Take THAT Monday!

Good Monday morning to YOU! It seems everyone really enjoyed my Remember When post from yesterday! It was definitely fun seeing what you guys remembered from the 80’s too! I hope everyone is now ready to ease back into the work week! I had a NICE 14 mile run this morning averaging 8:40 pace. Take that Monday morning! 🙂 As predictably as always I am drinking slurping my coffee, enjoying my egg white scramble and my protein brownie. Which I did slightly differently this morning…1 scoop vanilla whey protein, dash of baking soda, 3 T. liquid egg whites, and a drop of coconut extract…another HIT! So good!! 🙂 Then I am off to work! 🙂  

Dinner last night was a new experiment! I made Mustard Maple Chicken in the slow cooker! (JENN…are you reading?!?!) It was excellent…both Keith and I enjoyed it very much and it will be another make again! Basically, on Sunday morning I could already tell I wasn’t going to want to put a whole lot of effort into dinner that night so I raided the refrigerator and pantry to see what I had!  

Look at all that color!!

MUSTARD MAPLE CHICKEN  

  • 1 lb chicken pieces (I used chicken thighs because this was all I had)
  • 1-2 cups chicken broth (I think I used probably 1 1/2 cups total)
  • 2 medium (or 1 large) sweet potato, peeled and chopped
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp mustard (either Dijon or stone ground…I used stone ground because, again, this was all I had)
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Put chicken in bottom of slow cooker and toss with thyme, maple syrup and mustard.  

Peel and slice the sweet potatoes and add to pot. Next, add the onions and garlic.  

Pour chicken broth on top (enough to cover) and add the bay leaves. Cover and cook on LOW 6-8 hours or HIGH 4-5 hours.  

Serves: 4  

258 Calories; 4.6g Fat (1.4g saturated fat); 87.8mg Cholesterol; 640.3mg Sodium; 29.9g Carbohydrates; 2.7g Fiber; 9.3g Sugar; 22.3g Protein  

Next, I really need to give a shout out to Nicole for giving me the Sunshine Award!! The sunshine award is awarded to bloggers whose positivity and creativity inspire others in the blog world so I was very excited to get this!  

Sunshine Award

 So I am passing it on to a few of the bloggers who inspire me on a daily basis! Thanks to all of you for being the sunshine in my life!  

Pen of Pen At Peace  

Kate of The Eggplant Executrix  

Lily of Lily’s Health Pad  

Lee of In My Tummy  

Lindsay of Goodies Galore  

Katie of Making Food and Other Stuff  

Anna of Newlywed Newly Veg!  

Finally, tell me what the BEST part of your weekend was? Mine was definitely Sunday afternoon with the temperature topping out at 75 degrees! Woot Woot! Keith and I washed our cars…which means it will probably rain today, huh?  

What was the best part of your weekend?  

Oh and go here for an AWESOME give-a-way from I Heart Wellness! This looks like a good one peeps!! Or here for an AWESOME give-a-way from What Kate Ate!

41 Responses

  1. My favorite part of the weekend was Sunday afternoon after all the laundry was done. My boyfriend and I had a fun “physical workout” together. *wink wink*

    Am I allowed to comment about that?!?!? 🙂

  2. You are a running machine! What time do you get up? I’m watching 7″ of snow fall, trying to motivate myself to go downstairs to the treadmill! The chicken you made last night looks lovely, and easy too!

    • I am usually out and running by 5:15…so I am usually up around 4:30. But my husband is up then too because he has clients (he is a fitness trainer) at 5:00 so it works for us!! I HAVE to get my run done first thing in the morning! 🙂

  3. 14 miles already this morning!? You are amazing girl!! 🙂

  4. You’re awesome, plain and simple. 14 miles is crazy but cool. My favorite part of the weekend was seeing Shutter Island. So good!

  5. Maple mustard chicken in the slow cooker!! Perfection. I love using my slow cooker and anything that combines sweet and savory so this is a must.
    I want to try your protein brownie! have a beautiful day lady!

  6. For sure I’m reading – love that meal idea! Will be doing that one soon 🙂
    Warm enough to wash your cars! Must move to TX….still snow here – but not much and unusually warmer temps for this time of year, so I shouldn’t complain.

