Wonderful Wednesday!

In an effort to embrace my least favorite day of the week I am going with Wicked Wonderful Wednesday today! πŸ™‚ I hope everyone’s day is starting off just right! I am good…had a great workout this morning. I ran 10 miles at a feel great pace…meaning I just went with it and didn’t time my individual miles…but it took me a total of: 1:27:28. I definitely could have pushed it more…guess there is always tomorrow!

Now I am headed for coffee, breakfast and the crossword puzzle! (my guilty pleasure everyday!) Then back to work for my 8:30 running group. Wonder what route I am going to choose for everyone today? Hum….oh the possibilities! haha!

Dinner last night was a revisit of one of Julie’s recipes! We love her Crockpot BeefΒ served along side organic mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli! Wowsers…it is lick the bowl good!

This was actually the leftover portion for the hubs lunch today...hence the plastic container!

So I just realized that Valentine’s Day is Sunday! Okay…where have I been? I guess you can see the importance I place on the holiday! haha! I am not a big Valentine’s Day lover or hater. In fact I am pretty apathetic about the entire holiday in general. I am not one of those “lovey-dovey” girls but I am also not a “I hate all lovers in the world” bitter girl either. Typically, Keith and I don’t do anything for Valentine’s Day. We always get each other cards (usually a funny and a serious one) and we make a cozy dinner at home and just chill. That is SO us and our personality though. I just would rather Keith surprise me with flowers on some random day than on a day when 90% of all womanΒ are getting flowers too.

How do you feel about Valentine’s Day?

40 Responses

  1. I like Valentine’s day, but only because it reminds me of how fun it was when I was a kid (passing out valentines, the classroom party, etc.). Nowadays, we don’t usually do much to celebrate it…but maybe we’ll do something fun this year? I guess if we haven’t planned it yet, we probably won’t!! πŸ™‚

  2. 10 miles already? You GO girl!! πŸ™‚

    I love Valentines Day. I am a hopeless romantic. πŸ™‚

  3. That’s amazing that you started off your day with 10 miles, I’m certainly not a runner (ironic because I’m a track athlete!)- But that’s impressive!!

    &I feel the same way about V-day, I think it’s fun but it’s a little played out haha

  4. Valentines Shmalentines….Mike gets me flowers during the year and they mean more.

    Oh you are slow you slacker! LOL! That’s a total joke. I would be on mile 5 when you’ve done 10. My hubs wishes I could run with him. He’s FAST. I told him about you πŸ™‚

  5. I love crossword puzzles!! We don’t care too much about Valentines day, i think of it as an excuse to go to a fun dinner πŸ™‚

  6. Valentine’s Day has never really been my thing, AND I have to work this year! I think the boy and I will just hang out and maybe make dinner.

  7. so are you a morning person?! or how did you start working out i the morning? I am incapable of getting out of bed before 7am, but I really want to be able to work out before work…

    • I am a HUGE morning person. My husband and I get up every morning (M-F) at 4:30 to come open up the gym at 5:00. So I work out every morning from about 5:15 to 7:00…then I usually shower, eat and start my day with clients around 8:30 every morning. I just prefer it that way. I like to get up and go. Even on Saturdays when I don’t have to be up…I still get up around 6:30 and go work out. Then Sundays are SLEEP IN LAZY DAYS!! I just got into the routine and now I don’t even think about it…it is just natural for me. And it also helps that my husband has to be up at the same time too!

  8. oh also, as a perpetually single girl, Valentines is never particularly special. But, the past 4 years, I did special things with my bff on valentines day…running races, doing a partners yoga class, etc. Unfortunately, she’s 800mi away from me now and we don’t get to hang out this year.

  9. We are off to Vegas Saturday afternoon for the Valentines/ Presidents Day/ school system excuse for yet another day off for the kids! I have already hinted to my husband ” he better make this a GOOD Valentines Day” as I have put up with his moodiness for the past 4 months during his job change negotiations. Not that I expect him to do anything, more or less just to see him squirm, yes, I am evil! I am at the point in my life and my marriage, if I want something, I just buy it for myself and tell my husband ” thanks for the gift”! He likes it better that way, and so do I. We live Valentine’s Day now thru our daughter’s eyes and her joy in getting her healthy candy and enjoying a grown up date with us! We will attempt to get out of our comfy workout clothes while in Vegas and get dressed up, find somewhere we can all enjoy to eat ( not sure if that is possible). Most likely race back to hotel and see who can get their PJ’s on the fastest! Not the most romantic, but we always have FUN!

  10. I don’t do Valentine’s Day. I prefer surprise attacks of love. I know that sounds kind of weird… but then again, I am kind of weird. πŸ™‚

    Great run this AM.

  11. I like valentines day, mostly because since joey and I are poor grad school students it gives us an excuse to actually spend money and go out to eat, which we like NEVER do. As for gifts we are often practical gift givers, I already got mine from him, a nice new coffee maker because mine broke. And I like that about us. We do sweet/cute cards though. I like valentines on a budget because then you have to be a little more creative in showing how much u care!

