Renewed Wednesday

Woot Woot! Wednesday…I am BACK…B-A-C-K…BACK! I whooped out 10 miles this morning! Yes! Yes! Yes! Loving every single minute of it! Feels so good considering I haven’t run since Saturday! I so needed this! ๐Ÿ™‚ I went conservative on my pace (8:37/mile) because I do not want to relapse and get sick again!! (believe me the third time would NOT be a charm!)ย 

How many other people have gotten this wicked stomach flu that is apparently going around? ย 

I also rocked out an AWESOME dinner last night to say thanks to hubs for being such an amazing caretaker! I made honey peanut chicken, rice pilaf with steamed broccoli! It was quite the feast! Seriously guys you have to try this marniade…it is AMAZING! (It is page 41 of my cookbook for those ofย you who have one). But here is the recipe because it is just too damn good!ย 

It may not be the prettiest meal but it is SO freaking good! Trust me!

ย 

HONEY PEANUT CHICKEN MARINADEย 

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/8 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce (I used wheat-free tamari)
  • 2 Tbsp. sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp. ground allspice

Place all ingredients in blender and process until smooth and well combined. Pour marinade over the poultry in a shallow glass dish or ziploc bag. Cover dish or seal bag and refrigerate for up to 3 hours. Cook chicken as desired. (I baked it last night…350 degrees for about 45 minutes)ย 

Do you have a dish that you like to make to say “thank you” to someone? ย 

Also thanks for all the books you guys told me about yesterday! I am definitely going to look into some of those after I finish the Twilight Series…I can’t wait to start book 3! I am officially HOOKED! ๐Ÿ™‚ Albeit a tad late to the Twilight bandwagon, but on it still the same. I love series! I was actually sad to read the final Harry Potter book…I didn’t want it to end!ย 

Do you like book series or are they too much of a committment?

48 Responses

  1. So glad you are feeling better and that dinner looks incredible! I love book series! I get addicted to them though and want to finish them immediately!

  2. nice dish.
    i liked the twilight series…4 books…never did finish the harry potter ones!
    i read the first “percy jackson” book and would like to finish the series (7 books), but they are not in my library, and i cannot afford to buy anymore !!

  3. That marinade sounds great. I be I could use that on tofu or tempeh easily. MMMMM As for book series, it just totally depends on how good the series is. Sometimes I really enjoy a series as you get to “know” the characters. That can be fun.

  4. So glad you feel better!! I loved the first Twilight book, but couldn’t get into the second one…so I just settled for the movies ๐Ÿ™‚

    When I was younger, I was ADDICTED to book series like Sweet Valley, Baby-Sitters Club, and Fear Street. Ahhh, memories!

  5. Haha, your conservative pace is my all out sprint! Glad you are feeling better.

    I don’t mind a series, but I didn’t like Twilight. Don’t hate me!

  6. I make lasagna to say thank you:)

  7. Oh wow that peanut chicken sounds unreal!

  8. That peanut sauce looks great!! Love your idea of putting it on tofu or tempeh!! Yummmmmm!!

    I am a big Harry Potter fan! ๐Ÿ˜‰ But obviously not that BIG, because I still haven’t read the last one… maybe I’ll get started on it soon…

  9. That sauce sounds amazing. I might have to make *that* next time I need to say thank you. I like series as long as the latter books are just as good as the fist. A lazy series (and lazy sequels when it comes to movies) aren’t worth it. Glad you’re back to your regular self!

  10. I like series…Twilight and …Shopaholic ;)…impressive run!

    Oh and I’m doing a giveaway if anyone is interested. Thanks.

  11. How can I get a copy of your cookbook?
    Thank you

  12. I love a good series because I love seeing how the characters develop over time!

  13. SO glad you are feeling better!! That dinner looks soo good. I make my famous Eggplant Parm or meatballs to thank the bf for being awesome ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. So glad you are feeling better!!

    I just got over the flu! It was awful!

    I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t read any of the twilight books! I need to get started on them!

