A Saturday To Remember

Happy Saturday! How is everyone this fine morning? I am SUPER excited because tonight we are celebrating Keith’s birthday!! Woot Woot!! It has been a weekend long process. On Thursday (his actual birthday) he got his cake and then on Friday he got to open his gifts! In honor of being 40 he got 40 gifts!!

40 GIFTS!!
One Happy Boy!

Then tonight we are going to a surprise dinner at Fogo de Chao which is a Brazilian steakhouse. Keith has been wanting to go here FOREVER and tonight he will finally get his wish! According to their website here is how the dining experience works:

Step 1: Sit down, relax, and enjoy a drink while we explain the Fogo® dining experience.

Step 2: Visit our gourmet salad and sides bar. Enjoy over 30 items including fresh-cut vegetables, imported cheeses, cured meats and Brazilian side dishes.

Step 3: Turn your card green side up, signaling that you are ready for our gaucho chefs to begin tableside service.

Step 4: Choose from the 15 cuts of delectable fire roasted meats that are brought to your table, sliced, and served by our gaucho chefs.

Step 5: When you are satisfied, flip the disc to the red side until you are ready for more offerings.

Step 6: If you wish, end the meal with one of our delicious desserts.

Should be quite the experience. My mom and stepdad, Jim, will be joining us as well because TODAY is Jim’s birthday!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY JIM!! With that enjoy your Saturday!!

Have you ever eaten at a Brazilian steakhouse? What was your experience like?

Jim is so AMAZING and in honor of his birthday I wanted to do something special as well. Jim LOVES (and that is probably an understatement) Guinness Beer. A few months ago  I ran across a recipe for Chocolate Guinness Cake and I have been saving it until now! So after dinner tonight we are going back to mom’s house to enjoy my homemade Chocolate Guinness Cake! YAY! Here’s the recipe (WARNING…this is NOT low-calorie or healthy in ANY way, shape or form…haha! But that’s what birthdays are for, right?!?)

CHOCOLATE GUINNESS CAKE

Cake:

  • 1 cup Guinness
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 2 cups superfine sugar
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

Frosting:

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1 1/4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350° and grease and line with parchment paper a 9-inch springform pan.

Pour the Guinness into a large saucepan and add the sliced butter. Heat until the butter is melted and remove from the heat. Whisk in the cocoa and sugar. In a separate bowl, beat the sour cream with the eggs and vanilla. Add the sour cream mixture to the Guinness mixture in the saucepan. Finally, beat in the flour and baking soda.

Pour the batter into the greased and lined springform pan and bake for 45 minutes to an hour. (I baked mine for 53-55 minutes, checking with a toothpick for doneness and it came out well. Your oven may vary.) Cool completely in the pan on a wire rack.

For the frosting, beat the powdered sugar and cream cheese together until well combined and creamy. Add the cream and beat again until it’s a spreadable consistency. I found slowly adding the cream and beating the icing very well gave excellent results.

Guinness Cake

HAVE A GREAT SATURDAY!

41 Responses

  1. 40 presents?! The birthday fairy was generous 🙂

  2. Have a fabulous time at Fogo!! So funny that both Keith and Andrew celebrated their birthdays there this year!! 🙂 Men and their meat!! haha!! 😉

    That Guinness cake sounds awesome!!! Andrew loves Guinness!!!

    Have a great time celebrating 4-0!! Oh and the 40 gifts idea is so clever!! What a lucky guy!! 🙂

  3. I haven’t been to Fogo, but there was a Brazilian restaurant in the Moon Palace in Cancun (our honeymoon). I loved the out-of-place mariachi band.

    40 gifts is the sweetest thing.

  4. I’ve never eaten at a Brazilian restaurant but my nutrition class just talked about the flipping of the thing. Many countries have a block the color of their flag and you flip it to the bottom color of the flag when you are finished your meal. I found that to be very interesting because we don’t do anything like that in our american restaurants.

  5. 40 gifts?!? I want to be married to you!!

    That cake sounds amazing, girl! 🙂

  6. I love Brazilian steakhouses! My first experience was actually in Brazil! In Brazil they keep bringing meats and its rude not to take some. I was trying to eat all of what I already had before taking more but they expected you just waste whatever you couldn’t eat! I couldn’t get over that concept! You’ll have a great time. Brazilian food is excellent!

    • I am excited! I can’t wait. I think I will probably eat a lot of lamb tonight! 🙂 I love lamb and we just don’t eat it very often so it should be fun tonight!

  7. lol, my sister’s husband is obsessed with Fogo 🙂

    Mmmmm…guinness cake?! Yes please!

    Have a great weekend, Kelly!

  8. Oh I think your cake is very very similar to the cupcakes I’ve been making! It’s sooooo good, right? 🙂

  9. I ate at a Brazilian steakhouse last summer and girrrrrrll you are gonna be FULL when the meal is over!! Have lots of fun!!

  10. Brazilian steak house? Wow!

    That cake look incredible! Glad he had such a great birthday! 🙂

  11. Have a great time tonight!!! I cant wait to hear about it in tomorrows post!!

  12. 40 presents? Lucky guy! I went to Fogo de Chao when I lived in Philly. The meat was amazing, though I think I ate enough for 20 people. Definitely ate vegetarian the next few weeks but it was so worth it. It’s such a fun experience. Have a blast!

