More Birthday Fun…

Thank you all for the wonderful birthday wishes! And I am so glad you like my 29 fun facts!! haha! So, a bunch of you made comments and emailed me wondering about my aversion to the number 3! So here it is: every time I have had a 3 in my age it hasn’t been the best year and so because of that I am seriously superstitious about that number. Every time I race I pray for no 3’s in my bib number (so far so good!! haha). When I was 3 years old I had a bad accident involving my face and a swing set and some plastic surgery! When I was 13 I came down with meningitis and encephalitis and was in the hospital for most of that summer…throw in a few seizures and a near death experience in a swimming pool…not a great year! Then when I was 23 I went through a REALLY bad breakup (which was positive because I ended up with my sweet Keith) but it was probably one of the darkest times in my life. So…3’s…NOT A FAN! haha!

Okay here’s another weird thing. How do you guys define a year? The reason I ask is because I have always thought in terms of years from my birthday to birthday…so April 12 to April 12. Keith thinks this is hysterical. He wished me Happy New Year today…haha! For me a year in my life does not go from January 1 to December 31 even though I know that is a calendar year. Is that weird? Probably! haha!

Okay onto more birthday stuff! Want to see what Keith got me??!?! I know you do! HE IS AMAZING and did really well!

First, my birthday started with flowers! Aren't they colorful?!

Keith got me a bunch of cards but this was the funny one!!

Hehe....isn't that cute!

Ripping into my package!! I am not a "girly" present opener! haha!

It is a silver cuff bracelet with the word "stength" etched into it. PERFECT! I absolutely love it!

A close up!

Putting my bracelet on ASAP! No waiting around for this girl!

Me with all my loot!

Then I met Mama at Whole Foods this afternoon and she gave me some AWESOME birthday goodies! Check it:

She got me door mat and runner that I have been LUSTING after for easily over a year now! I was BEYOND THRILLED!!!

The entire Michael Pollan's series! YAY!

 

And (I know...there's more) this fabulous leather HOBO Bag! Do I NOT have the greatest mom, ever?!?!?!

So far this birthday has ROCKED! Maybe 29 won’t be so bad! 😉 Also, Andrea  gave me this award today!

My instructions for accepting this award:

  1. Display the Stiletto badge of honor.
  2. Brag about it – post a link to the page to highlight what the award is about.
  3. Say thanks! Include a link to the friend who nominated you.
  4. Share the love-nominate 5-10 more blogs. Leave links to their blogs and leave them a comment so they know they won!
  5. Do what you do! Keep at it and keep inspiring others.

Thank you Andrea!! I am so bad about nominating other people because I LOVE LOVE LOVE all of you…so please consider yourself nominated and keep being the AMAZING bloggers that you are! 🙂

Keep on having a rockin’ Monday everyone and don’t forget to tell me how you think of a year!!!

52 Responses

  1. LOVE that new bag!! Wow, 3’s are NOT your year! I define a year by start to finish, but I think I would like to start thinking of it by birthdays. Great idea! Glad you are enjoying your day, lovely. 🙂

  2. That card is TOO cute! What great b-day goodies 🙂

    Can I just say that I love how you measure a year!! Makes perfect sense to me!

  3. Sounds like you’re having a fantastic birthday!! I guess I have never really thought about what I consider a year. Prob Jan 1 – Dec 31. I love your idea though so Happy New Year to you! 😉

  4. love the bag and you will have to do reviews on the books you got! id love to hear what you think.

    oh and i feel like poop bc I never actually wished you Happy birthday–so here it is–HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  5. I feel like singing that song from Rent “525600 minutes”
    I definitely think of a year as Jan 1-Dec 31. That would make it so much cooler if Jan 1 was your birthday

  6. Happy late birthday! You did get some awesome loot! I love the bag and braclet.

  7. I have 2 different ideas of a year – Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, but also I think in terms of school years.

    Glad to see you’re having a fabulous birthday!! You are a lucky girl!! 🙂

  8. Happy Birthday! I missed it while I was jet setting to Denver and wishing anxiously for my move to Austin! Thanks for the shout out on Twitter!!

    …at least you’ve only got 3’s…. I’ve got every odd year! We are convinced all odd years suck (except for ’85 when I was born…)

  9. When I was in school, I thought of years as Aug or Sept to May or June (the shcool year) like Em above. Since I’m not a teacher and no longer in school, I now think of it as the typical Jan. 1st to Dec31st. I like the birthday to birthday idea, though!

  10. Happy Birthday Kelly!! You got some great gifts and you look beautiful!

    I think I define a year by school years like a few others have mentioned. Someday it won’t have to be that way 🙂

  11. Love how your year goes birthday to birthday. My bday is January 6, so it coincides with the new year. Hadn’t really thought of making a birthday a new year day too!

