To Gym or Not To Gym?

Good morning people! Saturday! Saturday! Saturday! I just finished my workout (10 mile run at 8:20/pace) followed by 10 minutes on the stairmaster…gotta work that booty! haha! 🙂 Now I am showered, drinking coffee, and doing my Happy Saturday Dance! (this is a LONG video…but totally worth all 6 minutes…seriously I was CRACKING UP!!)

I was craving protein this morning (which rarely happens…haha) so I took full advantage. I had some srambled egg whites along with a protein brownie. (1 scoop chocolate whey protein, 1/2 tsp. dark chocolate cocoa powder, dash of baking powder, 3 tbsp liquid egg whites, splash of water…stir and microwave for about 1 minute 15 seconds) This is a varation from Julie’s protein brownie….she has great recipes!

On today’s agenda; I have an 11:00am meeting with Gold’s Gym. I used to have a membership there for many years but once I started working (as a nutrition manager) out of my gym, I quit my membership. I mean no need to pay for a gym membership when I get one for free, right? But here’s the deal. I LOVE Body Pump and Body Combat and I miss those classes! Especially Body Pump because it was a great way for me to get in weights twice a week. I am so bad about lifting weight…seriously bad! So I have an 11:00am meeting at the new Gold’s that just opened up by my house to discuss my membership options. (also of note: right now they are offering free enrollment!!) Keith thinks it is ridiculous to PAY for a gym membership just for classes. He doesn’t understand why I can’t just lift weights on my own at my own gym! To be fair, this is a valid point! I am so dedictaed with my running but when it comes to weights I just can’t seem to self-motivate. Ugh! I just like having a class to hold me accountable and I love Body Pump!

What do you guys think?

I also need to give 2 shout-outs to two very special people who are running the Austin 1/2 and full marathon tomorrow morning! Todd McCann is running for his PR in the half and Richard Keever is running for under 4 hours in the full! Goodluck guys! I have TOTAL faith! Woot! Woot!

17 Responses

  1. I love that video– it’s one of my favorites!

    Hmmm….I know what you mean– I do a LOT more weight lifting when I’m at the gym at a class like Body Pump. Tough call.

  2. If you can swing the payments… do the gym. I know how you feel about weights. Body Pump gives me a weight workout that I can’t give myself.

    It would be good if the gym membership was a month to month payment, rather than a year contract.

    Good luck!

  3. If you like the classes, I say go for it.

  4. I see why this would be a hard decision but I am with you – I love body pump and body combat! You have also mentioned trying yoga which Gold’s offers too. Body Flow is a combination of tai chi, pilates and yoga which I like. If I can catch that class once a week, it is a really awesome way to stretch out! Good luck!

  5. Kelly, if you get to know me, you’ll learn that I think BodyPump is the Second Coming in terms of weights. I couldn’t live without it. 😉 And I am sort of saying that tongue in cheek, but . . . don’t be ashamed to seek out those classes.

    Great workout. The StairMaster hates me. 😉

  6. I think having a class to have you accountable is a great thing if you really think you need it. But at the same time you seem so energized and excited about things that I feel like you could get way into strength training on your own, and I’d be hesitant about getting trapped by the gym.

  7. Funny, we have been having the same conversation in this house about going back to Gold’s. I miss Body Pump, too! I don’t do weights on my own. J doesn’t like Gold’s, though, since he thinks it’s meat-heady 🙂 Where is the new one? Cedar Park? I used that one right before we switched. It’s really nice. I also like the cardio theater. Watching a movie while running, or doing whatever cardio makes the time go by so fast.

  8. could you get somebody to teach that class at your gym? I am opposite to you, I hate running but I love the weights…..

  9. I’ve never done body pump, but it sounds pretty interesting (read about it on a lot of different blogs!). I know how you feel about weights, I used to be the same way. Then last year for a good eight months I was in LOVE with weights and the gym. A complete 180 for me. Now I’m back to loving running/cardio more.
    Weights are so boring! I find doing a circuit thing helps. That said is there a possible way to get a class punch card sort of deal? If you don’t want to just get the entire membership…

  10. I am SOOOO bad about lifting. Even though I know it will help my running. I’m hoping that when I get a coach for the 6months leading up to my ironman, that accountability will get me there…

    But, I may just trip Body Pump at my gym…

  11. Body Pump rocks! Great workout! It feels good to workout in a different environment sometimes.

  12. I do body pump twice a week and body combat once a week. I love the classes at Gold’s. It is truely motivating to go to a class. To have a specific time to be there for a certain amount of time. Ya know? Plus you meet new people and get an amazing workout.

  13. 🙂 Great video!

    Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

  14. As someone who gets a free gum membership at school, yet still has a separate gym membership, and a season pass for cross country skiing, I am probably not the one to ask. 😀 So, I say go for it. If you can swing it, and it is fun, I can think of a lot worse ways to spend your money!

  15. I think it’s a tough call with the gym. I do have a gym membership and I also have a plethora of DVDs to do at home. There’s something to be said for group classes though. I’ve only recently started doing my weights at the gym as opposed to home. So, like you, I was using the gym only for the classes. I think if you have the extra money, then do it.

  16. I totally understand belonging to a gym just for classes! I pay 19.99 a month for a gym membership in Charleston (where I don’t even live, but my bf does) so that I can go to Body Attack on the weekends that I visit! Les Mills rocks!

  17. That guy was at my college a few years ago and he was HILARIOUS! He even did the dance for us :). And I agree, motivating yourself to lift weights on your own is not easy!

Leave a Reply

