Turkey Thursday

Good morning everyone! Today has started off quite well for me. First of all we had a mini cold front come in yesterday so it was cooler this morning…perfect! I also rocked out 10 miles plus 30 minutes on the elliptical. Sweet! My bootay is already sore…love it! Look at this happy face:

Happy Face!

 

Happy Legs!!

 

HAPPY FACE + HAPPY LEGS= HAPPY DAY!   (sidenote: wow…I have boney ankles!)

Last night I made another recipe from my cook book! It’s funny because I worked so hard on this book and made Keith try so many of the recipes so many times that we kind of got sick of it. Haha…but now it is time to start bringing some of that deliciousness back! I made the Turkey Gingersnap Meatloaf (page 47) and it was just as good as we both remembered!  The gingersnaps give it such a good flavor! 

TURKEY GINGERSNAP MEATLOAF   

  • 1 lb. lean ground turkey breast (93% or less)
  • 3/4 cup gingersnaps, finely crushed (I used Midel gluten-free brand and processed them to crumb-like texture in the food processor)
  • 1/3 cup dried onion flakes
  • 1/2 cup low sodium V8 juice
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • fresh ground pepper, to taste

Mix all ingredients together. Put into a loaf pan sprayed with nonstick spray. Bake at 400 degrees F for 60-65 minutes or until done.   

Serves: 5   

243.7 Calories; 9.3g Fat (2.8g saturated fat); 106.5mg Cholesterol; 258.1mg Sodium; 19.6g Carbohydrates; 1.0g Fiber; 5.2g Sugar; 20.5g Protein   

Turkey Meatloaf with some Flavah!!

 

So good!!! This picture makes me hungry all over again!

 

Today I am SUPER nervous because I have a hair appointment at 1:15p.m to get highlights. I will confess I practically have “virgin” hair…I have only ever highlighted it a few times and both time was pretty low-key and not extremely notable. What can I say, I haven’t ever been a huge hair risk taker (when it comes to color) but this time I am going for it! I want something lighter for the summer. I have SUPER dark hair and am so I am nervous as to what it s going to look like! ACK! I promise to post pictures this afternoon!   

Do you ever get nervous before making hair decisions?    

55 Responses

  1. That meatloaf sounds awesome! I love gingersnaps so I am sure that I would love it!

  2. Gingersnaps in meatloaf?! Crazy!!

    Be sure to take pictures of your hair! I always get nervous before hair cut appointments…which is funny, because I RARELY make any big changes! 😀

  3. Hey pretty lady – my mom is a hair dresser and she pretty much refuses to color my hair, so I’m with you on the hair virgin thing. I always have very long hair. Everyone adored my hair (but me). The first time I cut it off (the summer after I graduate high school) I was such a wreck. Mom and I cried even. Once I chopped it off though, I was never nervous about hair styles/cuts again. I’ve even opted for an uber short pixie cut! Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  4. I make crazy snap decision about my hair. I’ll buy a box of color, get it all chopped off, or put a perm in it (really) at the drop of a hat. Hair ALWAYS will do what it does best- grow!

  5. What a creative recipe!!!

    I ALWAYS get so nervous when making hair changes!!! Its makes my tummy get all twisted!

    I know you will look great! Can’t wait to see the pics 🙂

  6. I’m with you: coloring your hair is scary. I’ve been to the same woman for highlights since I was in eighth grade. The thing is, she is still up in Mass. and I’m down in Va. So, yeah, I’m a bit crazy for visiting her every time I visit my parents, but the thought of trying someone else who might mess up my hair is scary.

    Good luck! Can’t wait to see the result. I think you’ll look great with highlights.

  7. Ooooh I love getting my hair done, good luck with the highlights!

  8. I get nervous wih hair choices because I’m boring! I love simple, long hair and almost always don’t like when I change it!

