My First 29 Tuesday

Hey Tuesday lovahs!! How is it starting for you?! Me? Well it has been just FABULOUS! This 29 thing might be okay! haha! I had a great run this morning…11 “I love every step of this run” miles and I have body pump in a few hours! YAY! And check me out (to the left) I have my yearly mileage count…780 baby! I AM A RUNNING MACHINE! So remember fun fact # 7 from yesterday? It was: I am extremely competitive in every aspect of my life. Well, last year I logged 2557 miles and I want to beat that this year! We’ll see but I am well on my way! πŸ™‚Β Β Β 

If you are a runner, do you have a certain number of miles you want to run this year?Β 

Β 

Β So I made my very first Lasagna! I based it off this recipe here and made some minor tweaks to make it more healthy!

Β EASY LASAGNAΒ  (Gluten-Free)

  • 8 ounces lasagna noodles (I used these gluten-free noodles by De Boles)
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, optional (I didn’t use because Keith hates mushrooms…crazy boy!)
  • 1 jar (about 16 ounces) spaghetti sauce, your favorite
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon dried leaf oregano, crumbled
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried leaf basil, crumbled
  • 1 1/2 cups ricotta cheese (I used part-skim)
  • 2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese (I used part-skim)
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Cook lasagna noodles according to package directions; drain and set aside. (the GF noodles I used were actually non boil…meaning you didn’t have to precook them! Even better!) In a large skillet, brown beef, onion, and mushrooms; drain well. Stir in spaghetti sauce, garlic powder, salt, oregano, and basil.

In a 2-quart buttered (I just used non-stick spray) baking dish, layer 1/3 of the lasagna noodles, 1/3 of the sauce and 1/3 of the ricotta cheese, Monterey Jack cheese, and Parmesan cheeses. Repeat layers twice.

Β Bake lasagna at 350Β° for 60 minutes, or until thoroughly heated and bubbly. Let stand for 8 to 10 minutes before cutting and serving. Serves 6 to 8.

And how did it turn out? BRILLIANT! Check check check it out:

DEEEELISH!

Keith is drooling! haha!

Β I, unfortunately, do not like ricotta cheese and ricotta cheese does not like me. It is a mutual hate/hate relationship. So I did not and will not be enjoying this beautiful concoction but I made it for Keith because I know he has been wanting me to make it for a long time now! I did take a bite (I mean how could I not??) and it was good….ah if only ricotta and I could find a way to co-exist. But until then, seeing Keith’s happy face was all worth it and all I needed! πŸ™‚

Have you tried making anything “new to you” lately? Β 

Β Do you ever make things for your significant other that you won’t be able to enjoy?

Β 

61 Responses

  1. 2557 miles is AMAZING! You are so inspiring. I am sure you will beat it this year!

  2. that lasagna looks good…i used to buy ricotta cheese…havent had it in a long time…might try it out sometime again in future if i see it. always open to new things.

  3. Holy cheesy goodness!!!! That looks awesome!

  4. Pasta heaven… ahhhhhh!

  5. Seriously your first lasagna? I haven’t made it in a while, but it’s something I used to make fairly regularly. I love using Japanese eggplant in place of the pasta too. How do you feel about cottage cheese? I actually used cottage cheese rather than ricotta.

  6. Wow! You ARE a running machine!!!!

    The lasagna looks incredible! Too bad about the ricotta thing!

    Glad to hear “29” is working out for you πŸ˜‰

  7. Don’t even get me started on ricotta! It’s my biggest issue with lasagna. I usually have to scrape it off and just eat the noodles and whatever tomato/meat/other cheese is left. It’s messy!

    (although I do like cannolis)

  8. That looks yummy! I am also a cottage cheese fan in place of the ricotta! I love all your gluten-free recipes! I have an intolerance to gluten and dairy and if I slip up and have some, I pay for it during my morning run! 😦

  9. You are definitely going to rock that goal….and I am impressed!!

    I make my BF meatballs even though they aren’t my favorite πŸ™‚

  10. I make Jensen spaghetti even though I don’t like it (gasp!). I’ve nver liked it, but it’s easy enough to make and he loves it. I just make sure there is something else for me to eat.

