I’m NUTS For You

Happy Thursday! So truth…Wednesdays are my LEAST favorite day of the week. I am not sure why…call it mid-week blues but I am always glad once Wednesday is over! Just get me past the halfway point and I am good to go…energy renewed! This morning I ran 10 miles @ 8:30/pace followed with a 10 minute cool down on the elliptical. Feeling good!!

Let’s back up to yesterday…thanks to everyone for tuning in for Work It Out Wednesdays with my husband, Keith. He was so excited to have his own regular “spot”…it was actually very cute watching him work! hehe! But give us some feedback…either via email or by commenting. We would love to see what you guys think to make it enjoyable and interesting for everyone!

Last night for dinner I was craving soup! I just recently bought some at Whole Foods that I was dying to try by a company called Dr. McDougall’s Right Foods. I bought a few varieties but I opted for the Vegetable soup! It is all natural, gluten-free, and vegan! And the verdict…10/10! THIS WAS THE BEST VEGETABLE SOUP I HAVE EVER HAD! (sorry that was in all caps but it was that, knock your socks off, good!) I added some fresh spinach into the pot and let it wilt down…it was fabulous and filling!!

the best soup EVAH!!!

Here are the ingredients: FILTERED WATER, VEGETABLES (TOMATOES, ONIONS, CARROTS, POTATOES, ZUCCHINI, CELERY, PEAS, GARLIC), LENTILS, ORGANIC BROWN RICE, NATURAL FLAVOR (NON ANIMAL SOURCE),POTATO STARCH, SPICES, YEAST EXTRACT, ORGANIC EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, SEA SALT, PARSLEY.

Aside from homemade soup, what is your favorite?

Okay let’s talk nuts! Yesterday while on the stairmaster I was reading this month’s Shape and I found an article on the healthiest nuts! Nuts are such a good food…they are rich in vitamin E, magnesium, protein, fiber and good healthy fats! Plus they taste great in a variety of ways! Seriously…you doesn’t like nuts? So here are the top 5 healthiest nuts:

Nut Splash

  • PISTACHIOS (1 oz = 49 nuts)
    • 158 Calories; 13g Fat; 3g Fiber
    • Pistachios are high in cholesterol lowering plant sterols and have more potassium than most nuts (291mg per ounce)
  • ALMONDS (1 oz = 23 nuts)
    • 163 Calories; 14g Fat; 4g Fiber
    • One ounce provides half your daily vitamin E – more than any other nut. It also supplies 8% of your daily calcium needs
  • HAZELNUTS (1 oz = 21 nuts)
    • 178 Calories; 17g Fat; 3g Fiber
    • These are rich in iron proanthocyanidins, antioxidants that strengthen blood vessels and prevent UTI’s
  • WALNUTS (1 oz = 14 halves)
    • 185 Calories; 18g Fat; 2g Fiber
    • Walnuts deliver the most omega-3 fatty acids and contain the antioxidant ellagic acid, which supports the immune system
  • BRAZIL NUTS (1 oz = 6 nuts)
    • 186 Calories; 19g Fat; 2g Fiber
    • A single Brazil nut provides your daily dose of selenium, an antioxidant that may play a role in preventing breast cancer

What is your favorite nut?

My favorite nut is actually just the plain old peanut! Mixed with some raisins…ah heaven! Oh wait…I really like cashews too!! Oh don’t make me pick! 🙂  

37 Responses

  1. Awesome job on the run! Thanks for sharing about the soup. It’s really always nice to hear reviews. My favorite nut is actually the Brazil. However, almonds are a close 2nd.

  2. I love almonds and pistachios (although I don’t like to peel them!). My two year old also loves pistachios and I have a hard time finding them already peeled so I rarely buy them…oh I’m so lazy.

    My favorite soups are the Pacific Natural Foods Butternut Squash or their Tomato and Red Pepper Soup. I bring them to work for lunch all the time just dump the whole box in a bowl, heat, and enjoy!

    Cashews are also delicious, but I think they are actually a seed…just watched a documentary on them not to long ago. They are harvested from a fruiting flower and the fruit is used to make juice.

  3. Favorite nut…pistachios with almonds as a very close second. I like almonds better in stuff and pistachios better on their own. My favorite soup is a new one I just found. It’s actually the Target brand (archer Farms) chicken tortilla soup and I add a little more chicken, avacado, and some greek yogurt on top. Awesome!

  4. Favorite nut? That’s a hard one!! Maybe almonds with cashews as a close second. But I’m also wild about walnuts and hazlenuts. And peanuts.

