Which Would You Chose?

Hi guys! Well it seems I am definitely on the mend! YAY! I have managed to keep both breakfast and lunch in the tummy! HUGE ACCOMPLISHMENT for the past 36 hours! I appreciate all the nice things and yes Keith is quite the amazing man in the kitchen! He always cooks really well for himself when I am either sick or out. I don’t have to worry about my man whenever I am down for the count!  

So get this….in a large city in  Australia, a poster featuring a young, thin and tan woman appeared in the window of a gym. It said, “This summer,  do you want to be a mermaid or a whale?”

A middle-aged woman,  whose physical characteristics did not match  those of the woman on the poster,responded publicly to the question  posed by the gym. Here is what she wrote:

To Whom It May Concern,
   
Whales are always surrounded by friends (dolphins, sea lions, curious humans.) They have an active sex life,  get pregnant and have adorable baby whales.  They have a wonderful time with dolphins stuffing themselves with shrimp.They play and swim in the seas,  seeing wonderful places like  Patagonia ,the Bering Sea and the coral reefs of  Polynesia. Whales are wonderful singers  and have even recorded CDs. They are incredible creatures and virtually have no predators other than humans. They are loved, protected and admired  by almost everyone in the world.
 
Mermaids don’t exist. If they did exist, they would be lining up outside the offices of psychoanalysts due to identity crisis. Fish or human? They don’t have a sex life because they kill men who get close to them,  not to mention how could they have sex?  Just look at them … where is IT? Therefore, they don’t have kids either. Not to mention,  who wants to get close to a girl who smells like a fish store?
 
The choice is perfectly clear to me: I want to be a whale.
P.S. We are in an age when media puts into our heads the idea that only skinny people are beautiful,  but I prefer to enjoy an ice cream with my kids,  a good dinner with a man who makes me shiver, and a piece of chocolate with my friends. With time, we gain weight because we accumulate so much  information and wisdom in our heads that when there is no more room,  it distributes out to the rest of our bodies. So we aren’t heavy,  we are enormously cultured,  educated and happy. Beginning today, when I look at my butt in the mirror I will think, ¨Good grief, look how smart I am!¨
 
Obviously this is meant as a joke, but doesn’t it ring a little bit of truth that sometimes what we strive for is the idea of perfection that just doesn’t exist?
44 Responses

  1. I love this. That is all. Nothing more to say. Just love it! 🙂

  2. Oh wow. That’s pretty inspiring! I think we can all aspire to be the best version of ourself possible, no matter what that is.

  3. Oh wow. That’s pretty inspiring! I think we can all aspire to be the best version of ourself possible, no matter what that is.

  4. interesting…i know what it’s getting at…but i would say mermaid STRICTLY because then at least i’d have opposable thumbs 🙂

  5. Yeah like if Barbie were real, her proportions would keep her from walking upright! Not so perfect.

  6. I LOVE this!!! This just made my day– thanks for posting!

  7. I actually love this, funny but there is a message there. What kind of poster is that anyway?!

  8. oh wow I can’t agree more. I do wish that the media didn’t use a thin woman as sign of healthy, sexy and beautiful.

  9. this is really inspiring- i wish i had it two years ago- it’s a great reminder that we’re more than the number on our scale

  10. so true…searching for the perfect job…the perfect place to live…the perfect guy…the perfect abilities…stupid, its all stupid…it doesnt exist. just have to try to be content with ones own presence in that day and nothing else. whether a person is homeless or a movie star, both can be content as long as they choose to be.

  11. I definitely choose happiness over being skinny. It can be a battle some days when negative self image pops up suddenly….but for the most part I am happier and embrace my body. I would be pissed if I saw that ad!

  12. awesome! you tell em lady!

  13. Love the message in this. Thanks for sharing Kelly!

  14. Gosh that is so true on so many levels! I am glad you are feeling better!

  15. aw, i like that very much! after reading it i think id like to be a whale too :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  16. great letter. definitely brings up some interesting points! thanks for posting!

    Glad you’re feeling a bit better! Don’t push yourself too hard yet though!

  17. wow, thank you for posting this! I would have to say something if my gym posted this on their window. Glad you are feeling better! stomach issues are the worst!

  18. I LOVE this!! 🙂 I would totally choose whale!! 🙂 I love what the woman is trying to say… that we should enjoy life, which (at least for me) means enjoying food. Who wants to be skinny and miserable??

  19. Best thing I’ve read all day, Kelly! Thanks for posting that.

  20. Wow, where did you find that letter? I love it. So inspiring! You know what? I’d much rather be a whale too.

    • I know…isn’t it great? A dear friend of mine sent me this in an email she got. I thought it was so perfect and it definitely brings new perspective to things!!

  21. What a great story, Kelly! And so glad you’re on the mend! Take care of yourself and thanks for the kind words 🙂 Giving you a little shoutout later today in my post 🙂
    xoxo

  22. Girl, first of all, I was WORRIED about you! Do you think the two sicknesses were related?!?

    And, yes, I think this little anecdote is ver important to remember. It ties right into the “happy weight” we’ve discussed. I appreciated the part about whales getting pregnant. I think some women want to look in such a way that just isn’t natural to the female body. We are supposed to have soft spots…that’s what helps us become mommas 🙂

    • I have no idea but here’s hoping it doesn’t come again! There is a violent stomach bug going around our gym and I am thinking and I just that “lucky” person who got it twice! 😦

  23. Mermaids are over-rated…even Ariel wanted to be a REAL person 🙂

  24. Great post and soooo true.

  25. Love this, so funny and true. I used to want to be a mermaid when I was little but now I don’t think I could deal with the constant water in my ears. Definitely a whale.

  26. That was awesome! In our house we are very fond of Ariel but tis true…even she wanted to be human. Although in the little mermaid 2 her daughter Melody wants to be a mermaid…go figure…we are never happy with what we have/ what we are…
    the grass is always greener…

    • Growing up, The Little Mermaid was always my favorite but now as an adult I think my favorite is Beauty and The Beast. The reason is because my perspective has changed. Think about it, most fairy tales there is a damsel in distress who needs a man to come and save the day (Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, The Little Mermaid, Rapunzel, etc..) BUT in the Beauty and The Beast SHE SAVES HIM! I like that concept…I think there should be more fairy tales about women saving the man…to me it sends a much more postive message. But don’t get me wrong…I love me som Ariel too…she is by far the cutest cartoon character out there! 🙂

  27. That was perfect! And so true. (But I totally pick mermaid if it comes with a prince like Ariel’s. Sorry, but I love that story too much.) Glad you’re feeling better!

  28. Glad to hear you’re feeling better 🙂

    I definitely don’t believe in perfection but I want to be in skin that I feel comfortable in and don’t ever want to not feel proud of who I am.

  29. I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  30. I’m so glad you’re feeling better! You’ve had it rough lately girly.

  31. What an amazing response to a completely ill-conceived ad campaign. I LOVE it! So glad you’re feeling better 🙂

  32. I’ve never wanted to be a WHALE so badly in my life! But seriously…love this message. I’m pretty sure my idea of perfection does not exist…at least not in my world. I need to stop being so hard on myself. Workin’ on it!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  33. Awesome ! Thanks for sharing, my friend.

  34. I dont know who this woman is, but I LOVE her.
    What a great message, good for her!

  35. Thanks for sharing Kelly! I’m so glad to hear that you are feeling better! Tummy trouble is definitely the WORST!

  36. Wow. What a wonderful letter! It is true, I think we often strive for that unattainable “perfection” and it sounds like being a Whale is WAY MORE FUN!

    Glad you are feeling a bit better!

  37. omg i love it. thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