  11. I think a lot of guys eat differently than females, so sometimes when I’m cooking I’ll make two separate meals!

  12. Quinoa!! Haha. Your lasagna sounds awesome- I think lasagna’s one of my favorites πŸ™‚

  13. hmmm cheesy yumminess!! I dont like ricotta either–blah!!

  14. I am sure 29 will be great for you! That lasagna looks great! I cook things all the time for my 3 guys that I have no intention of eating. Why make them live without just because I can’t have something? There are plenty of things I make for just me too!

  15. Good golly girl! WHen I read your mileage it makes me fall out! Sheesh, you are A MACHINE! Good for you, I know you will make your goal of surpassing last years count. No doubt!

    I’ll try anything once, so I’m always trying new stuff. I don’t mind cooking for my hubs, I love to, but he usually will make his own meals.

  16. 2557?! Whoa! I am trying to hit 1010 this year. I am sure I will πŸ˜‰

    My husband cooks everything vegan for me (he is vegetarian) so he could answer “yes” to your second question! We have been cooking with something “new” to us lately – bulgur.

  17. You are seriously my running inspiration. You knock out 10 miles a day like it ain’t no thang. I usually have certain race goals (helloooo fall marathon), but not mileage goals! I bake for my fella all the time. He definitely is more of a chocolate lover than I am and I really don’t care for frosting, so those things quickly become “John treats.”

  18. Mmmm lasagna is one of my favorite meals, yummy! I’ve never logged the amount of miles I ran in a year, but maybe once I start again I will, just to see.

  19. I don’t like ricotta either. I want to try making a lasagna without it. Yours does look delicious though. I could my mileage for my marathon training, but never thought to count it all year-round, maybe I’ll start. I just know I wantd to beat my mileage from my last training… and I DID! πŸ™‚

  20. 2557 miles last year! wow thats amazing!1 and you are already up to 780 this year!?!? NICE!!

    that pasta looks SO GOOD! I’ll take what you didn’t eat πŸ™‚

  21. holy cow that’s a lot of miles!!! way to go – i’m impressed!

  22. holy cow, 2557 miles. youre a running machine.

    i just want to reach 1000.

  23. Omg that looks incredible!

  24. do you like cottage cheese? i’ve heard that makes a great ricotta cheese substitute in lasagnas! πŸ™‚

  25. I’m making Tina’s (a tina bit of faith fitness and fun blog) crock pot chicken enchilada’s tonight! They’ve always looked so darn good!

  26. Wow, your running stats always amaze me You ARE a running machine. I should keep track of my #s to help motivate myself to get outside and get running along.

  27. There are so many times that I make things for the boy that I don’t eat. I love cooking but there are many times when I’m craving something simple and fresh so I just cook for him and eat my simple meal. That way I get both of my fixes in!!

    I love lasagne!!! definitely try cottage cheese. Thats what I use!!! I also love to mix a little cooked spinach into the cottage cheese…. so good!!

  28. YUM I looooove lasagna!!! Have you tried cottage cheese in place of ricotta? Works like a charm!

  29. You’re so amazing with all those miles. The lasagna looks great. Ricotta very much agrees with me and I love lasagna so I’m basically drooling right now. I’m not sure if it’s the consistency of ricotta that hates you or if you have some sort of allergy but if its the latter you might want to try cottage cheese mixed with some other cheese.

  30. That lasagna looks delish! Are you able to eat cottage cheese? I know a lot of people substitute that for the ricotta…but, if you’re lactose intolerant…then that doesn’t help much. 😦 Everyone once in a while I’ll make some stuff for David with nuts in it. He likes that. πŸ™‚ And BTW, I’m SURE you’ll bust your mileage from last year!!

  31. I try to make dishes that we both love, thank goodness Chris will try almost anything, at least once. Lasagna is my favorite with loads of cheese.

  32. I don’t make things that I can’t enjoy as well. Everything in moderation!

  33. I dont set a distance goal for myself, probably because of all the foot/hip/ankle issues I have. Im always afraid I wont be able to run anymore.

    I dont make meals for my boyfriend unless I can eat them. But Im a bad girlfriend. lol

  34. Looks great. Maybe you could use another cheese I’m sure to substitute ??

  35. I don’t have a significant other, so if I won’t eat it, I don’t make it. πŸ˜›

    Impressive mileage!

