WORK IT OUT WEDNESDAYS!

Hey everyone…it’s Keith (Kelly’s husband) and as she mentioned earlier I will be taking over every Wednesday afternoon for “Work It Out Wednesdays!” So let’s get started:

The boring (but important) stuff first: I need to start out by saying that you should always consult with your doctor before starting any workout program or regime. Also, I do plan on having video demonstration posts in the future, but if in the meantime you need help with an exercise don’t be afraid to ask a trainer at your gym for clarification. Or shoot me and email (Kelly0412@hotmail.com) and I will assist you in any way that I can. This is super important to ensure proper form and to avoid injury! Safety is always the first and foremost concern because let’s face it an active lifestyle is a whole lot easier injury-free!

Okay…onto the exciting information! I don’t know exactly where this audience is in terms of workout knowledge and/or experience. I would suspect that some of you are true beginners and other are experts. And then the whole gamut in-between. So in an effort to just start from the top, we are going to take it from the beginning and over the course of the weeks work our way up to some really exciting (Kelly says “sick”) exercises!

For Aerobic power and cardiovascular endurance  it would be ideal to get in at least 3 days a week of 30-60 minutes of work with your maximum heart rate hitting somewhere between 60-85% (depending on your fitness level) To find your maximum heart rate (at the most generic and basic level) simply take 220 minus your age. Then you can figure out what the ranges of 60 to 85% would be based on your specific needs. When doing cardiovascular activities we really want to focus on large muscle movement to engage the most power. Ideal exercises would be running, walking, elliptical, stair climbers, bike, aerobics classes or any combination of your choosing.

For strength training it would be ideal to get in at least 2 days of weights with at least a day of rest in-between. This allows your muscles to heal and recharge after being worked. When you build muscle you are actually causing little micro tears (that are harmless, but tiny tears nonetheless) and you need a day to let the muscles refuel and recharge. But don’t just sit around or else lactic acid will fill those muscle cracks and really make you sore. Definitely plan a cardio day in-between to keep the muscles loose and to work that lactic acid out. A basic weight starting point would be somewhere between 8 and 10 repetitions per exercise and somewhere between 1 and 3 sets (again depending on your own fitness level and comfort)

Are you ready for a sample workout? Let’s go! Depending on your workout and fitness level, gender and age please make the appropriate weight selections. If you need specific guidance please email me and I will gladly help you. I have this workout program designed to be high repetition and lighter weight…so keep that in mind.

  • Warm Up: at least 10 minutes followed by active stretching (holding the stretch only for 1 to 2 seconds to continue loosening the muscles
  • Flat Bench Dumbbell (DB) Chest Press (20-25 reps)
  • Lat Pull Down (20-25 reps)
  • Leg Press or Standing DB Squats (20-25 reps)
  • Overhead DB Press (20-25 reps)
  • Biceps DB Curls (20-25 reps)
  • Triceps Rope Extensions (20-25)
  • 2 sets of 25 Crunches
  • 2 minute interval on cardio equipment of your choice (bike, treadmill, elliptical) keeping the heart rate up
  • REPEAT ENTIRE PROGRAM 1-3 TIMES DEPENDING ON YOUR FITNESS LEVEL
  • Cool down: let the heart rate come down and  then engage in static stretching (holding the stretch for 15-20 seconds)

My Week 1 Challenge:

 If you haven’t been working out at all, then I challenge you to get at least 2 active days in this week. If you a regular exerciser then push yourself to do an exercise that you typically skip. (i.e. weight lifting, cardio, track work, etc.) Keep me posted with your progress and I will see everyone next week!

19 Responses

  1. Love it! Keep it up, I look forward to next Wednesday. Very informational, and I’m not a beginner by any means. Always good to be refreshed, and see something new.
    Thanks, Julie from TX

  2. I love workout Wednesdays! I learn something new every time 🙂

  3. Great post, I love a good challenge 😉

  4. Thanks for all of this great info!! I knew some of it, but it definitely doesn’t hurt to have some reminders… like to be sure to do cardio in between strength days – I need to remember that more when planning out my workouts.

  5. LOVE this idea!! you must be one special gal because you have an awesome hubby! I have to challenge myself to do a strength workout!!! I could do cardio everyday of the week…but lifting weights is another story!! I hope you’re having a great day chica!….you didn’t share with us the *thing you’re challenging yourself to!?
    xoxo!

    • Oh I am TERRIBLE at lifting weights too! I am a cardio junkie for sure!!! Keith challenges me to lift twice a week! It is hard for me but I do it…some weeks are better than others! haha!

  6. i’ve been telling myself that I’m going to start lifting weights. And I still don’t ever start…

  7. Keith – you are obviously just as cool as Kelly 🙂 Love this idea – fantastic – and your advice is smart and realistic – love it (coming from a Physio I’d send my clients your way 😉 …now….as for those weights…yeah…should reallllly start doing those maybe…:(

  8. Sounds like a great workout, I did one today but I’ll be ready Wednesday!

  9. What a great idea!!! Not that I don’t love you Kelly but I’ll definitely be looking forward to Wednesday! 🙂

  10. Cool, thanks for this. I am trying to get my fiance into strength workouts as opposed to just cardio. I think I’ll show him this.

  11. Interesting about the lactic acid filling your muscles…this actually makes sense. I did a hardcore workout last week and waited two days to workout again, and I was still CRAZY sore. I suppose I would have been better off doing some kind of cardio. What’s the best thing to do when you’re really aching all over, especially your legs?

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  12. This was a great post! Im super excited for your posts every wednesday now.
    I need to work on strength training. I dont really do any and I should.

  13. Love this post. It will come in handy when I start trying to lose this baby weight! I am a true believer in strength training as I too was a running addict until I injured my knee right after my son was born.

    I started running everyday and was so pleased to watch the weight just falling off. Then one day mid stride BAM felt like someone just took a sledge hammer to the side of my knee. The injury was nothing damaging, doc referred to it as runner’s knee, and a few weeks of physical therapy took care of it. But the doctor put me in place with a very honest reality check when I told him I was running 5-6 days a week. He said, “Twenty-seven and post baby is a world of difference between running every day when you are twenty.” He told me to strengthen up my girly knees and I would be fine.

    Once I started forcing myself to strength train a few days a week I was even more pleased with not just the physical results but also the improvement in my running!

  14. Great post Keith! Looks like a great workout – thanks for sharing your expertise!

  15. Great stuff! I always love seeing sample workouts from a real pro!

Leave a Reply

