Turn That Frown Upside Down!

I was reading in my Women’s Health Magazine about bad moods and how to beat them…naturally! Check it out:

1. LIGHT UP YOUR LIFE: If a Miami mini-break isn’t an option, seek out a light box. A strong one that emits at least 10,000 lux can have the same effect as basking n the early morning sun – minus the cancer causing UV rays. Place the light  box on a table near you – you only need 30 minutes of exposure to increase your serotonin levels and leave more alert and energized.

2. DEVOUR CHOCOLATE DAILY: It’s true: one small square a day can keep the blues away. Chocolate contains a pleasure-promoting, mood-regulating neurotransmitter called phenylethylamine, which stimulates a rush of endorphins, the same compounds released during an orgasim. When snacking, stick to dark chocolate that’s at least 70% cocoa; it’s healthier than the milk-infused variety.

3. FIND BLISS IN THE BEDROOM: During foreplay, your brain gets a healthy dose of the natural chemicaldopamine, which boosts your feelings of desire. So a quickie can be an upliftng double whammy. (haha…this one was my favorite!)

4. GO FISH: People who eat foods containing omega-3 fatty acids – like salmon and tuna – have a better handle on their emotions and are more likely to be upbeat and agreeable. Walnuts and flaxseeds are also packed with the get-happy proteins, which have also been proven to prevent heart disease.

Are you a naturally happy person? What is your sure-fire way to beat a bad mood?

I am typically happy but every so often when I feel really overwhelmed I can turn into a raging madwoman! Usually, I know it sounds cliché, a GOOD cry helps! It lets me release those emotions and I almost always instantly feel better!

 

38 Responses

  1. Oh perfect! I already devour chocolate daily…haha 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. I try really hard to be a happy person. I’m a worrier by nature though. I always try to think about all the positives in my life when I start getting down.

  3. a long walk on a sunny day always perks me up! such as today lol

  4. Totally believe in all of those tips!! Reminds me that I finally broke into that dark chocolate cherry bar you sent me!! 🙂 It was ammmmmmmmazing!! 🙂 And definitely put a smile on my face!! 🙂

  5. I can definitely do number 2!

  6. I do my very best to be optimistic and positive. For the most part, I think I’m successful. I’ve struggled with depression throughout my life so when I get down it can take serious work to pick myself back up. Luckily exercise is one of my sure-fire mood boosters.

  7. well, that’s why the gym didn’t work for my mood today… NO CHOCOLATE! LOL

    Kitty
    Diary of a Morbidly Obese Woman Joining a Gym
    http://www.morbidlyobeseandchanging.wordpress.com

  8. I like all of those suggestions! The weather can really get me down….like the 4 days of rain in a row we’ve had here!

  9. I feel like I WAS so happy but over the years (specifically grad school years) I’ve been quite the debby downer. Can’t wait to feel like me again!

  10. I read that article too, and was laughing on the elliptical about #3! It made me want to get a light box, although, the sun is coming up earlier these days, so I’ve been waking earlier too!

    I’m a pretty happy person for the most part. But next to you, I’m probably grouchy mcgroucherson.

  11. It’s funny you just posted this because I just got back from an awful awful day! In general, I am a very happy, optimistic person…but sometimes you have those days that stress/frustrate you to no end!
    My therapy: comfort food (gotta control myself on that one!), a workout, sunshine, music, and reading. I’m doing all of those things tonight! A good cry is usual the best though!

  12. Oh my gosh, I’m like you– I LOVE a good cry every once in a while!

    Playing with my dogs is another guaranteed bad mood buster 🙂

  13. I just finished reading that on the plane. I’m a big supporter of the chocolate one 🙂

  14. I am a naturally happy person but we all have our bad days- especially today when it’s been raining for 3 days straight. I definitely should get a light box because I get really angry when I don’t have a sunny day haha.

    I could definitely jump on board with the other suggestions too!

  15. I’m almost always happy and smiley, but when I’m not, simply addressing the fact that I’m having a bad day helps. By addressing it, then I can make the conscious decision to start having a good day from that point forward!!! Sounds silly, but it really works!!!

  16. I don’t think I’m a naturally happy person, but I work hard at being happy and positive every day!!

  17. number 2 !! LOVE IT!!! im def a happy person, i came out of the womb smiling (or so momma says)

  18. I love these tips. I am naturally a happy person, but I feel like all this bad weather has gotten me down alittle bit. When I’m down I try to call a friend that can make me laugh or watch a funny movie.

