Work It Out Wednesday

Keith here. Has everyone missed me? This is week 3 of our Kettlebell instructions. To see what you missed in Week 1 go here or Week 2 go here. This week we are moving on to Kettlebell Snatches.

The kettlebell snatch is a fluid in motion and vicious in the force it generates, even with a light bell.  The snatch will help you create a stronger back and hips that are resistant to injury. That sounds good right? Simply stated, a snatch is a swing that starts with a clean and ends with the end of a press (arm extended with the bell). BUT…you are not PRESSING it, you are not CLEANING it, and you are not SWINGING it. You are SNATCHING it. Ready to see?

1 Kettlebell Snatch

2 Kettlebell Snatch

 

In the beginning when you are learning kettlebell snatches, try doing sets of five or lower. This will allow you to improve your form before going all out with higher repetitions. Once you get the technique down try the following routines:

Beginner

Day Exercise Sets Reps Break
Monday One-arm snatches 3 15 60
Wednesday One-arm snatches 1 25 90
Friday One-arm snatches 2 15 60

Advanced

Day Exercise Sets Reps Break
Monday One-arm snatches 2 25 60
Wednesday One-arm snatches 5 10 30
Friday One-arm snatches 3 15 30

Challenge: Try incorporating kettlebell snatches into your workout this week. C’mon step out of that comfort zone!!!

13 Responses

  1. I would totally do these workouts if I had kettlebells!! The Homecookedem Gym is really lacking in the latest and greatest equipment!! 😉

  2. This is great! I am always looking for ways to spice up my workout and this will definitely do the trick 🙂 Thanks so much

  3. Thank you Kellie for all that great information! I have never tried kettlebells but this really makes me want to! 🙂

  4. you make me want to go buy some kettlebells, i only use the ones at the gym!

  5. I did my kettle bells this morning, so much fun 🙂

  6. I saw some kettleballs at a sporting goods store over the weekend and thought of you. Which is weird since i have never spoken to you, in person or via comments. Is that creepy? 😀

  7. My mom has some kettlebells I’ve been dying to get my hands one. I think I should just sneak them out of her house, maybe she wouldn’t notice. I love switching things up, but I tend to do the same weights workouts because I’m time crunched.

  8. Ya know, the more you talk about kettlebells the more I want to at least try them. I may actually work up the nerve to try them out one of these days.

  9. Did you say hip strength? So lets say someone (me me!) has a bad history of ITBS and is currently suffering from greater trochanter bursitis. Let’s say this person has been told many times by her Mr. Masochism (pt guy) that she has to keep her hip, back, butt, and quad strengthened so that IT band will track properly.

    Kettlebells might a new addition to the arsenal? After the bursitis calms down, I may have to try these.

  10. thanks for the yoga pose props the other day, my floating position. i should say the same to you, i run 15 miles before breakkie 🙂

    glad u liked the nooch post..will come in handy after your shipmt arrives!

    and the scobee re the komboucha. Ok here’s the deal, i know sooo many crunchy people in san diego and they always have extra babies. When i am back there, i will snag one for you and ship it to you:) So if you can hang on a few months or so, i will keep my eyes open for you. Also go on your local freecycle or craigslist and search for them. California is of course gonna have more people into it, but i bet you could snag one that way 🙂

Leave a Reply