  15. I am so glad you are feeling better! I always bake cinnamon bread for people. That is my “go to”recipe for others. As for books, I used to do the series thing, but then I got over it. I like to read biography’s now…I know, boring!

  16. I like series, but I have to admit the Harry Potter one was too much of a commitment to me. I had already seen three movies before I got the idea to read them all and there are SOOO many! Not sure I’ll ever do it.

  17. This chicken looks like your most delicious meal YET. I will SO be making it! I’m not a book series person. I’m the only person alive that hasn’t read Harry Potter and I haven’t read Twilight either. Can you believe it?

  18. i don’t have a specific dish i like to make, but i always love to bake something for them! cookies or brownies and all of the versions of those…YUM! also, i love this marinade recipe and will be making it this week. just thought you should know ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. I am a big believer in book series. Also, I like to pick authors that have lots of books with the same character (like Jonathan Kellerman and other such literary trash) and read from the first book onward. It can get a little daunting when there are like 20 books. But I get so attached to characters…

    Glad you had a great run!

  20. So glad you are up and feeling better! That chicken looks soooo good!

  21. Awesome job on the 10 miles! I’m trying to avoid any sicknesses going around…I have confidence in my immune system ๐Ÿ™‚

    I usually make desserts as a way to say “thank you.” I feel like you can never go wrong with cookies ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. How have I missed that recipe?!?! I’m making it asap!

    I love book series. I get totally hooked on them. I read HP, tTwilight, Lord of the Rings, The Hunger Games, and loved the Narnia series when I was a kid.

    Awesome run!

  23. I like book series but it stresses me out if I can’t find the books in order.

  24. I love how quickly you seem to bounce back! Nice run!

    I say thank you with cupcakes… ๐Ÿ™‚ Not a big surprise there… lol

  25. I’m glad you’re feeling better, yay! I am definitely going to make your peanut sauce. I’ll use it on chicken for the fam and tofu/veggies for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    I do like book series – I even read the un-official sequel to “Gone with the Wind”!

    • Thanks!! I hope you like the peanut sauce…to me it is amazing! But then again I think any with peanut butter is hard to mess up! haha!

  26. I’m going to start book 3 soon too, so you’re not the only one lagging behind! You’ll have to let me know what you think. Do you like the movies too?

    • I haven’t even seen any of the movies. For me the moves are always a big disappointment. I read all of the Harry Potter Series and LOVED it but I only saw the first movie…I dont’ know. The books are always just so much better! I doubt I will ever see the Twilight movies honestly.

  27. I love book series!! I haven’t read book 4 of Twilight b/c I’m waiting for it to come out in softcover, I like a matching set. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you’re feeling better and what a kick a** run. I’d like to buy a cookbook too!!

  28. That dinner looks awesome!!
    I make chickep topped with crushed pecans and goat cheese sauce and asparagus for my boyfriend when he’s done something good.

    I love reading series books. Its fun!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. this looks delicious! i need to make this! xx

  30. Good to hear you are feeling better and back to running ๐Ÿ™‚ I have been going to the gym but taking it easy on the knee… 5 wks is a long time to stay away from working out.

  31. I love Twilight and Harry Potter, I may or may not have read the Harry Potter series multiple times *blush*. I was really sad reading the the last Harry Potter book ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I am looking forward to the movies and Universal’s Harry Potter World!

  32. I was the exact same way with Harry Potter, I actually read a few of them twice! Also loved Twilight. I LOVE GOOD book series.

  33. i was sad when HP ended too! i love book series but do find them a little overwhelming at times. still, i like to read a lot and enjoy getting to know characters better with each book.

  34. i put off reading the 4th book just bc i didnt want it to end haha

  35. Glad you are back to running!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually borrowed some books today thanks to you! I haven’t read anything fun for a long time, but I got inspiration from you ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. I would love to get into a series! I always have the hardest time deciding what to read next…

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  37. Me! Friday night through Sunday afternoon. I still feel like a limp dishtowel.

  38. SO glad you are feeling better and rocked your run! My asst. had to take the day out because of a stomach bug that hit her last night. I am trying real hard to steer clear of it *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

