This Wednesday NEEDS A Thank You

Good morning. First, before I say anything else, I have to say THANK YOU to all the amazing comments I got yesterday about my running confession post. You guys are amazing and absolutely made me feel so incredibly lucky to have the support system you provide! And after reading each comment I have decided that…gasp….I am a RUNNER! I think that the problem just lies in the fact that I hold myself to a different standard that really isn’t fair. Everyone made such good points in their comments that basically boiled down to this: I run, therefore I am a runner. I love running and do it for the sheer joy of running, therefore I am runner. I might be kind of good at this running thing, therefore I am a runner. There, I said it: I am a runner! And you know what…it feels good!

I also was completely shockedΒ and blown away by all the people who said they use me as inspirationΒ or brag about me to co-workers. Okay, jaw on the floor, awed! Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I think we all use one another for motivation because I know sometimes when I am struggling on that tail end of IΒ a run I will think about some of you running by my side. Sometimes I see a recipe or a funny quote and it makes me think of a certain blogger friend. You are all never far from my mind and I thank you all for the true love and friendship you have shown me! I am going to repost my “Monday Kiss” picture for all of you because it definitely seems appropriate today too!

So with that… this runner ran 10 miles this morning. 3 miles @ 8:30 pace, 4 miles @ 8:20 pace, and 4 miles @ 8:10 pace. I am feeling good. I have my beginning run group in about an hour and today will be a recovery 2 mile run so it should feel nice on my legs! I am doing my regular thang and drinking my joe and eating my breakfast! Ready to tackle this Wednesday!! πŸ™‚

Dinner last night was an easy stand by! I put boneless skinless chicken thighs in the crockpot with a jar of salsa on low all day. Then we shredded it up and served it over brown rice and black beans. It may not look the prettiest but believe me it was tasty!!

Salsa Chicken!

And the best part is there were tons of leftovers for lunch today! HOLLER! πŸ™‚ Keith I don’t have to rock, paper, scissors to see who gets them! That is how we settle most things….who gets the empty PB jar for oats, who gets leftovers, who has to walk back downstairs to turn out the light we forgot to turn off before crawling into bed…you get the idea. Let’s just say I have not mastered the “rock paper scissors” game yet…much to Keith’s enjoyment! πŸ™‚

Do you and your partner have a “fun” way to settle disputes? (KEEP IT CLEAN PEOPLE…haha!)

Β Oh…and Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Are you wearing GREEN?! I am! I am! πŸ™‚

45 Responses

  1. I have always thought you were a runner, girl! You are so inspiring!! πŸ™‚ We play rock, paper, scissors, too. Or I just whine enough until Mr How Sweet does something…hahaha.

  2. Oh my gosh, you are totally a runner, look at your milage, your splits, how often you do it. Girl, you’re more runner than most the people who think they are!

    Love the rock paper scissors…our game varies, I just loose all the time no matter how we do it!

  3. Ha…I’m a big baby, and I usually just pout until I get my way. Which I’m sure is in no way fun for my husband, but it sure is fun for me πŸ™‚

  4. We do rock, paper, scissors too!! It is the most fun and most fair way of solving almost any issue!!

    By the way, reading your blog is soooo motivating for me! I consider myself a runner and I have only worked up to running 4 miles per day!! When I read that you ran 10 or 12 miles, it pushes me to get out there and fight just a little bit harder for more mileage! Three miles was my comfy morning run all last year so this year I am working up to 5 miles being my morning run! It IS the best feeling in the world and the best way to start the day!

  5. Wow you’re a runner for sure. Amazing and so inspiring.

    We do rock paper scissors too, or we alternate doing things. Like changing diapers, haha.

  6. Yay for being a runner! I completely agree that you’re a HUGE inspiration. Not only is your blog fun to read, but it makes me feel good about myself. I’m nowhere near you in the running department and I also struggle with calling myself a runner. Your post today made me realize that, even though I only run about 10 miles per week, I’m still allowed to call myself a runner because I RUN!

    Thanks again for all you do and Happy St. Patty’s Day!