  36. Luckily everything Erik enjoys I do too, we’re not too picky and share similar tastes. In my house I make one meal and that’s what everyone (except the youngest member eats) My Mom cooked like that too, if you didn’t like something you were out of luck, haha.

    You have logged in some serious miles, you’re such an inspiration.

  37. aww girl it looks like you had an awesome time on your bday!!!

    And I still cannot understand how you don’t consider yourself a runner, specially after learning that you ran 2,557 miles just last year!!! You are awesome girl, I have no doubt you are going to beat last year’s record πŸ™‚

    When I go home I always make my family loads of treats but I never indulge in them. It makes me happy baking stuff for them even though I don’t eat it.

  38. what a great recipe! yum…..29 is great-enjoy it as i know you will πŸ™‚
    oh my those are some big totals and you are a TRUE runner. i am definitely not as competetive as you.

  39. happy belated birthday!

    i am not a huge lasagna fan either. my boyfriend hates onions and i am a huge fan. i leave them out of most things for him but snuck them in a pizza a few weeks back and he didn’t notice. hehehehe! i am so sneaky πŸ˜‰

  40. Welcome to the 29 club,girlfriend! I’ve been SO slack at cooking lately, so no, I haven’t tried anything new :/ BUT I have switched from packaged oatmeal (filled with artificial sweeteners) to the natural Quaker Oats. I add a little cinnamon and a banana. It’s taking a little getting used to, but I feel good about cutting out the extra sugar!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  41. KELLLYYYYYY!!!!! I’m so so so so so sorry that I’m late in wishing you the happiest birthday! I hope you know how much you mean to me. You have been the best supporter, the best inspiration, and the best positive energy I could ever ask for! I’m so happy you had a great day yesterday! You deserve all the happiness in the world, my love!! Cheers to 29 BEEEauuutttiifffuuulll years!

    The lasagna looks so good! Daniel would be thrilled if I made that for him! How sweet of you to make meals that you know Keith will love. I make things that I don’t really enjoy sometimes because I know that they’ll mean a lot to Daniel- like soup and stuffed shells.

    Happy Tuesday pretty lady!

  42. lol how cute “My first Tuesday as a 29 year old”.

    I LOVE making new things. In fact Scott is always like “so whats new on the menu THIS week.” Thats how often I like to switch stuff up. If its not good the first time, maybe I’ll make it again. But rarely. If it’s good though, it goes on my site so I’ll remember to make it again.

    Your lasagna looks awesome.

  43. Everyone seems to make the best looking food…in.the.world!

    I’ve had such a hard time convincing myself and motivating myself to get back to running after my 10k fiasco :*( …i don’t know what to do about that.

  44. That lasagna looks deeeeeelicious!! πŸ™‚ Too bad you couldn’t eat any.. 😦 We actually make gluten free lasagna too, but leave the ricotta out. Neither Andrew or me like ricotta, blech.

  45. […] 2010 by Kelly Afternoon everyone! So apparently cottage cheese is a great ricotta substitute in lasagna! AWESOME…thank you guys! I will definitely try that next time […]

  46. You are my little rockstar runner girl!!! Woot! Woot! Go Kelly, Go Kelly! πŸ™‚ You’ll blow that goal out of the water I’m sure.

    Umm, I make T these mashed canellini beans that have rosemary in them, I don’t like them, but he LOVES them so I make those for him on occasion.

  47. I love reading about your running endeavors. Rock it out! I don’t have a mileage goal for the year…but I have a goal: Run 26.2 miles, in one shot. It’s lofty, but nothing is impossible! Thanks for the inspiration!

  48. Holy crud! You are a running MACHINE!!!! I don’t run that many miles…it’s pretty sad actually. I’m doing to to like 20mi/wk…

  49. That looks awesome. Lasagna is still something I have never made! Your recipe is basic and seems so simple. Now if only I can bring myself to actually make it. Haha. But I’m only a house of one so I couldn’t/don’t want to make a big old batch. Maybe I can half it?

    I made pineapple pork tonight which is totally new to me. I know the two ingredients are always paired together so I just winged it. It turned out great!

  50. I’ll have to look for those gluten free noodles. I have also made gluten free lasagna using thinly sliced eggplant instead of noodles. Yum!

Leave a Reply

