Times Two Tuesday!

Good Tuesday morning everyone! I hope everyone enjoyed their 3 day weekend and are easing back into the grind today! ๐Ÿ™‚ Today is “time two Tuesday” for me! I am doing 2 workouts! I already did my run this morning…10 miles of glorious Kelly time! And now I am sitting here refueling on coffee, and egg white scramble and a banana before heading to the gym for Body Pump! See how I excited I am?! Anything to make weights for more enjoyable, right? Even that extra $20 a month gym membership!ย ย 

Dinner last night was another “meatless Monday” that I am doing along with Lisa and her followers. I tried a new recipe that I found on Katie’s blog!ย ย 

Katie’s Vegetable Mashย ย 

  • 2 heads broccoli
  • 4 carrots + 4 baby carrots
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 can black beans
  • ยผ cup salsa
  • 1 tbs. cumin
  • 1 tbs. coriander
  • Sprinkle of cayenne pepper
  • Salt/pepper
  • 6 cups water

Cooked on low for 11 hours. YUM!! I added brown rice to the mix after it was all cooked (like Katie suggested) and it was AWESOME!!!! I am posting Katie’s picture though because after all the Valentine’s Day fun…I can NOT find my camera anywhere! Seriously…not a good thing to lose!! I am sure it is around somewhere…probably sitting right in front of my face too! Anyway…here’s is a picture from Katie’s blog but mine looked very similar!!ย ย 

Katie's Vegetable Mash

ย 

OTHER THINGS OF NOTE:ย ย 

  • Don’t forget about my ASK MEย page! All submissions are 100% anonymous and I answer all the questions I get through out the week on Friday. Want to see what you missed last week, go here!
  • I added a mileage count to my sidebar! Last year in 2009 I logged 2557 miles and this year I want to beat that (even if it is by 1 single mile…haha!) I will update that weekly but that will hold me accountable to beating my old record! So follow along! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I have added new products to my OpenSky store AND they are offering FREE shipping on any order over $25!!

I will leave you this: If you could compete in any Winter Olympic sport, what would it be? I would choose cross-country skiing. Doesn’t that figure coming from a marathoner…haha! I am so predictable! ย ย 

36 Responses

  1. That veggie mash looks great. Have fun at your class!

  2. I’m loving the Olympics! When I was little, I terribly wanted to be a figure skater! (I practiced every day on rollerblades in my basement!) But now I wonder if it was more because of the pretty sequiny outfits more than the actual sport? Now, I’m all about the speedskating- gotta appreciate the speed and power of it all!

    • That is too funny! I wanted to be an ice skater when I was little too!! I used to dance around my living room pretending I was on skates! At least you had actual rollerblades on! haha!

  3. Holy workouts – insanely jealous here…I did a walk…anyways – love the “Mash” – similar to what I call “Hash” – potatoes, turninps, carrots, cabbage – whatever – all smushed up after boiling or roasted or whatever! and then ate with gravy, mustard, ketchup, and meatballs ๐Ÿ™‚
    I used to LOVE x-country skiing – they’re the fittest athletes apparently, It seriously works every part of your body. Love the figure skating but don’t think I could do it…well, I probably wouldn’t be able to do any of those sports though haha!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I love to downhill ski in real life and would love to be Olympic-good at it!

  5. Duderino. You are a fantastic runner! I ran 2004 miles in 2009, and I would nerdishly like to run 2010 in 2010.

    Have fun at BodyPump. True story: my husband’s name is a letter off from Body, so I often almost type “hisname”-Pump. Um, ew.

  6. Ooh, I’m going to have to try this recipe– I can never find vegetarian slow cooker recipes (I guess because vegetables don’t really need to be slow-cooked!). Looks delicious!

  7. I love the Olympics and love introducing my girls to all the different sports. Being Dutch I follow the speed skating with extra interest, go Dutchies!! If you see a crazy group of people all dressed in orange, that would be the Dutch.
    I have to say downhill racing would be my sport, I haven’t skied in years, but I loved the speed of going down the hill at 100mph (or at least thats how fast I remember going down ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  8. How do you workout like that and not get insanely sore? I’m looking for any tips you might have. Thanks!