  12. That sounds like a great start for the day!
    I really love valentine’s day; however, I’m working at 3 this Valentine’s day because my work thinks it’s necessary to schedule basically all of their staff on holiday’s (when really that just means that we won’t get very many tables and individually, we won’t make very much)
    My boyfriend and I already decided to celebrate on a different day this year πŸ™‚ though I’m not sure what day that will be since between class and work, we don’t have any nights free to hang out together! lol.
    I’m with you on the whole, I’d rather get surprised on a different day. It’s so much more special when there isn’t a holiday behind it πŸ™‚

  13. That crockpot beef looks fab!! YUM.

    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  14. i’m glad you’re still enjoying the crockpot beef! πŸ™‚

    i love valentine’s day. i’m such a sucker. πŸ˜‰

  15. Oh Kelly – so envious of your runs…I thought a few months ago I was getting on track and now my mind and body is just….not there…at all…I’m exhausted after TRYING even 10 mins. my body is tight as hell and blah blah blah….I feel guilt for not doing it or just walking….that it’s all in my head – but I don’t know anymore….

    Love your lunch though! And Valentine’s? I’m single – would love it MORE if I wasn’t ;)…but I still buy a few boxes of chocolates and indulge myself a la Bridget Jones style….

  16. Eh, not a fan. I don’t know why, but I just feel like it’s overdone. Maybe I’m a Scrooge.

    Way to go with 10 miles!!

  17. oooh- your crockpot meal looks yummy! I really need to break mine out more often- sadly I’ve only used it once. I might as well just rename it as my “chili maker”. Because that’s all I’ve done with it…

  18. I’m such a sap. I love Valentines day, but only because everything is red (my favorite color) and pretty and full of the word love. Really..I love LOVE!

    BUT, I don’t “require” that my husband do anything special for me, especially because he HATES valentines day. He won’t even call it Valentines, he calls it Commercialization Day.

    He does do a great job of surprising me with flowers and “I love you presents” throughout the year.

  19. I feel pretty much like you do about Valentine’s Day. Jason and I don’t feel like we need to do anything special, but I’ve hinted (rather heavily) that I like flowers!

  20. Im not big on Valentines either. I dont hate it, but I dont see the big deal either. Id far rather just stay home and rent a movie or something, but my boyfriend is always a total girl about it. We’ve compromised this year and are just going to dinner.

  21. Congrats on your pace! Sometimes it’s so nice to just start running and go with what you body tells you to do instead of playing slave to the stopwatch.

    My husband and I are pretty much the same as you and your husband for Valentine’s Day. I don’t hate it, but we don’t really do much special.

  22. I am with you on V-day… I don’t need a national holiday to realize that I love my husband and he loves me… we usually cook together, enjoy the meal and some wine and relax πŸ™‚

  23. I like Valentines Day when I’m single and when I’m taken. With so much negativity in the world today I think it’s great to have a day all about LOVE πŸ™‚

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  24. I hope this Wednesday day is better to you than last week’s!

    I’m with you on Vday…flowers on a random day are much better than flowers on a day when you are made to believe you need them.
    Vday is just silly. It’s a rip off too…flowers go up in price, restaurants jack up their prices on their “pre fix” menus…love cannot be packaged and sold! If you love someone, tell them every day. I think for couples who want to celebrate their love, an anniversary is a far mopre special day to do so.

  25. Great pace!

    I love Valentine’s Day! It’s a day everyone can be super cheesy. It doesn’t even matter if your single. My best Valentine’s Day was when I went with two of my friends to a bar and drank martinis that guys kept buying us and we just laughed, told stories and danced the night away. At the end of the night, we shared a huge piece of cheesecake. I love those girls and wouldn’t have spent Valentines with anyone else that year. People who bitch about Valentines are just sticks in the mud who can’t get out and enjoy life.

  26. Did you run that 10 miles and then run AGAIN with your running group??? If so, you are superwoman. If not…you are still superwoman for busting out 10 miles before coffee. πŸ™‚

    I’m not a V-Day lover or hater either, however as a teacher – it is always a fun one to celebrate in the classroom. Lots of goodies. πŸ™‚

    • Haha…yes I run again with my running group. But we only run for about 45 minutes at about 10 minute mile pace so it isn’t too bad. It is my beginning running group! But thanks!!

  27. My husband and I never buy each other anything for holidays… We normally just go out to dinner. This year though, since he’s in Haiti, I sent him a box of goodies with candy and a card. And I’m going out with the girls on Saturday!

    Awesome job on your run… I don’t think I’ll ever be one of those 10 miler girls πŸ™‚

  28. I really dislike Valentine’s day, it’s so….corporate! T is running (as you know!) so we’ll just have a nice post-run breakfast and possibly a beer that night! WOOHOO

  29. We generally ignore all the Hallmark holidays. Valentine’s Day is usually a very low key day. Sweetest Day will never be acknowledged in our house.

  30. I love Valentine’s Day because I love any excuse to have a romantic night in with my husband!! πŸ™‚ And it’s fun being a 1st grade teacher and seeing the kids get excited to exchange valentines. πŸ™‚

  31. I feel the same way about V day though this year I feel the need to buy the bf something special because he’s been working so hard. I am OUT of ideas. Do you have any?
    Interesting that you hate Wednesday. Im more of a Monday and Thursday sort of girl.

    • Hum..what does you boy like? One year I got my husband a round of golf and he thought that was pretty cool! Actually a bunch of us girls did it together..so all of our boys could go play together. That was fun!

  32. I love V-day! I can’t wait to celebrate..in fact I want to celebrate all weekend with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