  19. I’m not necessarily a happy person, but I am a very easy-going person.

  20. LOVE IT! You know, when it is sunny and nice…and when the days are getting longer and there is more sunlight outside, I’m a completely different perpetually happy person!

    I’m typically happy and optimistic…but, like you, when I get overwhelmed (and tired and stressed, which all tend to coincide, usually), I can get grumpy. A royal grumpbucket. 🙂

  21. hi kelly!! i was just curious if packaged snacks, chips, cereals, granola bars, etc. are part of your diet? if so, how often do you eat them or how do you control portions? thank you!!

    • Truthfully…no they aren’t. Keith and I don’t eat a whole lot of processed foods and when we do it is always gluten-free. We have gluten-free chips and granola bars in the house but we just don’t eat them that often. As for portion control…I suggest to my client to make pre-packaged bags for themselves. So open a bag of chips and make yourself little baggies so you can grab 1 serving at a time. Granola bars usually come pre-packaged so you don’t have to worry about that. As for cereal…I have learned that I can not eat just one serving once I get started so I just don’t eat it. haha…I opt for oats or eggs in the morning. Then snacks through out the day usually include Greek yogurt, nuts, fruits, veggies and nut butters. Really I don’t eat a whole lot that comes from a box. Hope this helps!!

  22. I think that i am naturally happy but i keep a positive mental outlook on life and when there’s a bad thought, i try to say ok, why am i feeling this way. Ok i acknowledge it, and then i move on and turn my frown upside down 🙂

  23. Not naturally happy – used to be…lost it. But working on it ;)…and YOU help…I need what I can get…oh and I definitely do #2…probably too much so it’s probably actually having a “rebound effect” now :0

  24. Amen to the chocolate one! I am a naturally happy person however sometimes people don’t see that since I am sarcastic and a smart alec. The only time I am not happy or myself is when Im at work, it depresses me 😦

    Regardless every day I write out a list of things that have made me smile or that I am a grateful for.

  25. I’m not a naturally happy person, but chocolate (or any other form of sugar) definitely helps. Sometimes, you’re right, it helps to have a good cry.

  26. I give a huge thumbs up to all of the above….(especially #3…I mean….#1)!!! O:-)

    I’m a naturally happy person, for sure 🙂 I’m allllways smiling!

  27. I love the chocolate one!
    I find light makes a big difference with me. I get miserable every winter – with the exception of this year. I credit running outside for that. I’ve never run I through the winter before, and I really think it made all the difference.

  28. Maybe I should try chocolate?

    I’m have a pre-birthday meltdown. The big day is Wednesday and I’m have a TERRIBLE time this year. I usually LOVE LOVE my birthday, but this year…the 34th, I’m in a funk that I can’t get out of.

    I’m usually pretty upbeat and exercise helps a lot. In the past, I struggled with depression. I found that exercise, better food, and consistent sleep made a difference. 🙂

    (but that’s not working this week…maybe after Wednesday)

  29. I must be the only person in the world who isn’t a major chocolate fan… Ice cream, on the other hand, never fails to turn my day around!

  30. yay love this list! i always try to stay happy because I know that smiling can be infectious…I really cant stand grumpy peiple…I get it once in a while we all get in our ‘funks’ but keep that for being along 🙂

    #3 😉

  31. I’m pretty sure i have that seasonal affective disorder. The second the calender changes from Feb to March I am automatically a much happier person!

    • Oh me too…I always think if I can make it through February then I am good to go! (Mainly because Febraury is the coldest month for us and I HATE cold weather!!)

  32. I am graduating with my bachelor’s degree in human ecology this May but I’m in the process of receiving my group fitness instructor certification and personal training certification. I’m going to clinical nutrition school in the fall. You sound like you’re so into your job!

  33. Hi, first visit here. This is my kind of list!

  34. Салют всем Может кто знает ,как подобрать часы наручыне на кожаном ремешке , обязательно качественые при этом дешевые , да и какую маорку выбрать. Оптимальный вариант цены и качества.
    Перенсите если что

    авторынок новосибирск Копии наручных часов в Новосибирске в на часы мужские наручные недорого механические

Leave a Reply