  7. That looks like a great dish for supper Kelly.

  8. You are for sure a runner!!!! I never had a doubt in my mind πŸ™‚

    I gotta try the chicken/salsa dish! Its sounds delicious and so easy!

  9. Mmm looks yummy! I usually just whine until I get my way, the bf hates it so he’ll usually do whatever I want pretty quickly to get me to shut up, haha.

  10. Thanks for the encouragement on my fast run – your speed always amazes me! Maybe I will channeling you yesterday on my run. πŸ™‚

    I am wearing my green with pride! And my husband and I have recently been using the rotating duties/things to settle things. Such as – I unloaded the dishwasher last time, so it’s your turn. However, I think he overestimates how often he does some house chores.

  11. I didn’t comment yesterday, but you are definitely a RUNNER! 10 “easy” miles every morning is NOT typical for non-runners! You are a runner and a great one at that! I am wearing green, but should be wearing orange since I am not Irish πŸ™‚

  12. That looks great. And though I usually hate leftovers, that seems like it would reheat well.

    We usually battle it out to death, but rock, paper, scissors sounds much more civilized.

  13. Is it weird that we never have things like that to settle? Not much to be argued about…..although we do trade off on Laundry duty because it’s the worst πŸ™‚

    Happy St. Pattys!

  14. Girl- not only are you a runner, you are a kick ass runner! You’re killing it on the pace! πŸ™‚

  15. We do deals about the things, like if I take the dog out at night you’ll take him out in the morning. Or you cook and I wash. Wahtever is the issue we always share the task. I have never ever argued about any household tasks with my husband, our teamwork is so good πŸ™‚ Living with him has always been easy.

  16. Of course you are a runner!!

    I wish I had a fun way to settle things, but David usually just gives in lol

  17. You most certainly are a runnerβ€”your mile pace KILLS me! I run, and I’m looking forward to my run in Central Park later today, but I won’t consider myself an actual runner until I’ve done at least a few races. (I haven’t done one!)

    Anyway, I really liked your easy dinner idea. My bf and I were just trying to think of easy things to make in the crockpot other than soup and chili. Good call.

    And hrm…I don’t think we have a fun way to settle disputes. He usually just lets me “win,” which I guess is pretty fun for ME πŸ™‚

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  18. In college my guy friends used rock, paper, scissors to decide EVERYTHING!

  19. Hey nice run! So glad you have a new perspective on the whole thing! I actually just wrote you an email so hopefully you receive it! And i don’t have a partner now so we don’t settle disputes lol

  20. I can’t believe you have to fight with Keith for the OIAJ jar!! For me, that would be grounds for divorce. hehe πŸ™‚

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  21. I am trying to start running first thing in the morning… your blog is definitely motivation… i was wondering do you eat anything before you head out on your runs… i always wake up hungry but i dont like running on a full stomach…any suggestions for something light?

    • Oh thank you!!!

      I always eat something before I run. I usually eat a half a powerbar about 30 to 45 minutes before I run if I have time. Or sometimes I will eat the entre thing before I go to bed. I know that sounds odd but sometimes eating it before bed is easier on my stomach and I don’t wake up hungry (also because I eat the entire bar instead of just half)

      Really what you need it a simple carbohydrates…so a handful of raisins (or any dried fruit will work) and that might be a lighter snack for you. Keep me posted!

  22. Ditto on the runner comment.. when I think runner I think kelly definately not Gelareh :).

    As far as doing things… hmm leftovers, Raymond gets it (if not enough for both of us) because I will be happy with almond butter sandwich or salad. Turning off the light, locking the door before bed… Raymond does it… I tell him he is Man of the house and heeds to protect his two princess (Sadie and I)… oh and if I want water after I get to bed I usually guilt him into getting out of bed to bring me a glass πŸ˜‰

  23. haha my boyfriend dont have a way to settle arguments because Im always right.
    haha dont I just sound more and more fun all the time?

  24. what exactly is a recovery run? I mean I can figure it out, but what is the difference btwn that a regular run? What are its benefits?

