Wednesday Words

Hey hey hey! Okay so seriously I need to say one word: OUCH! Yesterday afternoon I did the Physique 57 Arms and Abs DVD! Holy Wowzers that sucker hurt! (Ellen you weren’t joking!!) So today I was a little all over the place with my workout. I was talking my friend Kim yesterday and she said that she been doing interval training WALKING on the treadmill. She does 90 minutes at incline 15% at 4.0 mph. I thought…hum….I should try that. HOLY COW…it is hard! Anyway, so I started the morning with a 3 mile run @7.5, then I walked for 30 minutes @ 4.0 with an incline of 13%, and then I finished up with 30 minutes on the elliptical. Let me just say that the hardest part of that workout was the walk (and I couldn’t even get to the 15% incline!!)  Holy crap…my butt is already screaming at me! haha! Now, I am about to chow on some good eats and then meet my running group at the park. Fun times!! 

Sweaty Happy MESS!

 

 I also finished the Eclipse last night (the thrid Twilight book) and I am definitely starting book  4 tonight! It was good. But I gotta say, so far book #2 has been my favorite.  

If you have read the Twilight Series, what book did you like the best?  

I also just got my birthday present from my Dad today! He got me 2 new pairs of running shoes! WOOT! I sport the K-swiss K-Ona (BEST SHOE EVER!) and with all my miles I tend to go through shoes REALLY fast! Thanks DAD!!!  

  

A Runner's Best Friend!!

 

 Onto dinner from last night! Another super easy peasy chicken recipe coming at you. I found the recipe here and followed almost exactly. It twas perfect! 🙂  

DELICIOUS BAKED CHICKEN (courtesy of Allrecipes.com)  

  • 4 bone-in chicken breast halves, with skin (I used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pinch garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  

    Rub each chicken breast with olive oil, then place in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking dish. Season with garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. Pour Worcestershire sauce over each breast. Cover dish with aluminum foil and bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes. Check chicken and remove cover if desired. (I did) Bake for another 15 minutes.  

    Oh Holy Yum!

     

    Do you prefer chicken breasts or chicken thighs?   

    I think most people would say the breast because they assume it is a lot healthier. BUT is it? Here’s how they measure up: a 4 oz boneless skinless chicken breast is roughly 125 calories, 1.5g fat and 66 mg Cholesterol and a 4 oz boneless skinless chicken thigh is roughly 135 calories, 4g Fat and 94mg Cholesterol. So my advice…if you like your dark meat…EAT IT UP! 🙂

    55 Responses

    1. 15% incline?!? Dang, that’s serious stuff!!! 🙂

      Have a great Wednesday!

    2. I like the white meat, but my hubby loves the dark meat! That is good to know that the nutrition stats don’t differ too much!

    3. I like the white meat because I like my meat dry, but it’s really interesting how little difference there is between the two. I always thought the dark was so much worse. Maybe it’s because I think of wings you eat at a restaurant–skin and all.

    4. I prefer white meat, although it does dry out easier.

      This post reminds me that I really need new shoes!

    5. I liked Twilight the best. New Moon was also a nice read…After that, they went downhill. Nevertheless, I couldn’t put them down. They have that odd thing going on…where u think ‘this is not THAT great….”…but you are infatuated with it! Kind of like reality TV…its silly – but I still watch it.

    6. I love both the breast and the thighs! I recently bought some boneless skinless chicken thighs because they were on sale. We grilled them and they were so good!

      Have a fabulous day 🙂

    7. I do incline walking alot since i’m not “a runner”. It really kicks your butt! My TM only goes to 10% incline but on the cruise I did 15%…my hands were even sweating 🙂 I wonder how those foo foo girs read magazines while doing cardio when i’m dripping in sweat?

    8. Oh and I prefer the boobs.

    9. Hey girl – good job on the workouts. Gotta love that sore, had my butt kicked feeling!!! I like to break things up into intervals if I have to be on the treadmill. Inclines kick some butt don’t they?! Deceiving. Score on the shoes!!

    10. I eat dark meat for more flavor. I usually don’t eat animals just for protein, and since I only have it 4-6 times a week, the dark meat’s just better

    11. Those shoes are so cute!! And i like dark meat, but it always reminds me of thanksgiving:)

    12. I like white meat because I don’t like the greasiness of the dark meat. Someone else was just recently talking about how the dark meat is really not that bad for you. Can’t remember who though?
      The chicken looks yummy. I made chicken last night too! You’ll have to keep us up to date on the walking…I’m curious to find out if you get good results.
      🙂

    13. I like white meat, dark meat freaks me out haha. Nice set of workouts though!

    14. I like the white meat better… not because it’s healthier so much, I just prefer it…

      And I didn’t get sucked into the Twilight series. I keep thinking I should read the books to see what all the fuss is about, but my reading list is so long I don’t think I’ll ever get to them.

    15. Those new sneaks are pretty rockin. Love the name – Kona. Like the Ironman race! Nice.

      I love me the breasties. Of the chicken…..

    16. I think that I liked #3 the best. I was a bit, ummm , “in the mood’ when I finished. Plus, totally had the hots for Jacob at the end of it. Sigh . . .

      And I vote chicken legs! Always my fave!

    17. Book number 4 is my fave!! It wasn’t when I initially started it – I was a bit freaked out (you’ll see why), but by the end it was my absolute favorite. Enjoy it – it’s kind of sad when the whole series is done though.

      that chicken dish looks great – I have never used Worchester sauce, but I might have to give it a shot.

