Monday Glory!

Happy Monday and Happy President’s Day. Here’s a random fact: did you know that Washington’s Birthday is the official name designated to what many of us know as President’s Day? Just a piece of random trivia in case you are ever playing Trivial Pursuit or working a crossword. Haha! 🙂

President Washington

 How was everyone’s Valentine’s Day yesterday? Ours was great! You can see how we celebrated our Valentine’s morning here. That afternoon we spent some time watching the Olympics! (Does anyone else get chills when they hear the Olympic theme music?) But, here is the one event that, honestly, we just don’t get. The Biathlon. For those of you who don’t know what that is, it is an olympic event that combines cross-country skiing and rifle shooting. It actually didn’t make its Olympic début until 1980 yet honestly I just don’t get.

The Biathalon

 What is your favorite winter Olympic event?

 We also played Scrabble! We are BIG Scrabble players. Truth? Keith wins 95% of the time! Seriously! I blame it on the fact that I am not very patient. As soon as a find a word I play it. Not Keith. He studies and takes forever at every turn! haha! This game was NO exception. Keith wins…Kelly pouts! The final score was me 219 and Keith 236! Good job baby, she says begrudgingly 🙂

Of course, Keith wins!

Then we finished our Valentine’s Day with a yummy dinner! I figured since this was a holiday filled with all the things we love we should each be able to get what we want! So we headed up to the Central Market Cafe on the Run and picked our own dishes to have ala our own living room! I picked Sushi! I had my favorite…grilled Eel Roll! YUM! I love it! And Keith chose a herb-grilled chicken breast, lemon asparagus and a feta pasta salad. We were both happy with our Valentine’s Day choices. I thought I took a picture of Keith’s meal but I realized later that I didn’t. I guess I was too excited about my own deliciousness! Oops…you will just have to be satisfied with mine! 🙂

Get In My Belly!

To end the night on a sweet tooth we chose to get Fro-Yo from Berry Cool down the street! We both opted for the strawberry-banana flavor with no toppings. We like it simple and we are both addicted to this flavor!!

Berry Cool Fro-Yo!

 I hope everyone had a great Sunday Valentine’s Day too and that your Monday is off to a fabulous start!! 🙂 

26 Responses

  1. I wish we had a fro-yo place around here – there are none!

  2. TCL and I are Scrabble fiends. I am so in love with words, so it’s like Game Heaven for me.

    Fun fact: The Judge loves the biathlon. I saw it for the first time — it’s kind of nutsy!

    Thanks for starting my blogreading off with such a sunny, happy tone.

  3. Yum. Sushi and frozen yogurt is a great way to spend Valentine’s Day.

  4. Yay!! My husband and I LOVE to play scrabble! Mmm…that fro yo looks delicious!

  5. We had sushi for our Valentine’s dinner too 🙂

  6. Why can’t they have fro yo near me?! WHY??!!?!

  7. I was watching the biathlon too – completely didn’t understand what was going on!!

  8. We were stumped with the whole biathlon thing, too, but once we kinda got into it we were googling the rules and stuff 🙂 Love Fro-Yo! My fave is the plain tart.

  9. I tried to get into Biathlon…but it’s just not exciting. The Nordic combined, though, was a nail biter yesterday…

  10. That fro you looks like a great Valentine’s treat!! 🙂

  11. i hate scrabble. i lose EVERYTIME! Ian scored like 20 something points when he did a double word for OX, and he only used one letter, X?! His mom was so mad. it was pretty hilarious though.

    i wish we had a fro-yo spot here in town. looks good though.

    happy monday.

  12. I used to love me a good game of Scrabble! Even when i was little- of course most words were only three or four letters, but hey- I tried! 🙂

    I’m glad it looks like you had a good day!

  13. Ooooh I love scrabble, too – but I’m also terrible at it because I just want to get something down! I let the kids in my class play a lot because it really helps their spelling. 🙂 Or at least that is the excuse I give them for letting them play games in class.

    Enjoy your Monday!

  14. yess! I love scrabble! I havent played it in so long though. Its so fun even though Im terrible at it. ha! Im so glad you had an awesome valentines day! That grilled eel roll sounds delicious. Thats one of my favorite rolls. So good. I hope you have a fabulous day!

  15. Hmm Sushi.

    I am a big Ice Skating Fan. I figure skated in High school and LOVED it. So really enjoy watching the Olympics Figure Skating. 🙂

  16. I feel like a bad American, but I’m just not into the Olympics. But when it comes to games, my most favorite is Cranium. Maybe that’s because I’m a master at that.

    Yum to sushi! I haven’t had it in a while (mainly because I haven’t found a good quick carryout place around my new apartment yet) but I was craving it a week or so ago. I’m sure the craving will kick in again!

  17. Y’know I’ve never had Sushi!! What should I start with?! ;)…nice day you had ! I love the Figure Skating in Olympics – men’s & women’s – it’s not the same as what it used to be though ‘back in the day’ haha.
    Oh – board games! We always used to play Monopoly – haha – no real thinking there – but sounds like a great way to spend an evening with people you love…or like 🙂

  18. Figure Skating is my fav! That sushi looks great!

  19. Ha! Something about cross country skiing with a rifle on your back just doesn’t sound, um, smart.

    I am addicted to Scrabble on Facebook! Love it

  20. i’ve never heard of a biathlon, but i agree with the commenter above me, guns + cross country skiing sonds like a recipe for disaster! yum that froyo looks great, festive color too 🙂

  21. sounds like you had a good day! loved the card you made 🙂 i wonder if biathlon is supposed to be like hunting? maybe getting back to our primal routes 🙂

  22. Yummy Valentine eats chica!! I just LOVE the Olympic spirit that’s buzzin around right now! even though I’m a bigger fan of the summer Olympics I have been enjoying all the prime time coverage events! my fav so far has been the speed skating…cheering for Apollo made my night! I hope you’re having a great monday! xoxo!

  23. That sounds like a perfect Valentine’s day (or Saturday for that matter). I also love the Olympic theme. I think one of my favorite’s has to be ice skating. I remember Sarah Hughes’ performance 8 years ago and she just rocked!

  24. Ive never seen the biathalon – but no, it doesnt make sense.
    I like watching the figure skating, and the moguls.

  25. Stephen and I adore Scrabble! When he was in Afghanistan, we played each other online every night. When you play online, it gives you the value of each potential word, so I like it better!

    I agree…the biathlon is really strange.

Leave a Reply