  9. I get nervous just getting my hair cut! I can’t wait to see how pretty you look 🙂

  10. I’m a hair chamelion, so I don’t really get nervous with color. Cut sometimes, though. Mia is a genius, so don’t worry 🙂

  11. I am VERY adventurous with my hair! I have been every colour I can think of (even pink!) and every length too! My motto is that it’ll always grow back! I’m actually rockin out my natural colour (with the exception of some lingering blonde highlights near the ends) for the first time in 15 years!!! Imagine my surprise when there were a few shiny strands (aka greys) in there!!! 🙂

  12. hey gorgeous girlie! shout-out to you in my wacky post!! i hope u don’t mind that i linked! Have a fabulous thursday loveee!
    xoxo!

  13. i feel ya on the virgin hair! i’ve never dyed mine & i always get “just a trim.” i’m a big baby when it comes to my hair!

  14. I always get nervous before doing anything with the hair… I’ve been talking about coloring mine for 3 or 4 months now and have yet to do it. Although I’ve talked about it in detail with my stylist more than once!

    Good luck! I’m sure it’ll be cute!

  15. YUM…dinner looks tasty! I used to always get nervous before making hair decisions, but now I normally wait until I am so ready for a change that I just jump into it. I have done so many drastic cuts before, so I am pretty good with just about anything. I love change and it is only hair…it will grow back (or you can color it back). Can’t wait to see it! Good luck!

  16. Can’t wait to see pictures of your hair!!!!

  17. What a unique meatloaf recipe!!! Andrew LOVES those ginger snaps!! I will have to give this one a try sometime, for sure!! 🙂

    Omg, your hair is going to look so good!! I used to get highlights all the time back in high school and loved them. But don’t anymore b/c my mom is no longer paying for my hair and I think Andrew digs my pure brunette-ness… haha! But I think highlights look so good in the summer!! 🙂 Can’t wait to seeeeeeeee!!!!!!!

  18. gingersnap meatloaf? sounds really interesting…how did you like the flavor?

    i am definitely NOT ever nervous about doing stuff to my hair…but it’s been around the block a few times 🙂 about 2 weeks before i met Nate’s family for the first time i dyed the underpart of my hair fuchsia…OOPS!

  19. Turkey Gingersnap Meatloaf? You ARE a genius! Yummm. Yes, I always get nervous when I do anything different to my hair because I rarely EVER do. I’m actually getting highlights in a couple weeks, and I’ve only had them like three times in my life! Apparently they make your hair appear thicker (which I totally need), but we’ll see about that! I’m sure you will look fab 🙂

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  20. What a creative and yummy addition to the turkey meatloaf!!! I can’t even express how badly I want to try this- the gingersnaps would add such warmth and delicious spice! You are a rockstar in the kitchen, my love!

    Good luck with the hair appt! i’m the same way- I rarely do anything too different because I’m scared of the change and regretting! But I bet you’ll look beautiful- you are gorgeous already, a little highlighting won’t change that!~

  21. I can’t wait to see what your hair looks like!! I always get nervous before a hair appointment. I had a horrible cut a few years ago and that just made the situation worse. I love turkey meatloaf!! I have never actually made it myself but my grandma used to make it all the time when I was a kid. Hope you have a good day girl! xoxo

  22. Congrats on the run girl!!! (Trying not to be jealous..heh…)
    The meatloaf sounds awesome!! I LOVE turkey meatloaf but that sounds way better than any I’ve ever had!
    Good luck with the hair! I have had highlights in my hair for probably 8 years now? I have a hideous natural color (this yucky brown) and I look better with the blonde highlights. BUT I am not adventurous when it comes to my cut, I like my hair long.

  23. I’m the same with my hair! I’ve gotten highlights twice. My husband loves my hair with some blond highlights but it’s just so much upkeep. He is trying to convince me to give it another shot. Looking forward to seeing your pics!

  24. I’ve had so many bad haircuts in my life I always have anxiety about getting a new style!

    On a side note, how tall are you? You have insanely long legs!!!! 🙂

    • Haha! I get that a lot. I am actually 5″6 1/2 but I am all legs. My brother is almost 5’10” and our legs are the same length! haha! He has a long torso and I have the long legs. No complaints though…I like having long legs even if my torso is short! 🙂

  25. i actually usually get pretty excited when i change my hair…i always love the change!