  13. Oops…my husband was signed in. What *I* wanted to say was…

    40 presents? Lucky guy! I went to Fogo de Chao when I lived in Philly. The meat was amazing, though I think I ate enough for 20 people. Definitely ate vegetarian the next few weeks but it was so worth it. It’s such a fun experience. Have a blast!

  14. Wow that sounds like it is going to be incredible! Enjoy!

  15. Wow the steakhouse sounds like so much fun! Love it. Can’t wait to hear about how it was.

    and 40 presents–wow lucky guy! That’d be a blast to open!

  16. Love the 40 gifts, he looks so happy!

  17. nice cake. happy bday to keith and jim.
    top it up with chocolate — i tend to eat chocolates at all times, apparently!
    does keith have a single brother? 😉

  18. A friend of mine and her husband exchange a gift for each year of age. That way it isn’t too bad getting older, because that means you get more presents!

    Can’t wait to hear about the big birthday bash!

  19. I went to a Brazilian steakhouse when I was in college and we had SO much fun! The food was great and it was a very cool experience!

  20. There is a Fogo De Chao in Minneapolis and I want to go SO BAD! I hear the salad bar is epic 😀

  21. Jason’s 30th birthday is later this year and I just might take him to Fogo de Chao. He’s been wanting to go since I met him. I heard their salad bar is great too.

  22. I’m about a year and a half away from my 40th..I hope someone (hint hint hubs) gives me 40 gifts! 🙂
    That cake sounds yummy!

  23. Wow, way to go on the 40 gifts! Have a great evening!

  24. What a lucky, lucky boy! I’m glad my boyfriend doesn’t read your blog, because I may just have to steal that idea 😉
    Happy birthday Jim! lol
    I had never even heard of that kind of restaurant until last night! I didn’t really understand at the time what the concept was, so I’m glad you explained it 🙂
    Happy Saturday to you too!

  25. My husband likes Guinness too! I will have to bookmark this.

    40 gifts?! How fun! Tell us what some of them are!

    I have not been to a Brazilian steak house (am vegan) but have heard they are A TON of fun! Have a great time!

    • Some of them were REALLY small (like a box of junior mints or a bag of beef jerkey) and other were really nice (pizza stone, vitamix) and then some were in-between (for-yo gift card, movie tickets, DVD’s, beach towel)…it was a lot of fun and I actually had a blast shopping for everything!!

  26. I’ve never been to a restaurant like that. Hope you guys have a great time and hope you’re enjoying your weekend. Sounds like you probably are!

  27. Wiping the drool off my chin…that cake looks and sounds so decadent and AMAZING.

    We did that same things for my mom and dad when they each turned 50. It was so much fun to think of the gifts to get and hysterical watching them open them!

    Wait, did I just read in the above comment that he got a Vitamix?!?! I hope so!!!!

  28. TOO Funny…..we just ate at a Brazilian restaurant last night and I just did my post on it. http://www.itslifemaxitout.blogspot.com
    Make sure to eat nothing all day so you can eat plenty at dinner and not be too full like we were last night 😉
    He is a lucky man!

  29. 40 presents!? What a lucky guy! Sounds like you guys are gonna have an awesome night 🙂

  30. We go to Texas De Brazil, which is pretty much the exact same thing! Not too much fun when you’re a pescatarian, but I can make anything work. But pricey if your experiencing the full MEAT dinner! Salad bar is amazeballs though! Have fun! Don’t know if I could stomach a Guinness cake. Eeeek. Looks good though.

  31. HE GOT A pizza stone and Vitamix for his birthday?! Holy smokes – speicial guy !

    And my kind of cake – FROSTING …;)

  32. I think I am going to start to request the number of presents for the number of years, what a great idea! 🙂 That cake looks amazing and so does that restaurant, enjoy!

  33. i’ve always wanted to go to a brazilian steakhouse! can’t wait to hear how you enjoyed the experience!

  34. I’ve been to my fair share of Brazilian steak houses including Fogo de Chao. I always leave feeling like there is a baby cow inside of me. The first time I went I just went WAY OVER BOARD but since I’ve been quite a few times since then, I’ve learned to eat a LITTLE more moderately but still, I leave with the feeling of a smaller baby cow inside of me. The salad bar is AMAZING though. I could easily just eat that and be happy too! Hope you guys had a good time!

    Happy Bday Keith!

  35. I want some of that cake!!

    I thought of you and Keith today actually. I was out shopping and saw come kettlebells. Almost bought them too. Then I remembered Im poor. Maybe next time!

  36. I have been to a Brazilian steakhouse in Aruba and it was one of our favorite meals EVER! Can’t wait to hear about how it all went! And, oh Heavens. That Guiness cake!!

  37. 40 gifts for 40 years, that is so damn cute!!! I love Brazilian restaurants like that, it’s like a parade of meat. Hope y’all had a great time!

  38. Wow! 40 presents?! Also, I note that they were numbered. Was that because there was a specific order for them to be opened? Or just to make sure there were actully 40?

Leave a Reply