    Also–have you read those books yet? I just started ?In Defense of Food,” and felt like I was reading a textbook. But I know they are good and everyone talks about them.

  12. HEY Gorgeous girlie!!!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! i hope it is going AMAZINGLY! loveee the gifts, they are all perfect!
    and hehe I LOVE the ‘New Year!’ so HAPPY NEW YEAR to you! I hope it can compete with being as FABULOUS as YOU ARE!
    xoxo!

  13. Wow! What wonderful presents for a wonderful lady! 🙂 Also, I want that bag and that bracelet!!! 🙂

    So, what are the evening birthday plans?

    And, Happy New Year! 😉

  14. Happy Birthday to you!! I love all your birthday gifts, especially the gorgeous new bag. Love it!

    Enjoy your 29th year…it will be a fantastic one for sure!!

  15. You are so beautiful Kelly! Keith and your Mom did awesome with the presents. Yay!

  16. how do you define a year? i’m not sure! but you made me think of that song in rent- how do you measure, measure a year? In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee.

    which, i think, is a wonderful way to measure a year.

    i want a rockin’ hobo bag!

  17. that purse is perfect…i’ve been looking for one just like it! what a great birthday 🙂 hope it keeps going perfectly for ya!

  18. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Nice swag!! 🙂

  19. I love the bracelet. I think it suits you perfectly. 🙂

    Crazy about the number 3. I think I would have an aversion too after all of that. I do the calendar year for my year to year basis. Otherwise I think I would get confused. LOL

  20. Those flowers are gorgeous. They’re so colorful and not generic red roses. How sweet. I agree–that bag is awesome!

    • I guess another fun fact about me is that I actually HATE roses. I think they are so cliche! haha…so Keith never gets them for me and I LOVE IT! 🙂

  21. Happy Birthday, Kelly!!!! (or, Happy New Year!) Looks like you’re having a great day– you deserve it!! Love, love, love that bag!

  22. HAPPY BIRTHDAY GIRL!!
    i LOVE that bracelet girl!! that is SO cute!!!! ahhh i hope you have a wonderful day!

  23. Happy Birthday! I love the bracelet. I do consider a year to be calendar year 😉

  24. Yay Happy Birthday Kelly! Love the hobo bag, and all your gifts are awesome! May this be your BEST year ever! Time to change the “3” streak…

  25. Glad you had a great 29th! Love all your prezzies!

  26. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Looks like an awesome day! I love that bracelet!!! I need one!

  27. I just wanted to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY. I hope your day was as fabulous as you are, girlfriend!!! I love all of your presents too 🙂 I’m obsessed with that runner and can’t wait to hear your review on Michael Pollan!

  28. Happy Birthday, Kelly! Sounds like you had a wonderful day.

  29. Your mom deserves a medal for shopping excellence!

    I love the strength bracelet. Such a genuine gift 🙂

  30. Happy Birthday!!!! Sounds like you had a great day!!!Yeah! I love the runner in the hallway, it looks great.

  31. Your madre did a GREAT job with the bag! So cute!

  32. Happy Birthday!!!! I’ve never thought about defining a year as the time between birthdays but it totally makes sense!!!

    You’re such a lucky girl with all of those gifts!!

  33. Happy Birthday!!! I love the bracelet! It is seriously perfect for you! 🙂 Enjoy what’s left of your evening!

    P.S. I think of a year in the same way…but, I don’t like my birthday!

  34. Awesome birthday bounty, my friend. I am so glad that you had a day as wonderful and special as you are!

  35. Where did Keith get that bracelet? I want one! You don’t like orange, do you? 😀

    Happy birthday again, girl! Hope you enjoyed your day in your tank top (me=jealous)!!

  36. That bracelet is gorgeous! Love that purse! Hope you had a great birthday!

    xoxoxox

  37. happy bday!! that bracelet is so pretty 🙂

    let us know how those books are. i’ve been wanting to read in defense of food.

  38. that bracelet is gorgeous!! xx

  39. Keith is a great present-giver! Such a thoughtful gift. You made out well this year between your sweet hubby and your mom 🙂

  40. Wow , now that is what I call a good birthday! Happy new year girlfriend!!

  41. Wow, I love that bag! I’ve been looking for a new purse, and that is exactly what I want!

    Looks like you got some great stuff overall! Happy late birthday!

  42. LOVE the bracelet, LOVE the bag and LOVE the runner and door mat! Looks like you had a great birthday!

  43. oh what a great day and GREAT gifts 😉

  44. Happy birthday!!!

  45. Happy Belated Birthday! I loveee your new rugs – so pretty. Ahhh, and a real Hobo. I have two Hobo purses + 2 wallets, and am obsessed. Is this your first? : )

    – The Nutrition Nut

  46. […] You can read more about Kelly’s dislike for the number 3 here… […]

Leave a Reply