  26. Can’t wait to see what your hair looks like. I have super dark hair too and have always wanted highlights.

  27. I bet your hair is going to look super cute! Good luck!

    I get SO scared to do anything with my hair! I’ve never dyed or highlighted it and haven’t had too many risky haircuts. I know it will grow but it’s still scary!

  28. I skipped Gym this mornign.. long story… but I am glad I did cause I am in pain today.

    I can’t stand making hair appointments.. I am not a risk taker at all when it comes to my hair. I have finally just recently found a gril here in Houston that does an amazing job with her cuts. I have never gotten highlights.. cause I have really dark hair + dark eyes and brows.. and darker skin tone.. so I am afraid I would look not very pleasant.

    • I am so sorry you were in pain this morning. UGH! My heart really does go out to you! I wish there was something I could do for you! 😦

  29. hair decisions are one of THE most stressful things ever! I think a few blond highlights will just make your beautiful face pop out even more! of course if you chicken out, you look stellar with your virgin hair…but girl, cant wait to see your new do!!!!!!!!

  30. One thing great about dark hair is if the highlights are too much or you just don’t like them, you can always, quickly, restore your hair to its natural dark color:) I noticed (on several occasions) you mention a cookbook? Where can I get one? Your food is amazing and easy, especially for me, having kids with food allergies…trying to eat healthier regardless. Thanks!

  31. Gingersnap is an interesting addition! Like that idea a lot :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  32. I can’t wait to see the hair pictures! I always, always get nervous before hair appointments. However, I always tell myself that “hair grows” so no matter what happens – it isn’t 100% permanent. I’m sure yours will look fabulous! I haven’t cut my hair for over a YEAR, and I am really nervous to go in (but desperately need to!)

  33. Girl I don’t know how you do it, 10 miles almost daily, you rock!! You always have such healthy recipes, I love it! Can’t wait to try out this meat-loaf 🙂

    I have never done anything to my hair other than getting it cut, I am a chicken haha. Don’t you worry Kelly you are going to look HOT! Can’t wait to see the pics!

  34. You’ll look adorable! Can’t wait for the pics. I’m with Becky above in the ‘it will grow back’ camp. Love doing new things with my hair!

  35. Gingersnaps added to the meatloaf sound delish! What a creative idea. You have your own cookbook? That’s rad!

  36. Kelly that recipe sounds so awesome!

  37. Gingersnaps in meatloaf? You are a genius. I’m on it.

    I have virgin hair too. I don’t usually get nervous, because my hair lives in a ponytail most days anyway. I’m super stylish, obviously.

  38. that meatloaf looks SO GOOD i love seeing peoples meatloaf recipes because there is always a ‘secret’ ingredient. I see yours is v8 juice!! I love that!!!

    your hair is going to look FABULOUS!

    what I would give to have LONG legs like yours!!

  39. oh and also teh gingersnap would be another secret ingredient 😉

  40. not gonna lie, your meatloaf sounds a bit crazy. but i like ginger snaps and turkey and loafs in general so why not toss all that together 🙂

    excited to see the new hair!

  41. Ive tried to stop coloring my hair, but Im suffering withdrawls.
    I have no fear when it comes to changing the color, its been everything from blonde, to crayola orange to black. These days though, I just tell my hairdresser “change it” and he does whatever he wants and it always turns out perfect.

  42. I’m always nervous about getting my hair cut (which is probably why I only do it once a year, eek). It always looks so much healthier after a trim though!

    Love your gingersnap meatloaf – I’ll have to share that recipe with my mom.

  43. I like your happy face! 😛

    I had pretty virgin hair (it’s back to being virgin now), but was always told how great my hair would look with highlights. And they did NOT disappoint. I figure as long as you’re going with a stylist that you’re comfortable with, they won’t make you look bad. Worst comes to worst, it’s hair. It grows out!

  44. […] last night was leftovers! Gotta love it! We did leftover turkey gingersnap meatloaf! Seriously…guys you should really try this! The gingersnaps add such a nice flavor! Keith […]

  45. […] Turkey Gingersnap Meatloaf […]

Leave a Reply

