Lazy Sunday Love

Happy Sunday everyone! I hope every one had a great Saturday! I DID! I DID! Want the recap? Sure…why not! First, I met up with my mama and we got pedicures! Look at those CUTE feet: 

Pretty toes!!My mom is the one with the cute shoes! haha!

 

Then we picked up my step-dad, Jim, and headed downtown to the funky part of Austin: South Congress!! We went shopping and there were tons of outdoor vendors It is SXSW here in Austin this weekend and so it was crazy crowded(in a good way) and we saw some characters!  didn’t snap a picture but there was a woman in a black bathing suit walking around playing a flute! haha…don’t ask…that’s Austin for you! 🙂  It was a lot of fun! Then we went to Perla’s Seafood & Oyster Bar!

 

My mom and Jim!

 

ME!

 

Now to the FOOD! We started with “Mom and Daughter” glasses of Prosecco and Jim had Guiness! 

The Cocktails

 

Then of course we had to have some appetizers. All that shopping can makes some peeps hungry! We had a jumbo Shrimp Cocktail, Grilled Octopus and Tuna Tartare. I had bites of all! 🙂 

Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail

 

Grilled Octopus

 

Tuna Tartare...check out the quail egg on the side. (I did not try that...haha)

 

Then we had dinner! I had the Scallops with a side of Grilled Brussel Sprouts. It was so good but the brussel sprouts were easily the best part of the meal! 

Scallops...yum yum yum!

 

The star of the night!

 

Overall it was a GREAT Saturday! And then today is LAZY SUNDAY! Woot Woot! I slept in and am currently doing my most favorite Sunday morning tradition: drinking java and working the NY Times Crossword! One of these days I am going to finish the entire thing…in pen! 🙂 Not much else planned for today…just chilling and resting my legs! I hope everyone has an awesome Sunday too! Cheers! 🙂

46 Responses

  1. I’m glad you had a lot of fun! The food looks great 🙂 even though I don’t like seafood, yuck! haha. Looks good though 🙂
    I hope you’re enjoying your lazy Sunday! I’m about to write about my not so lazy Sunday morning 😉

  2. OMG! ALl that food looks DELISH!!!! I heart shrimp cocktail…ecspecially when they are ginormo like those!
    Austin is a whole different world! I LOVE IT! The “weirdness” is what makes it so feaking awesome! I came so close to moving there but ended up in DFW instead. Booo. I still love to visit my friends there which reminds me…I need to plan a trip down there ASAP!

  3. What a fun day!! Glad you pampered your little piggies and that color looks great on ’em! 😉 That meal looks wonderful!! What a treat!! Enjoy your lazy Sunday!!

  4. Aaahh what an amazing day! You look just like your mama- so beautiful!! And I’m not trying to be funny- she really looks like your sister more than your mom!
    Great Sunday activities, Kell- Times Crossword is my favorite!!

  5. That looks like such a fun day! I’d love to visit Austin some time, it looks so cute 🙂

  6. Looks like a fun day. I love mother/daughter pedicures.

  7. The weather looks so nice there! I want summa dat. Ohio weather is gloomy.

    That shrimp cocktail looks delish..makes my hungry!

  8. That food looks AMAZING!!! The tuna tartare is one of my favorite things in the world…

  9. I’m so jealous that you got to spend some time with your folks!

  10. So cute!! You and your mom look so much a like, you must get that all the time?

    I am loving that it is so sunny where you are!!

    XXOO

  11. Your dinner looks sooo yummy. It is definitely making me hungry and want that tuna tartare!

    Also, you are definitely making me want to visit Austin! I’ve always heard that it’s a really cool place!

  12. Oh my gosh…you and your mom are TWINS! Too funny! Help me out with brussel sprouts. I love almost all veggies, but found those to be repulsive. I want to like them!! What’s the best way to cook them?

    • SO GOOD!! You gotta roast them. Toss them with olive oil, kosher salt and pepper and put them on a baking sheet at about 400 degrees until they are crispy…35 to 40 minutes! You will love love love it! 🙂

      • I started poking around on your page, Kelly, because I am friends with Linds and follow her… brussels sprouts are DELISH, esp if you like broccoli.