    • I don’t get sore from running typically but that is just because I am so used to it. But I DO get sore from weights! Don’t think I don’t! But here’s the awesome thing…I find that running makes me less sore because it works out the lactic acid from the tiny muscles tears you get from lifting weights. The best advice I have is when you are sore is DO SOMETHING! Sitting around and not doing anything only delays the recovery process and will make the soreness last twice as long! I know going for a jog when you are sore doesn’t sound enjoyable but trust me…your body will thank you the next day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I’d be a snowboarder. Snowboarded chicks are just cool ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I so wish I had your enthusiasm for working out. It’d make life a lot easier.

    Since it’s so implausible that I’d do any sport at the Olympics, I’ll just go with my childhood dream: ice skating. I wanted to be like the girl in Cutting Edge and yell Toe Pick!

  11. Your dinner looks good ๐Ÿ™‚

    Way to go on your miles last year.. you can do it my friend… you can beat it…

    Good for your for doing two workouts today… I need to figure out some new stuff to add to my workout.. I hear the last part of the MS ride from La Grange to Austin is very hilly and I need to get my legs super ready for that ride.. specially since thats on day two fo the ride

    I would pick figure skaing to compete in winter olympics.. I figure skated through high school.. haven’t been on a skate in 5 years.. but it is the most relxaxing excercise I have ever done. I wonder if I can find an ice rink in Houston?!?

  12. I’d probably do something like cross country skiing too. No high risk sports for me!

  13. The veggie mash sounds yummy! I did body pump today too… Fun stuff! My whole body feels like jello though now ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Even in spite of the recent tragedy, I would love to try the luge. I’m a bit of an adrenaline junkie so the speed appeals to me. Or curling. I can’t explain why I enjoy it.

  15. Hi lady love, That mishmadge looks goooooooooddd. Totally my kind of thing. You are busting out some serious workout time today!! Think of my while your lifting weights since I can’t seem to do a single curl.

    I would dooooooooo snowboarding?? I think it’s pretty rad but so was the downhill skiing. So fast and curvy.

  16. That vegetable mash sounds so good!!

    I always wanted to be a figure skater, but I never learned how to stop. lol

  17. that sounds awesomee- so many veggies ๐Ÿ™‚

    hmmmm i would love to be able to figure skate!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  18. I’d pick something I don’t ever see myself really ever being able to do–like ski jumping. Hello! Terrifying! Or something random like curling, just to be unique haha. I’ve never met a — curler?

  19. I’d probably have to choose Super G. I’ve never skied in my life, but if I could be good at anything it would be that. Those guys and gals are fearless. It has to be one of the closest things to flying.

  20. 10 miles and Body Pump?!?!

    Kelly, I salute you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. the veggie mash sounds like a great option for a meatless meal – was it done in the slowcooker or on the stove?

  22. That veggie mash looks so good!!

    Funny, Andrew asked me the SAME question last night, though he said he already knew the answer… and he was right, I’d be an ice skater… and I’d probably rather do the couples skating. I think it’s so beautiful to watch them do their thang out there!!

  23. Ahhh!! Thanks so much for the link love!! I wish my picture would have been better for you, haha ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry about your camera…I hope it turns up soon!

    • No…thank you for such an AWESOME recipe! (and for letting me rip off you photo) I did find my camera…it was in the pantry of all places…go figure?!

  24. I would love to do ice skating or snowboarding. I know how to do both, but I’m better at ice skating then boarding. lol

  25. Check your fridge. I find all kinds of lost items there. A sign of how often I look in it, perhaps?

    That mash looks tasty! Too bad its already 4 or I’d start it for dinner now.

  26. Aw! I need to start getting in my two a days! But, I guess, first, I need to figure out how to get out of bed in the morning. Please say mean things to me if I don’t tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

    But, glad you are getting your body pump!!!

  27. wow LOVE the veggies on here!! looks amazing!!

Leave a Reply