    • A recovery run is usally a longer run at a slower pace. It is to work out excess lactic acid build up and release soreness. It is not supposed to a run that will make you more sore…so think of it more like a steady jog at an easy conversational pace. πŸ™‚

  25. I definitely consider you a runner! I looked at your training for inspiration in my own and have been running negative splits from your advice! πŸ™‚ I guess people I know would probably be surprised that I don’t consider myself a runner either, though I run 4-5 times a week :-P. PS- Got my green on!!

  26. You are definitely an inspiration! You speak so positively and that is very helpful for my mental status! The illustrator and I don’t really have a thing to win disputes…we don’t have many, but it normally ends with me rolling my eyes! I have a four leaf clover tattoo, so I am always wearing green! Have a great day!!!

  27. rocks paper scissor, thats awesome, I usually just bribe him, if I want my BF to do something ill tell him ikll give him a back rub or something haha πŸ˜‰

    YAYAY RUNNER KELLY πŸ™‚

  28. Good for you for admitting that you’re a runner!!! Love the rock paper scissors idea. Fights are usually fairly silly anyway so why not!

  29. No fun way to settle disputes (very rarely do we have a dispute), but we make decisions by flipping a coin. It has to be a quarter though, no dime, nickel, or penny.

  30. I’ve been talking about your running to people in my real life a lot lately actually! πŸ™‚ Convo this morning with my dad
    Me: “Kelly ran 12 miles at a 8 min 20 sec per mile pace!”
    My dad: “Which one is she again?”
    Me: “The one that I showed you a picture of her and her husband.”
    lol. P.S.- he saw a comment you wrote on my blog and went to check yours out because he thought you were attractive πŸ™‚ I think he was kind of disappointed that you’re married lol.

    Rock Paper Scissors is an awesome idea! Maybe I’ll have to use that next time I’m too scared to leave my room to turn on the alarm when my boyfriend’s over! (I’ve developed a really really really bad fear of the dark lately :()

  31. I just read your yesterday post and not only do I consider myself a runner (even though I’m not very good at it or even the least bit fast) but I Soooo consider you a runner! In fact, I look up to you and your running prowess!

    …Oh and I sooo consider all of my blogience (like audience!) my friends!

  32. leftovers are sometimes better than the initial meal! roshambo is a great way to settle!

  33. umm, i missed yesterday’s post, but you are a rockstar, let alone a runner πŸ˜‰ although it took 3 tri’s for me to consider myself a triathlete… i still hesitate!

  34. I settle all of my disputes with everyone that way! I think it is great that you guys do that – such a fun couple!

    Ive been into the easy, simple dinners myself lately. Love em!

  35. I”m glad you got all the wonderful feedback that you deserve! Because you are fantastic. And honestly, reading your blog about your training and your running and your healthy eating, inspires me, Kelly. I would love to be more like you!

  36. I was going to post on your post yesterday, but lost came on. Haha! OF COURSE YOU ARE A RUNNER! You probably are more of a runner than me. You always seem happy about your run, meanwhile I mope and complain about it. I love reading your posts on running because they remind me that it’s not a chore!

    To settle disputes… Man, I wish I had an easy way… My “favorite person ever” and I both are very skilled at getting in the last word… which means we never stop… but sometimes we enjoy the argument itself is fun so long as it does not get personal, both of us like the mental challenge, and enjoy defending our side. We agree on most of the important stuff (except for the fact that he doesn’t want to get married… yet…) so when things get personal we just decide “eh, I’d rather be happy with you now, and worry about this later”… the rest is censored. πŸ˜‰ If it’s something serious, email works well for us, because we don’t interrupt, and I love getting emails. πŸ™‚

  37. You are such a runner. Honestly you’re one of the first people to come to mind when I think of the word “runner.” Anyone who busts out 10+ miles first thing most days of the week and at such a fast pace is a running machine!! Love you.
    And I love that we are friends. The blog community feels like family many times. So supportive.
    I also love that you do rocks paper scissors. I do it too and am pretty fiercely competitive about it! ahaha. Have a happy Thursday darlin!

Leave a Reply

