TGIF!

Happy Friday everyone! I would suspect that 99% of you are off work today…hooray for Good Friday! I hope everyone has a very happy Easter this weekend too! 

Let’s break pattern today and talk dinner first. Last night, I made stuffed shells and steamed mixed vegetables. This is actually a recipe that is easy to make ahead of time and then I can just pop it into the oven when I am ready! 

CHEESY STUFFED SHELLS

  • 1 (16 ounce) package jumbo pasta shells (I use the Gluten-Free Brown Rice Grand Shells by Tinkyada)
  • 4 cups low-fat cottage cheese (I used 1%)
  • 12 ounces part-skim mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 pinch garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 (26 ounce) jar spaghetti sauce
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • Cook shells according to package directions. Place in cold water to stop cooking. Drain. 

    Mix together cottage cheese, mozzarella cheese, 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, eggs, garlic powder, oregano and parsley. Stuff mixture into the shells. 

    Spread 1/3 of spaghetti sauce in the bottom of a 9X13 glass baking pan. Place shells open side up, and close together in pan. (really squeeze them in) Spread remaining sauce over top, and sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. 

    Bake at 350 degrees F  for 25 to 35 minutes, or until bubbly. Let stand 10 minutes before serving. Tada! 

    Dinner anyone?

    Back to today! This morning has been fantastic. I busted a speedy 10 miles (7:56 pace..HOLLA)! Lizzy…move to Austin so we can be running partners…PLEASE?!?  I am now drinking my first (of a few) cups of coffee and eating my same breakfast (egg whites and cinnamon raisin steel cut oats) and then heading out to meet my beginning running group for our run to the lake. Friday’s lake runs are always fun and downhill!! hehe!  🙂 Then the highlight of my day is going to be lunch at Whole Foods with my mom and brother, Josh! YAY! YAY! 

    This was taken last summer....I think...kind of old but we don't change much! haha!

     Then my mom and I are going to go shopping in downtown Austin…fun fun! My mom is the BEST shopping partner!! (I am sure I will have pictures to post later!)

     

    What are you looking forward to most today?

    55 Responses

    1. Yay for Friday! Have a great time at lunch… and shopping!

    2. When I move i’ll be close to Whole Foods WOO! That and TJ’s. Those are the only perks…i’ll miss my mom 😦

      Looking forward to our road trip and cruise!!

    3. That stuffed shells recipe looks great.

      I’m looking forward to sending out my wedding invitations today!

    4. sounds like a great day! way to go on being up early and starting your day.

      I am taking Sadie to get her summer cut, then grocery shopping and cleaning the house… we have friends coming over on Sunday for easter. I have to keep myself busy today cause I am really bummed about my knee 😦

    5. Ooh, have fun shopping! Post pics of your buys!

      Those stuffed shells look yummy!

    6. I love stuffed shells! We aren’t working today so we are going shopping. And I’m making lobster mac and cheeese!!!

    7. I am looking forward to getting back to Austin after a grueling 28 hours of flying and seeing my kids after a month. Oh yes and my husband!! Ha ha.

    8. Mm do those look yummy or what?! I’m looking forward to a run in the sun!!:)

    9. I think I’m going to have to try my hand at stuffed shells soon. Adorbs pic, love that dress you’re wearing. Hmm highlight of my day? Wearing flip-flops with bright pink toes!

    10. Those look really yummy. Maybe I could add a little ground beef to half of them for the husband and leave the rest just cheesy for me?

      I’m looking forward to a run outside this afternoon. The weatherman said we’ll be “pushing 80” today. Say what?!?! Weren’t we just in the 40s last week. Not complaining. I’m so ready for spring. Running outside beats the treadmill any day.

      • Absolutely…I have put ground beef in them before too. My husband operates on the assumption that without meat it isn’t a meal! haha!

    11. Woohoo I love shopping pictures. I can’t wait to see them and have fun shopping!
      Your pasta shells look yummy, I may have to try that when DH will eat some carbs!

    12. Any time I hear of your Austin adventures I get jealous. haha.
      Do you guys run on town lake? I miss it so much 😦

      Well today is my birthday! I have a run, pedicure, and lunch planned. Yay.

    13. Love your dress in that picture. Shopping sounds fun.

    14. Heya gorgeous girl!! Your family is so cute, love them! I’m looking forward to not going into work after two back to back 14hr days, getting in the pool for swim practice for the first time since Feb and working out with T. Then relaxing and figuring out what to do with all this chicken I have in the fridge! Happy Friday and have a good time shopping!!

    15. cute dress! Have fun with your mom and bro!

    16. I love shopping with my mom! Have fun!

    17. Have fun shopping!
      We don’t have Good Friday off in the area I live in. You’re lucky!

    18. Happy Friday to you too. Holy cow on that speed. You rock. I am off today & hubby is taking off at noon so we can go for a hike. Very much looking forward to that. Your dinner looks fantastic by the way,

    19. I’m most looking forward to my last day of work in the corporate world!!

    20. You are so beautiful Kell! Not only outside, but your personality and caring nature just make you beautiful to the core. I crave your enthusiasm and positivity like I crave a cup o’ joe!