    Okay, I like all nuts!

  5. My favorite nuts are pistachios – in the shell, lightly salted. I just love cracking them open and would eat those at a baseball game any day over sunflower seeds!

  6. awesome run! I love how you say I ran 10 miles this morning like it was no big thang! 🙂

    Id say my fav nuts are cashews and almonds!

  7. Oh this makes me happy! And not feel so bad about how crazy I get about almonds and almond butter…

  8. My favorite nut is the peanut too! I feel like it isn’t too popular haha

  9. Problem walnuts and pecans…peanuts aren’t my favorite unless they’re mashed into butter form:)

  10. Salted Cashews!!! I LOVE THEM!

  11. haha don’t make me pick a fave either! ihaven’t had pistachios in so long, but i love them…next trip to the store i’ll be stocking up! that soup sounds fabulous, it can be hard to find the perfect veggie soup!

  12. Favorite soup- Amy’s chunky tomato or pretty much all of the soups I’ve tried on Whole Food’s hot bar.
    Favorite nut- cashews for crunching, peanuts for buttering!

  13. Love just any nut except Brazil nuts! I don’t like eating peanuts, but I like peanut butter. Love pistachios!

  14. I love cashews and almonds 🙂
    I always get run down by the middle of the week too. I make sure to get to bed early so I can make it through to the weekend!!

  15. i love cashews (seeds or not 🙂 ) & pistachios! so good.

  16. I keep hearing all sorts of raves about this soup. I think I need to try it.

    I’m not a huge nut person. I like almonds and cashews but I can easily live without them. I prefer things like brownies to not have nuts in them. I think this is something that I inherited from my mother.

  17. ohh man this is HARD! i ❤ cashews but i eat almonds more!

  18. Im a BIG fan of Amy’s Chunky Tomato Bisque. Its SO good!!

    As for nuts, I love almonds and pistachios. But if Im having them as a treat Im a big fan of mixing pecans with bits of goats milk cheddar. SO GOOD!

  19. I love all nuts! Hazlenuts are probably my favorite which is why I don’t buy them.

    • I can honestly say I have never had a hazelnut…I should branch out. I think my least favorite nut is the walnut…they have a funny/weid aftertaste to me! Eck! Even when baking I also substitute pecans for walnuts! But thanks April…I am going to have to try hazelnuts next! 🙂

  20. I love pecans and cashews!
    I also love hazelnuts, but I am allergic to them. I found that out the hardway! I actually think i have a mild nut allergy–as i also react to walnuts and almonds when eaten plain.

    and not that it matters…but peanuts are legume. 🙂 They are by far my favorite legume!

  21. I think I love all nuts. Seriously, I could eat a whole canister (I have in 2 days – haha). But I guess the brazil nut is my fav, of course the one where you can only eat SIX for one serving. I do love a classic dry roasted unsalted peanut though…sooo good! Oh and I can’t forget about my cocoa roasted almonds. Those are truly delicious.

  22. It’s a three-way tie: almonds, cashews, and pistachios. Peanuts, to me, belong as a spread.

  23. Intresting I have never seen that brand of soup.. but then I am a Central Market gal so they may not carry it.

    I am NUTS about NUTs… I love All of them… I eat Almonds a lot.. or walnuts and pecans with dates.. cashews with apricot … its hard to say..

  24. Oh goodness, I love all kinds of nuts and legumes! However, I think my favorite is the hazlenut. 🙂

  25. WOW! I’m amazed at you – 10 miles on a Wednesday?!!! You are a rockstar!! 🙂

    I love nuts!! My favorite is probably pecans!!

  26. love seeing all those healthy facts about nuts – im pretty sure i eat them everyday!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  27. Hi Kelly, I noticed we comment on a lot of the same blogs and finally checked yours out today. I’ve been missing out man! I love your blog. You have a lot of useful info, are VERY relatable, and a great writer! I’ve been reading old posts for a half hour! haha! I hope it’s okay that I added you to my blogroll.

    My fave nuts are cashews. I can’t stop eating them once I start, but that’s okay 🙂

  28. sorry to hear that you get the midday blues :[ thats never fun.

    hmm i would have to say I am torn between cashews and brazil nuts. Love ’em both!

  29. I actually don’t like nuts, but I love nut butter. I think it is a texture thing. So, I’ll pretend you asked my favorite nut butter, which is sunflower seed butter. it is like heaven.

  30. I am really delighted to glance at this web site posts which contains plenty of
    useful facts, thanks for providing such information.

Leave a Reply