    18. I’m a dark meat fan for SURE. Yum.

    19. Wow, I may have to try that treadmill workout. Sounds like a great way to mix things up! I wanna do the Physique thing, too. Do you need equipment (weights, etc)?

      I like the breast. Maybe hoping the more breasts I eat, the bigger mine will get. 29 years and nothing so far, but here’s hoping! 🙂

    20. I am a fan of the white meat, just don’t care for the dark meat at all.

      Your work out this morning sounds killer.

    21. wow, what a killer cardio workout you had! That’s intense!

      I prefer white and dark meat chicken..yum 🙂

    22. You look beautiful and energized from your workout, my dear! Great job on the workout today and yesterday- Physique sounds killer!!

      I’ve read two of the twilight books and I liked New Moon the most.

      That dinner looks so scrumptious! I’d be so happy to have that tonight! I tend to cook breasts but I think thighs have a ton of flavor. I love the rich, buttery taste and they really aren’t bad at all if you’re not eating the skin!

      Have a great day darlin!

    23. um, i just like the whole chicken 🙂 breasts are a lot more versatile I feel like just because it’s a big slab of meat and you don’t have to cut around a lot of bones; however, dark meat is SO flavorful too! can’t pick just one 🙂

    24. I don’t know why, I’ve just always had a slight aversion to the dark meat since being a kid. I’d go with breasts over thighs any day.

    25. Book 4 was by far my favorite!!! And I’m so mad because it leaves me wanting more more more. She really should keep them coming and with how it ends she really could too.

      I prefer light meat over dark meat. I don’t know why. I think the dark is more chewy and I don’t like that.

    26. Chicken breasts. I am a bit creeped out by meat with bone.

    27. hey love runbud!
      Thank you for the b-day wish!!
      Book 1=my fav Twillight! Book 4 is good too…but VERY vampire/fairytale-ish!
      I hope you have a fabulous hump day!
      ~xoxo!

    28. Ive bought chicken thighs a few times because theyre cheaper and Im poor. But I didnt like them at all. There’s just too much fat in them. And veins. Both gross me out.

      Walking hills is HARD. Way more than you’d think. I walk uphill with the dog when I take her out to pee in the mornings. It takes maybe 2 – 3 minutes to climb, but Im panting at the top!!

    29. As I was reading your workout I was thinking in my head “no no no” haha great job!

    30. Incline walking is HARD! I can do running intervals all day long but put that baby on an incline and I start whining immediately. Book 3 was definitely my favorite Twilight book. Book 4 was one of the worst books I have ever read. I actually threw it across the room in disgust at one point.

    31. I love workouts that turn me into a sweaty mess.

      I LOVED the twilight series, but actually HATED number two. Bella was such a whiner throughout the whole thing, I couldn’t handle it!! Books 3 and 4 were my favorite. I’m jealous that you are just now starting number 4 – I want to re-live them all! 🙂

    32. that recipe looks great! nice & simple – my style!!!

    33. blehh I hate chicken thighs, I think they have such a distinct flavor I can’t put my finger on it but its not for me! i love the breasts baby 😉

      that chicken looks so good!

    34. what great bday gifts! never tried kswiss.
      okay i think i loved the last book the best though all the twilight books were awesome! happy hump day girl 🙂

    35. I am happy that you “promote” chiken hips, like them a lot!! And without the skin I think they are quite healthy.

    36. I liked the 4th Twilight book out of all of them. Number 3 was hardest for me to read and stay focused. I got too bored with that.

      And I like the chicken breasts better.

    37. Holy moly! You already got through Eclipse! We were just talking about the 2nd one the other day!

    38. You can run in KSwiss? I always thought they were a fashion sneaker….who knew!

      • YES! You can run in Kswiss they make awesome awesome shoes! They were actually the official sponser of the LA Marathon this past year! I can not say enough good things about Kswiss!

    39. Definitely always choose chicken breasts.

    40. I’m a boob girl myself. I don’t like the sliminess of the dark meat.

      I always wore KSwiss playing tennis in high school; they are super comfy!

      I don’t know which of the Twilight series is my favorite. I think the first 2 were the best. But, the ending… I just watched New Moon last weekend. Better than the first one, but I HATE Kristen Stewart. Bad actress.

    41. So glad you tried Physique, Kell! Your booty will be lifted in no time. (Not that it um, NEEDS to be.) And interesting about the walking. I see super-fit people walking at a steep incline at the gym all the time…sounds like you’re onto something there. Plus, it’s a good way to mix things up!

      http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

    42. Aw, what a great pres from your dad! I def always get a pair of running shoes from the rents at christmas…it’s the best pres cause you always are in need of new ones (and it adds up…)

    43. So I usually have a special place in my heart for the beginning book of a beloved series b/c it’s the one that introduced me to new characters that I love. So I love #1. However, I also love the last book because it ties up the story and concludes all the questions that have been building since the beginning. So I love #4. #2 and #3 were both really good, but I’d rank them 4, 1, 2, 3. Jealous you are just now starting #4. There was 1 part where I literally put the book down and sat there going OMFG outloud over and over again. 🙂 Glad we got to ‘chat’ today.

    44. […] Okay…moving on to my Thursday morning sweat fest! I am SO sore from that crazy workout I did yesterday. My butt literally aches…like I need to anchor myself when trying to sit on the toilet […]

    45. I liked the 4th book the best. It’s kinda kooky though…you’ll see!

      I went through a phase where I was doing a lot of incline running/walking on the treadmill…it’s tougher than most might think!

    46. I love your photo. Sweaty mess? Maybe. Happy? Definitely! I love that you look so genuinely happy after exercising. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