      Stuffed shells look incredible! I love the use of cottage cheese!!
      And have a blast with your mom- she sounds like an excellent shopping partner!

      • Thanks Andrea! You are so kind!

        I love that this recipe uses cottage cheese too because my tummy can’t take ricotta for some reason.

    21. HAPPY HOUR!!! haha, that makes me sound like an alcoholic, but i am really excited to just leave work and hang out with my hubby and friends. oh, and sleeping in!

    22. booo – i’m at work! 😦 i love your dress in that pic though!

      oh & stuffed shells was my FAVORITE meal served at our sorority house in college. they’re so tasty!

    23. I’m looking forward to just laying outside in the park with my puppy!!!

    24. if i lived near you id make sure to try and weasel my way into a seat for every meal…all your meals look SO good.

      have fun shopping!

    25. Stuffed shells are sent down to us from pasta heaven! mmmm…

      Have a good friday! Your running group sounds like so much fun!

    26. Sadly, no day off for me. Stuffed shells remind me of growing up because my mother always made them. They look great, and it reminds me I should make that more often!

      Have fun shopping with the family. (And thanks for your sweet comment on my blog) 🙂

    27. Bro’s a hotttie. (wink, wink).
      I want those stuffed shells.My mom was planning to have stuffed shells for Easter since I don’t do ham but Costco was out so instead she bought raviolis. Um.. okay ma. This is why I don’t cook.

    28. you and your mom look so much alike! love it…..wow you rocked your 10 miles-you are one fast girl 🙂
      funny i did not have stuffed shells but i had shells for dinner with some veggies too 🙂
      enjoy your lunch with your family
      xoxo

    29. I’m glad it’s Friday. Friday nights are one of my swim nights. It’s relaxing after a long week (and it’s usually not crowded).

    30. Love the pic with your mom and Josh. 🙂 I miss wearing fun dresses! They don’t really go w/ my nursing bras – ha! The day I stop nursing is the day I put on a fun dress. 🙂 {And luckily it will be in the summer.}

    31. Have fun shopping!
      Those cheesy stuffed shells look aaaaamzing! I love that plate 🙂

    32. Yes! Day off! Celebrating my bro’s birthday, made a yummy cake for him 🙂

    33. APRIL 12th!!! seee we are almost TWINS! hehehe!
      SORRY about the LAMEO pics on my post this morning! (i’ve fixed them if you wanna come back and take a LOOK!) 😉
      I hope you are having an excellent friday gorgeous girlie!
      I am looking forward to a beautiful Easter celebration! (and egg-dyeing with my mamma!)..hahah!!
      xoxo!

      • I forgot to say HELLS YES to a SUPER SPEEDY RUN!!!…and i commented you back on my bloggy about the partner-bizzness!
        😉 hehe…wow I feel 5-yrs old for all this back and forth-ness!

    34. Yum! I love stuffed pasta!!

      Today, I’m looking forward to spending time with my family and of course some good food!!

    35. Yum yum yum!!! I love stuffed shells. Sadly, I am working today :(. But, at least it’s already lunch time!

    36. I LOVED stuffed shells, so that dinner looks fab.

      Also your family is just darling. I need a whole foods by me so I can get lunch/dinner there sometimes!! Then again I’d spend a lot more money if I lived by a whole foods 🙂 ha

    37. What a great looking family! I’m looking forward to relaxing and cleaning my clothes (how lame!)

    38. I haven’t had stuffed shells in SO SO SO long!! looks delicious!!

      my mom is the best shopping partner too!!!

    39. I’m in the 1% of folks who are at work today. Such a bummer. Have so much fun with your mom!!

    40. I just ate my lunch outside in Central Park and coming back to the office was the hardest thing ever! I can’t wait to go running in this gorgeous weather 🙂

      Enjoy the day with your fam!

    41. I’m looking forward to 3:15. School will be out, my day of supervising moonwalks and Easter egg hunts will be OVER!!! Kid giggles are great, though.

    42. I’m looking forward to getting out of work! Nope..no Good Friday off for me!
      Have good weekend, dear!

    43. ahh I am looking forward to busting out of work! Crazy stressful day. I will have to run out all my stress tomorrow morning! Have a great weekend!

    44. I think we channeled each other this morning! I did my first ever 10 miler in 77.12 mins, crazy. I had some sugar this morning, not sure if that is what gave me the extra “oomph”, felt crazy good. Everyone here is at work or school, kind of a bummer. Although, I have to admit, I am enjoying the quiet! Off to Whole Foods later myself to stock up on “yummies” for the weekend. Have so much fun shopping!

    45. Happy Friday!! I hope you’re having a fabulous day!! 🙂

    46. You look so pretty in that dress….love it!

      I’m looking forward to some quality family time 🙂

    47. I wish I could eat dairy sometimes. Pasta just isn’t as good without it.

      You and your mom look so much alike!

    Leave a Reply