  7. your dinner looks good..
    Holy moly 14 miles, once in a while I think that maybe I should give this running thing a try…

    Best part of the weekend 10 hr sleep I got Sat night 🙂

  8. Wow awesome run! My favorite part of the weekend was when I finally got to relax yesterday and catch up on the Olympics!

  9. Thank you Kelly!! You are a HUGE ray of sunshine in my bloggie life!! Have a great Monday, girl!

  10. That chicken looks really good, I’m always looking for recipes to try in my slow cooker. Hmm fav part of the weekend was not having to go anywhere for once!

  11. What a great looking dinner!! My favorite part of the weekend was having no commitments! I got relax and just hang out 🙂

  12. Oh I’m jealous of your fantastic weather! Glad to see you wrapped your weekend up with the awesome chicken… mmm!

    My fav part of the weekend was definitely getting to see some friends from out of town! I love having a blast from the past…

  13. I’m super honored! Thank YOU, sunshine!

    Best parts of my weekend were probably goofing around with TCL and introducing our friends to the doggy.

  14. And 14 miles in the morning — what a way to start the week! ::impressed::

  15. Great sauce for the chicken, I will have to try it!!

  16. Best part of my weekend was celebrating my bday. hehe, easy answer 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  17. The best part of my weekend was buying my new phone! haha and the nice weather 🙂

  18. Rock on girl! That is one amazing run! wow. And that chicken recipe sounds great. Thanks for sharing. My favorite part of the weekend was getting a little down time. I worked on saturday but then on Sunday I got in a great workout, did some shopping and cooked a bit. All fun! I hope you have a fabulous day!

  19. Asparagus have been extremely popular in blogworld lately…great minds think alike!

  20. You’re rocking your runs lately. Great job!
    The chicken sounds yummy. I need to use my crockpot more.
    Have a great week 🙂

  21. i’m making note of that recipe kelly! it looks awesome!!!

  22. congrats on the award! mustard and maple is such a great combo, i love it on tofu too!

  23. That is a nice recipe. I eat a lot more chicken than that though…(insert blush ) 🙂
    Chicken is good on pizza and in wraps too!

  24. Guess what I’m going to have this week?! That chicken sounds great. 🙂

  25. Hey to answer your question – usam is unsweetened almond milk 🙂

  26. I’m blushing over here; thanks for the award!!! Awesome run badass! And all before I had even rolled out of bed…impressive!

    Do you make your protein brownies like pancakes, or do you bake them? I really want to try them!

    • Hey…okay the protein brownie…nuked in the microwave for 1 minute! It is a recipe from Peanut Butter Fingers…really good in my opinion. But here’s my disclaimer…you will either HATE it or LOVE it…there isn’t a whole lot in between!

  27. 75 degrees?! Thanks for rubbing it in! Hmm, the best part of my weekend? It’s a three-way tie between vodka, pizza and sleep 😉

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  28. That chicken recipe looks quite yummy!!

    Best part of my weekend was going to the park to run with my dog. Loved every minute of it! 🙂

  29. Honestly, I don’t know if it’s my hormones but seeing that you listed my under this award just made me tear up. Thank you!

  30. Absolutely! Love your blog, Kelly! 🙂

  31. Aw, Thank you so much, Kelly! This made my day! YOU are MY SUNSHINE (my only sunshine…sorry I can’t not start singing that song).

    But in all seriousness, Thank you! I love reading your blog (and emailing with you) and look forward to each and everyone of your posts!

    ps. Best part of my weekend? Post 20-miler Ice Cream. No doubt. 🙂

    • Truth: today when I was running I was starting to peter out around mile 12 and I thought NO…Pen did 20 on Sunday you can do 2 more. So see…you were my inspiration! Seriously what makes me sad is that we don’t live near one another!

  32. Love the recipe – I will put it on the menu for this week. Best part of the weekend – having a long afternoon to play in the garden and weed (which I really do enjoy) and catching a beautiful moment between my girls – the older one was reading The Lightening Thief to the younger one out side in the sun. What a treat for a mom!

  33. Thank you for the award!

    My favorite part of the weekend was definitely the weather. 65 and sunny!

  34. Yay, thanks for the sunshine award!

  35. […] day or not, I did manage to throw in a great crockpot meal before the craziness hit! I revisited my Maple Mustard Chicken. When I asked Keith how it was (as we were both stuffing our faces) I got a mouthful of […]

  36. […] Mustard Maple chicken (thanks Kelly!) […]

Leave a Reply

