Thursday

Happy Tax Day…um…NOT! Did anyone else hate their taxes this year? I did! I did! I did! We (obviously) owed money…bugger…but all is fair is love and government right?! Don’t answer that! Okay…moving on to my Thursday morning sweat fest! I am SO sore from that crazy workout I did yesterday. My butt literally aches…like I need to anchor myself when trying to sit on the toilet aches! (Everyone who is laughing…I am taking names!) So today hoping to run it out, I banged out 10 miles at 8:20/pace and I am starting to feel a little looser. I am going to attempt Physique 57 Arms and Abs again this afternoon and I flipped a coin to decide if I was going to drag my sore self to body pump…heads was NO and tails was NO…so alas…body pump I fail you. I am playing hookey! 😉

Yesterday was another good wife day! I made Keith gluten-free brownies!  I use Namaste brand (his favorite) and because I was feeling extra nice I made them as written, with oil instead of applesauce. Every so often I will make the boy the “real” stuff! He eats a brownie every single night after dinner. It is his favorite thing. So he was quite happy when he realized he was getting the “fatty brownies” versus the “healthy brownies!” haha!

Dinner last night was another pretty conoction! I made Tortilla Crusted Tilapia! (Psst…this is also gluten-free!!) I served it with fresh steamed asparagus (with fresh squeezed lemon juice and salt and pepper) and we had ourselves a meal! This was REALLY good…try it! 🙂

TORTILLA CRUSTED TILAPIA

  • 4 tilapia fillets
  • 6 corn tortillas, torn in pieces
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and coarsely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon lime juice
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon seasoning salt
  • 1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 375°F Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.

Place tortilla pieces, peppers, lime juice, cilantro and spices in blender (or food processor). Pulse until the mixture is uniform small crumbs. Spread on plate.

Beat egg in shallow dish.

Dip each fillet in egg, then in crumbs, patting crumbs to adhere. Place on baking sheet.

Bake until fish flakes, about 15 minutes depending on thickness of fillets.

What is your favorite fish? (Orange Ruffy for me please!)

 

52 Responses

  1. Mmmmm…before I went veg, seafood was my favorite!!! I loved salmon and tuna the best though. Orange ruffy was my favorite fish when I was a little girl– I used to beg my mom to make it!

  2. Ugh, taxes. I’m a hater because I owed a ton this year (not to mention what I already paid, which I count by the way). And they’re un-Constitutional, but that’s another story.

    You know, I grew up hating fish and now I can’t even pick a favorite. I love them all–though I’ll pass on the tuna and swordfish. That tilapia looks great!

  3. I eat tuna fish, from a can, does that count? I’m really not a big seafood eater, but I love crab cakes!

  4. Sometimes a run helps loosen up my legs too (sometimes it makes it worse of course). Since I don’t eat meat, can’t say I have a fave fish.

  5. That fish looks deeeelish!! 🙂

    I love salmon!

  6. yummmmmmmy 🙂 not to be cliche, but i love salmon 🙂 that and mahi mahi are probably my favorites!

  7. I owe like $500, but I still haven’t done my taxes yet! My dad and I are going to sit down and do them after class lol.
    Now I totally have a craving for brownies! lol

  8. Ugh I am NOT a fan of taxes!! I think I like most fish…I love salmon & tilapia, but probably just because those are the 2 I find most often 😉

  9. I totally flip coins to make decisions (only quarters though). Just the other night we used one to decide who got which piece of pizza.

    That fish looks tasty. I never make fish and feel like I should, since we both like it!

  10. I used to LOVE orange ruffy too but then I found that they have been fished to almost extinction.

    In recent years, the consumption of orange roughy has risen drastically due to increased supply through previously impossible deep-sea trawling techniques. Its recovery rate from fishing is slow because of its life cycle and sporadic reproduction making the fish prone to overfishing. It is the first commercially sought fish to be added to Australia’s list of endangered species because of overfishing.[3] According to sustainable seafood guides, such as Seafood Watch (USA), the Royal Forest and Bird Protection Society of New Zealand [4], the Marine Conservation Society (UK),[5], the orange roughy is currently on the list of fish that consumers should avoid the most.

  11. Oh yum! You bet I’m going to make that fish dinner.

    Taxes do suck but getting free starbucks on tax day somehow makes it a bit better.

  12. I am saving this fish recipe. My favorite fish is Tilapia, but I love love love scallops!

  13. I LOVE salmon. Grew up on catfish (hello- Mid -MO girl with a pond as an extension of her backyard), so when I ordered salmon once, my mom thought I wouldn’t like it. WRONG. Now it’s almost all I order when I go to restaurants because I’m not so good at cooking fish at home so it’s a treat to get it!

  14. I owed taxes this year….boo 😦 My favorite fish is probably salmon!

  15. I also bake for my husband 🙂

    I love salmon!! Topped with a lot of onion and garlic 🙂

  16. YUMMMM!!!! Will def be making this. Looks so easy too! My fave fish is mahi mahi.

    Taxes schmaxes….that’s what extensions are for! lol. I loathhhhhhhhhh taxes! NIGHTMARE! Use to be so easy, but once you have a busines. holy hell. But, on the plus side, you get WAY more write offs!

  17. That fish looks amazing. I’m always looking for new things to help spice up our fish meals, since I’m not a huge huge fan. Thanks for sharing.

