When I Grow Up…

Do you remember as a kid always being asked, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” I overheard a trainer at the gym ask her client’s daughter that question today. The little girl looked at the trainer straight in the eye and said, “I want to be a cardiologist.” I was like WOW…I mean this child was probably 7 (maybe??) and she wants to be a cardiologist. I wonder if I even knew what a cardiologist was when I was 7. Way to go kid!

Thinking back I know my answer to that question changed a lot. I think I started out wanting to be a princess, graduating to an olympic athlete, to a teacher, to a coach, to writer and I am sure the list goes on and on. But I do remember very clearly wanting to be a teacher and a writer. But somehow in college I landed myself in the business school and graduated with my BBA in HR Management. Hum? So college ended in 2003 and let’s fast forward to today (2010) and I am a Nutrition Manager and a blogger. I would say that in some way I have fulfilled both of my grown-up jobs (even if IΒ took the long way aroundΒ to getting there) I teach people everyday how to change their lifestyles to be healthy AND sustainable. And everyday I get to write on my blog. Now ideally, I would love to branch into freelancing or writing steady for a publication but at least I feel like I am on the right track…finally! I can honestly say that I love my job and I love my professional life.

So here’s to you little girl…I hope that in 20 years if you still want to be a cardiologist then you will be well on your way!

What did you want to be when you grew up, and are you?

41 Responses

  1. I wanted to be a Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader LOL!

  2. From the age of about 4-8, I told people I wanted to be Scooby Doo when I grew up. I’m sure THAT didn’t worry my parents at all πŸ™‚

    For a while, I thought I might like to be a lawyer because I like to argue with people, lol. I’m much happier with where I ended up, as a teacher/writer, than I think I would have been if I had pursued a career in law!

  3. I wanted to be a concert pianist until I was 16, then a music teacher….which I went to school for…and now I just strive to make money so I can one day not work at all. Ha!

    PS – LOVED seeing you today. πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve wanted to be pretty much everything under the sun. From an actress to a fire fighter to an athlete, a doctor, a PR rep…I guess I am going to be a doctor…although not the kind I always said!

  5. i wanted to be a lawyer for the longest time. then i just wanted to be someone who owned a pink convertible. lol.

    hey im in school for a BBA in Mgt Opertaion with a focus on HR. great minds think alike πŸ™‚

  6. I’ve always wanted to do speech therapy. Just not financially possible… actually, I really, really want to one day be a stay at home mom, but that will probably never be financially possible either… sighhhhh…

  7. i still don’t know what i want to be when i grow up πŸ˜‰

  8. I think when I was little I wanted to be a swimming teacher πŸ™‚

    Then a doctor….

    Now I’m a mom….

    Who knows what I’ll be when I grow up πŸ˜‰

  9. ive bounced around so many times, but ive always wanted to work with people – so i think im headed in the right direction!
    its almost scary kids these days though, i asked a girl that a few weeks ago and got a similar response and i was kind of surprised – kids should be busy being kids!

  10. estella-
    you could totally be a swimming teacher still! i supervise swimming instructors as my job now, and im pursuing a degree in psych & aquatics so i get to make a real job out of something fun and exciting!

  11. I love finding out if people ended up being what they thought…I don’t remember what I wanted to be, just what I didn’t want to be: a doctor, lawyer, teacher…none of the “normal” stuff. I’m not any of those, so I guess I was sort of right?! hehee

  12. I am still trying to figure out what I want to be! I really wanted to do something in nutrition, but unfortunately time, money and circumstance have lead me down the wrong path. Oh well, maybe some day…

  13. There were 2 things I used to want to be: A cheeleader (aka cheerleader) and a school bus drive. No joke.

    I was a cheerleader, but never a bus drive.

  14. Gosh what a great question…was thinking of this the other day…definitely not the area I’m in now…I remember in Kindergarten we had to say what we wanted to be when we grew up at our graduation (yeah, at like 5 years old!! ha!) – i said a “Banker” – what the hell?! haha – but later changed it to a Doctor…interesting question πŸ™‚

  15. I feel like this post was written for me! I decided I wanted to be a teacher when I was in second grade. I graduated with a degree in early childhood/special education in ’06 and got a job teaching kindergarten. In the last year, I’ve changed my mind. I love a lot about my job, but I need to figure out what I really want to be when I grow up! Just started exploring careers in health/wellness, but its sooo overwhelming! Patience is a virtue, patience is a virtue…

  16. great question and im 33 and still trying to figure that out πŸ™‚

  17. I wanted to be an writer, and until I was 12 I wanted to be an actress. My parents absolutely forbid me from auditioning because they said Hollywood would corrupt me. (Judging from most child actors, she’s probably right.) After they shot down that dream, I stuck with just writing. I’m happy that I’ve always known what I’m passionate about and that I’m doing it. But I still have the dream of writing a novel.

