Gluten Free Cupcakes

I wanted to pop in real quick and say first, I hope you are LOVING your Saturday, and I wanted to post my gluten-free cupcakes that I made this morning! YUM! YUM! Enjoy!

I should say that this is my favorite gluten-free cupcake recipe! Quick fact about me: I hate icing/frosting. For some reason the sweetness of it is just too much. I always scrape it off cake and as a kid I always wanted the least amount of icing possible on any cake or cookie cake for my birthdays. (Right, mom?) So these cupcakes are bare…but that is how I like it. But if you wanted to frost them then they would be totally great that way too!

SALAD DRESSING CUPCAKES

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I use Rob’s Red Mill’s All Purpose Gluten Free Baking Flour)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, optional (I didn’t use because truthfully I am not a chocolate gal either)
  • 3/4 cup fat-free mayonnaise
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used lemon extract this time…you can really use any flavor you want)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a muffin tin with cooking spray or use muffin liners.

Sift flour, baking soda and cocoa powder (if using); set aside.

Whip mayonnaise, sugar, water and vanilla until thoroughly mixed. Add flour mixture slowly and beat at medium speed with electric mixture for 2 minutes.

 Fill muffin tray and bake 15 to 25 minutes (depends on your oven; mine took 25) or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

 Serves: 12 (I actually halved the recipe to make only 6; 12 cupcakes it a lot for just me and Keith)

 133 CALORIES; 0.6g FAT (0.1g saturated fat); 1mg CHOLESTEROL; 278mg SODIUM; 30.6g CARBOHYDRATES; 0.7g FIBER; 17.8g SUGAR; 1.6g PROTEIN

Fresh out of the oven

I think I need one...NOW!

22 Responses

  1. wow I would never think to use mayonnaise in cupcakes, so smart! I don’t like icing on my cupcakes either, too sweet! I think I would add the chocolate though 🙂 enjoy your sat!

  2. Those look delish!

  3. interesting that you added mayo! i’m not usually a fan of gluten-free, but these look AH-mazing 🙂

  4. Opposites attract. Give me the corner piece and slather more icing on baby!

    I wonder what the mayo does to the cupcakes? Funny.

  5. Not a icing OR a chocolate girl?!?!?! *gasp!* Kelly, I just don’t know about you anymore, haha!! J/k, I only wish I wasn’t an icing or chocolate girl! 😉 These cupcakes look great!! I will have to make them for Andrew, he LOVES GF cupcakes!! 🙂

  6. That looks yummy! I want to try these!

  7. Yummy cupcakes! I have big plans for a delicious dessert tonight and now I want a cupcake 🙂

  8. I’ve never had mayo in cupcakes before… I’m curious enough to try it! 🙂

  9. Interesting on the mayo, seems like I’ve seen other recipes using mayo, but it’s not anything I’d ever think to do.

  10. No icing?! I might have to judge you for that one. No worries though, we’re still pals. So is mayo a healthier alternative?? It doesn’t SOUND it, but I’m know you know what you’re doing 🙂

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  11. Agreed, sometimes the frosting is too much for me as well, but I do love bare cupcakes too! Yay I think I could eat them w/o icing more than with.

  12. Haha…I don’t do icing either…unless we are talking cream cheese, but most of the time it is just too sweet for me!

  13. hmm, i wish i didn’t have a killer sweet tooth 😉 but i got that from my mom… yay for cupcakes!

  14. yum yum! Thanks lady 😉

  15. you dont like frosting? we cant be friends anymore 🙂 kidding!!!!

    the fact that you halfed the recipe..i LOVE That. I get asked a million times a week what I do with all my food that i make. We are a family of 3 but still. I also get really sick of things before a full batch is eaten up. So half batches work..plus my “full batches” of most things arent tons, either.

    Coffee. I am so addicted and i love coffee..oh well!

  16. growing up my mother made a mayonaise cake and I wonder if this would taste similar!! It always sounded gross to others, but was actually really moist and good.. no frosting required!

  17. Well, don’t these look yummy! I agree with you on the frosting unless it’s whipped cream frosting and then I’m all over it. It’s light and not so sugar-laden. I probably missed this, but when did you decide to go gluten-free? I want to hear more about it. Will you write a guest post for me about it? 😯 You totally don’t have to if you don’t want to, but seriously, I want to learn more about it.

  18. Kell, these look fantastic! I love a good vanilla cupcake!! But I’m gonna have to frost the heck out of them! I’m the kid who licked everyone’s frosting off their cupcakes and then ate the roses off the cake. And I always want an end piece- maximum frosting!!

  19. YUM!

    I used to love frosting…now with all the cupcakes I’m baking, I almost can’t stand it. Just waaaaay too much sweetness.

Leave a Reply

