Let’s Move!

Let’s Move is Michelle Obama’s ambitious campaign to solve the epidemic of childhood obesity within a SINGLE generation. “Let’s Move will give parents the support they need, provide healthier food in schools, help our kids to be more physically active, and make healthy, affordable food available in every part of our country.”  How AWESOME!! Regardless of your political alignment, this is truly one issue that is not republican, democrat or independent. It simply is a way to fight a FACT: American obesity rates are climbing, childhood obesity rates are climbing, and it is a serious and life-threatening problem! “Obesity threatens the healthy future of one-third of all American children. Obesity rates have tripled in the past 30 years. We spend $150 billion every year to treat obesity-related conditions, and that number is growing. For the first time in American history, our children’s life expectancy may be shorter than their parents’. We need to get moving.”

This campaign is broken down into 4 parts:

  • Healthy Choices: we need to help parents make healthier family choices.
  • Healthier Schools: many children consume half their daily calories at school so we need to ensure our kids have access to healthy meals in their schools.
  • Physical Activity: to increase physical activity, today’s children need safe routes to walk and ride to school, parks, playgrounds and community centers where they can play and be active after school, and sports, dance or fitness programs that are exciting and challenging to keep them engaged. 
  • Access to Healthy & Affordable Food: more than 23 million Americans, including 6.5 million children, live in low-income urban and rural neighborhoods that are more than a mile from a supermarket. We need to ensure that all families have access to healthy, affordable food in their communities.

Click this button to join this campaign to help and sign up to join the Let’s Move newsletter with ways you can help. I am 100% behind this movement! Ending childhood obesity in one generation!

WE CAN DO THIS if we do it TOGETHER!

Get Moving

Last but not least: check this artcle out: Foods You Think are Healthy But AREN’T!!

31 Responses

  1. Love Michelle Obama and this campaign! I think helping parents make healthier choices for the family is SUPER important 🙂

  2. I just love Michelle. I really hope this campaign has an impact on American kids!

  3. TOTALLY agree with all 4 points…those are all things that should be available to every person in the world! way to go Michelle!

  4. Michelle Obama is amazing!! Love her!! 🙂 Such an awesome campaign. Thanks for bringing our attention to this!! Love your passion!! 🙂

    • Thanks Em…sometimes I worry that I am too annoying with the childhood obesity stuff…but I can’t help it. It just breaks my heart and I care about it SO much! Thanks for the encouragment!

  5. I love this campaign, too- healthy food and learning about it should be available for all!

  6. I, too, am so happy to see the first lady involved in something so meaningful and worthwhile. Also, I think she is smart about the way she’s tackling the problem. I really hope politics does not stand in the way of what she is trying to accomplish.

  7. I am really happy about this campaign. I am behind it 100%!!!!

  8. I heart Michelle. Her campaign is so important. Being healthy has a lot to do with having the knowledge and resources available to you.

    And as far as the “fake” healthy foods go…I’m with ya on the granola. It tastes too damn GOOD to be healthy. Ha!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  9. This is one of the reasons I think Michelle O is just fantastic! I fully support what she’s trying to do!

  10. No this stuff needs to be put out there. It’s a very disturbing problem. It’s really amazing how uneducated people are really. I mean I love all kinds of food obviously but parents taking their kids to McD every day or kids eating the same fried foods everyday OR even worse just a candy bar for lunch is not acceptable.
    Hats off to Michelle Obama for putting a focus on these things in the world fixated on economy , etc…(not that they aren’t important!!)

  11. Child obesity is such a great cause. Seriously, I think we all need to take care of our kids because if we don’t teach them the basics of eating and exercise things are only going to spiral out of control! Great post!

  12. yay for a fabulous campaign 🙂

  13. It makes me so happy that childhood obesity is becoming an issue in the forefront!! Let’s get people talking about it and solve this problem!

  14. Looks like Michelle Obama has most bases covered. Save our Kids!

  15. Love this campaign! Michelle has done some great things already with attempting to change bad habits and be healthy – I love the vegetable garden at the White House, wish I had that in my backyard!

  16. I love, love, love, love anything Michelle. She’s like my new hero. Love that she planted a garden and love that she physically participates in all of these events she puts on!!!! As you know, this is close to my hear too 🙂

  17. What a fabulous campaign, I signed up for it about a week ago, but I haven’t had a chance to read that much about it. Thanks for breaking it down for me, I needed to know more. I love the food aspect of it, I hope they bring healthier food to schools because it’s really terrible what they serve now!

  18. i love michelle. yet another great cause to support. i like the categories that she has selected too. i think it is important to look at the affordability of healthy foods. i worked in the inner city for awhile and it was super hard to find healthy food in the area.

  19. Thanks so much for posting about this! As I mom, I love it!

  20. Thanks for blogging about such an awesome campaign! I am so proud that our first lady is sponsoring this, it’s about time!

  21. I really think what she’s doing is so wonderful! Her and Jamie Oliver and my two new favorite people!

  22. I love Michelle Obama 🙂 I fully support this!

  23. Thanks for letting us know about this Kelly. I think it’s such a positive thing and I really hope to see some changes come forth because of it.

  24. I seriously love this campaign. The fact that she is tackling the issue from all sides, instead of just saying “eat better” or “exercise” is awesome. I love her!

  25. you go girl, love the get movin msg!

  26. I’m so excited about this campaign! I really hope it helps get our children healthier and more active!!

    Thanks for spreading the message. 🙂

  27. Great campaign, we definitely need something like that in the UK.

  28. I would add to that the schools need to not only offer healthy foods, but those foods should taste good. Kids will not eat veggies if they are boiled to death and taste like crap. I wouldn’t and I love veggies (and know how good they are for me and actually care)!

Leave a Reply