    We received money back this year, but only b/c my husband is in sales and can write a ton of stuff off! Thank goodness.

  18. Oh my gosh that was our exact dinner lastnight too (asparagus and all)! Except my tortilla tilapia was the Sea Cuisine out a box, but it looked the same 🙂

  19. That fish looks incredibly delicious!

    I don’t have a favorite fish, I don’t really care for it. I know, I know.

  20. That looks great. I’ve been craving Shake n Bake actually. Hmm – pick one?! Maybe Salmon?…But tough call…always with ketchup though…weird I know! Drowning in ketchup actually :0

  21. All your fish dinners are making me re-think my aversion. Growing up near a lake with a fisherman for a dad, i was subjected to lots of fish dinners, and they scarred me apparently.

  22. how was that physique dvd? also any recommendations for any power yoga DVDs?

  23. I love love LOVE when my booty is sore! I feel ridiculous when I try to walk “normal” because I know I look anything but. I don’t eat enough fish, but when I do, I usually go for seabass or tilapia.

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  24. Like everyone else, I am a big big salmon fan! I don’t like fishes that are particularly “fishy,” if that makes sense!

  25. Salmon is my all time favorite fish. Living in the Pacific NW, we have some GOOD fish. 🙂

  26. Does sushi count? 🙂

  27. […] Like an actual recipe. I’ve seen a couple this morning that I really want to try. Kelly’s tortilla crusted tilapia is definately on my to-do list  and so is  Elizabeth’s veggie egg white fritatta! I will […]

  28. My free starbucks this morning (bring in a reusable mug = free coffee!) made tax day a little more bearable. Thankfully I submitted my taxes a few weeks ago – never a fun process!

    I sort of love when a workout makes me feel sore – as long as it’s “good sore” and not “injured sore”. Happy Thursday!

  29. I love Tilapia or Mahi mahi. Good stuff!!

  30. Im not a big fan of fish. But I do love scallops and shrimp. Oh – and artificial crab. I dont like the real stuff though.

    I havent done my taxes yet – I keep meaning to but it just sucks so much! lol

  31. salmon! love 🙂

  32. I always owe on taxes. My favorite fish are scallops, technically they’re shellfish, but it’s all seafood right?

  33. that fish looks great!

    I’d have to say mahi mahi is one of my favs!

  34. Ooh, tie between red snapper and ahi tuna. SO different, but both so yummy. Tax time does suck…and we owe too. Go figure. 🙂 Hope all is well my dear!

  35. i LOVE salmon! that is the prettiest fish dish i have seen in a while!!

  36. We got screwed on taxes last year but this year was better 🙂 Brownies are my favorite too. I usually make the healthy stuff but once in a while the “real stuff” really hits the spot. The tilapia looks fantastic. It sounds so flavorful!!

  37. what is physique 57? i may have missed a post on that. is it a px90 type of workout?

    i am actually headed to get a little massage courtsey of my tax refund. i got a nice chunk back this year. most of it is getting stuffed in my bank account but i want to enjoy a little of it!

  38. I am making a few boxes of brownies tonight for Saturday.. figured everyone would appreciate it.. of course I can’t make for 13000 riders.. but at least for my hubby and friends.

  39. that looks SO good! i saved it! yum

  40. tilapia is one ofthe only ones i like!

  41. haha, you know you are really sore when it hurts to sick on the toilet….been there! LOL!

  42. Aahh that looks delicious! Such a perfect meal! My favorite fish is scallops, followed by salmon. I just love all seafood though. Growing up in Massachusetts, we had the best cod, haddock, and lobster though! Such great memories!

    Have a happy day, love!

  43. I’m so making that for myself next week! My favorite fish is probably tuna, if I had to pick just one! If seafood counts, then it’s clams.

  44. I love all sorts of fish! Tuna, mahi mahi, swordfish (not all the most sustainable!). Yum! I love being so sore its hard to get down for a pee!

  45. That is awesome…no lie…I do the same thing with brownies to my husband. I have to look after his heart if he won’t!

    I was definitely not laughing about the sore booty! I did that last week with the Core Exhale Fusion. No weights in that one and my butt hurt so bad. Amazing what you can do with you own body weight!

  46. sigh. i owed taxes this year too. but, hopefully that won’t happen next year. 🙂

    and, how can you hate tax day when starbucks gives away free coffee on 4/15?

  47. Glad you liked the incline workout. On some days, if I have a lot of time, I will go a full 10 miles ( 2hrs and 10mins) put the incline to about 10-12% and bump up speed to 4.5-4.7 intervals. No everyday of course! I did our taxes back in Jan and had our refunds by Valentines Day, which is not a good thing. I am SO not for giving the government a 0% interest loan of our money. Time to re-adjust our deductions!

  48. Oooh yummy fish! I’m definitely going to make that soon! I’d say my favorite fish is broiled or roasted salmon, however I also love love love halibut. But honestly, any fish makes me happy–there’s not one I’ve tried that I don’t like!

  49. […] dinner I made Kelly’s amazing tortilla fish with green beans and black beans on the side. We topped it with some […]

  50. SO cute about the fatty brownies 😉

  51. I LOVE tax day. That means it’s the end of a work every single day for 4 months streak for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