  18. Aw, I used to want to be a detective and always with I actually followed through!! Damn it.
    So cute about that girl.

  19. i didn’t realize you are a nutrition manager! obviously i knew you’re a blogger, and a great one at that :).

    ever since i could speak i wanted to be a doctor. even BEFORE i could speak i loved doctors and nurses, lol. i’ve done some soul searching and have decided to pursue becoming a nurse practitioner, because while i was in the hospital i realized how little patient contact doctors actually get to have nowadays, and the nurses on the unit REALLY got involved in patient care, which i think is awesome. i’m not sure what i want to specialize in, but i’m leaning towards mental health (esp eating disorders.) it’s cool because you get to be a therapist and doctor rolled into one…you can counsel people AND write prescriptions!

  20. I love reading all of your career ideas and the comments of this! The beautiful thing about us living so long is that we can have may career phases, if we want.

    Like, I DO NOT really want to be a lawyer. Heaven only knows why I went to law school. But, I loved my joint degree so much more. And I plan (in the fall of 2012) to go back for my PhD in Clinical Psych (I already have my masters). Good thing I’m young!

  21. I wanted to be a teacher (and spent a lot of time playing school) until I realized how much time is spent disciplining/not actually teaching. So I went into Community Health Education so I could teach without the babysitting part! Now I’m going to be a physical therapist, which I feel is still a way to teach. So I’m kind of doing what I wanted to do.
    I’ve heard many older adults say “I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up!” haha!

  22. When I was little, I said, “I want to be a judge because I’m fair. If not, then I’ll be an attorney.” I was a tool. I had a lawyer outfit.

    Then around age 12, I decided on medicine, and I ended up in med school for a year and a half.

    Looks like I had the right idea at age 6, huh? Since that’s RIGHT where I am and loving it! Well, I’m not a judge or a lawyer, but I’ll get there.

  23. When I was like 10, my goal was to attend Stanford and be on the swim team, just like my idol, Summer Sanders. God bless my parents for never shooting down that dream. I guess they knew one day that I’d figure out I wasn’t near smart or fast enough! ha!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  24. That is such a strange question “what do you want to be when you grow up?”… I’m a teacher now, but who says I’m “grown up”?

    You never stop growing, you never stop learning, so there are endless possibilities. I might be a teacher now, but I still might want to be something else when I grow up…again. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

  25. I definitely wanted to be a mermaid for awhile before I figured out that wasn’t something you could “become.” This was a heartbreaking realization.

  26. I wanted to be a dermatologist or a trauma surgeon. Then I changed my mind. I wanted to be a French teacher, no, wait, a chiropractor! Turns out, I’d finally become a psychologist.

  27. I still don’t know what I want to be, but I mostly wanted to be a genetic counselor, a teacher, a physical therapist…all kinds of things.

  28. Originally, I wanted to be an art teacher. Now I’m a structural engineer. That doesn’t really work does it? Still want to get into teaching at some point, though.

  29. What an awesome topic!! I love thinking about all the things I wanted to be. I feel pretty happy now because I always dreamed of working in film, so being able to do that means a whole lot.
    It’s so nice to hear how happy you are with your life. It really inspires me to seek out all the things I want. To pursue whatever goals i have. Thanks Kel!

  30. I wanted to be a teacher because my mom is a teacher. Somewhere along the line I changed my mind to social worker, then lawyer and the list goes on. Now, I want to be a teacher. I have no money for school right now, but one day. Right now I’m working as receptionist/office manager/babysitter of grown men. Yah-NOT a career. I’m meant to be a teacher. Funny how I knew that when I was 6 years old.

  31. I wanted to be on Kids Incorporated.

  32. Haha, my class just did a writing project where they took a survey on this exact question and wrote about the results. I was also shocked when kids answered with serious professions like “cardiologist”…I have a little girl that wants to be an optometrist because she loves going to the eye doctor. Kind of funny.

    I wanted to be a teacher from age 3…so we are both fulfilling our grown-up jobs! πŸ™‚

  33. What an endearing little girl! Go her:D
    I wanted to be a veterinarian growing up because I have such a passion/love for animals. Didn’t follow through with that. Now I’m an analyst and a personal trainer, but I am a vegetarian and a Humane Society volunteer! lol

  34. I think I was the typical “marine biologist” because I wanted to work with dolphins… didn’t everyone? ha!

    I guess that was better than my friend- she had big dreams to be one of the girls at Wal-Mart who got to roller skate around all day with a “Can I help you?” vest on… he he he

  35. I wanted to be an animator for Disney. Didn’t quite work out that way!

Leave a Reply