        I buy frozen ones a lot and I eat them plain, but I also make fresh sprouts. I cut them in half, cut up some garlic and saute it with some EVOO, and throw in the sprouts with some (fresh) lemon juice… add s+p, etc. to your liking… they came out well! Play around with them until you can flavor them well enough to forget they are sprouts!!!

  13. you look SO much like oyur mom its unbelieveable. Yup, that woman sounds like Austin. Keep Austin weird. *Coming from A Sooner fan :)*

  14. You know i LOVE seafood and I am totally jealous of all that goodness right now. Now my breakfast seems dumpy 😦 Haha. And ps. you look JUST like your mama, beautiful!

  15. Sounds like a great weekend!! Enjoy your lazy day!!

  16. Hey! I’m new to your blog 🙂 Today is definitely a lazy Sunday for me.

    All of the seafood from yesterday looks incredible! YUM!

  17. Oh my goodness you look like your mama! I hope one of my 3 girls ends up looking like me…they are spitting images of the hubs!

  18. What a fabulous looking meal! And pretty toes too 😉

  19. Wow Kelly, you look JUST like your mom!

  20. lazy sundays = the best!!!

    sounds like a really fun saturay! I am drooling over that octopus!!!

  21. I’m enjoying a lazy Sunday today, too. So nice! All of your eats and drinks (especially the Proseco) from yesterday look divine. Glad you enjoyed your time with your mom.

  22. SOOOOO jealous you are in Austin. My bestie lives there and also got to go to SXSW. Glad you had such a wonderful day with mama (who is your twin!!!) and the step daddio 🙂

  23. Such cute little toes!! I love getting pedicures, I could really use one right now! Such a fun Saturday – enjoy your low key Sunday – I’m laying on the couch in a sleeping bag watching food network…pure relaxation. 🙂

  24. You look so much like your mom! Lucky you, you are going to be beautiful FOREVER! And those brussels are making me drool…

    I’ve seen some really strange clothing choices at music festivals, too. I can only imagine SXSW. I wish I could have gone, but it is soooo expensive!

  25. yay pedis! you are sooo gorgeous lady! SXSW sounds awesome, my cousin and his band played there last year, i wonder if they’re there this year too!

  26. Hi!! Long time no talk. You are definitely your mama’s daughter. That quail egg looks so creepy!

  27. Wow, you look just like your mother. At least you know you’ll look great with age. (No, really, I’m not sucking up.) Pedis with the mom sounds so fun. That’s what my mother and I do, too. Such a fun way to bond!

  28. You and your mom are identical–Im jealous of your good genes!

    That place looks super cute…lol@ lady in bathing suit playing the flute, I love randoms!!

  29. I love roasted veggies. And you look SO much like someone I know!! …actually she’s super pretty and perfect 😉 – and she took away the guy I was in love with a few years ago…hah!! I was pissed @ the time – but hey, it was so not meant to be anyways :)…and yes, roasted veggies are the bomb…shrimp…could I put them in the slow cooker? i have baby ones haha.

  30. Great day with your Mom – you look sooo much alike! It’s good to know you’ll age well :). I used to do the Sunday crossword with my Gram every week – always in pen! It would be against the rules to use anything else.

  31. yummo!!! that looks good

  32. I am so jealous of you being able to sit outside and enjoy dinner. I need to move south! As for Peyton Manning, I like him as a football player, BUT I won’t ruin your crush and tell you what we know about him here in Indy.

  33. You just made me miss Austin more then I already do. Love SXSW times, South Congress. Everything.

  34. Prosecco, shrimp cocktail, PEDICURES! Sounds like my idea day 🙂 I did a DIY pedi this weekend, but it is just not the same. Not at ALL.

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  35. All that fish looks amazng! I love Tuna Tartare and Scallops! yum yum!!

  36. This post made me smile so much…the cocktails, the cute pedis, a cute awesome pic of you and your mom/jim, the whole post, marvelous! And thanks for the super sweet comment you left me today, too 🙂 awhhh, you’re just the kindest..the one of your favorites that you told me 🙂

  37. Yeah, you and your mom do look insanely alike. Sounds like your weekend was a blast!

  38. The star of the night is truly has every quality of a star!

Leave a Reply

