Technology Overload!

Good morning everyone! Happy Monday! Sorry I went MIA yesterday but I needed a break. I slept until 10:00!! Seriously, I do not remember the last time I slept past 7:00 so when I rolled over and saw the clock say 10:00 I was completely SHOCKED!! I guess my body really needed the rest! Then to make it even more unbelievable I layed down at 12:00 to work on the Sunday crossword and was OUT again! I woke up at 3:00! Seriously guys all I did was sleep! Then to top that off I decided to not even turn on my computer OR my cell phone ALL DAY LONG! It was amazing! Sometimes I feel like we get so wrapped up in technology that we forget how to exist without it! I have a blackberry and so I am connected to my email, phone, text message, and blackberry IM all the time. It is almost like you feel married to the next “ding” you will hear. Going without for an entire day actually felt very freeing!!

Do you sometimes feel married to technology?

I even did an easy dinner…crockpot chicken! I threw about a pound and half of frozen chicken thighs in a crockpot with a jar of salsa. The meat shreds perfectly and is easy to do whatever you want with it. Keith made tacos and I served mine simply over a little brown rice…perfect! And in sticking with my no technology rule I didn’t snap a picture of it.

We spent the rest of the night watching the pro-bowl. Neither of us really had a bone in that fight so we just enjoyed watching the best of the best fight it out. Hey…it’s football…you knew we’d be watching! 🙂

Monday has started off stong, from my uber restful day yesterday! At first, I  was a little embarrassed by how lazy I was but Keith made me realize that obviously my body needed it and I shouldn’t beat myself up! I tend to burn the candle at both ends and sometimes I guess the body just says STOP!!!

When was the last time you allowed your body to make the rules?

And don’t forget, today is the last day for the Perfect Foods Bar Give-a-Way! Be sure to enter!! Winner will be announced tomorrow!

31 Responses

  1. I TOTALLY understand what you mean about feeling free after taking a break from technology. I haven’t read Perez Hilton in over a month and I feel very FREE 😉 So much that I don’t know if I will ever read that site again. Bloggers especially need to take breaks every now and then to stay sane…no matter how much you love your blog! Your dinner was so easy, but totally something I would enjoy…I need to use my crock pot more often!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  2. Ugh, totally know what you mean about married to technology. My job entails working on web content even!

  3. That sounds like such a great, relaxing day! I love being able to sleep in, but sometimes my body won’t let me!! And you are definitely right, your body needed it!- I always feel so lazy and start getting anxious (like I should be doing something!) when I have days like that,but everyone has to have them every once in a while…I’d also like to try no technology for a day, but I doubt its possible!

  4. Yeah, if you got that much sleep, your body definitely needed it!!! Now you can start the week fresh and renewed with energy!

  5. Sometimes I secretly love when I leave my cell phone at home!

    Changing jobs has been rough on my because of the time at a computer. Obviously, as a trainer we are NEVER in front of a computer all day! Now I am and it is a love/hate relationship. I try to stay off of it at home as much as I can.

  6. The one downside to my iPhone is that I am connected ALL the time!

  7. Funny, I had the same weekend! I didn’t go on the computer, text, or talk on the phone. (I did watch a movie, so there goes the whole no technology thing.) I spent the entire weekend reading a book, and it was so nice just to relax.

  8. For the longest time, I didn’t have the internet on my phone because I didn’t want to be so attached to it like most people I know. When we upgraded our plan and phones, we kinda HAD to get internet. I’m happy to say that I’m still not attached to my phone at the hip. Sometimes, I don’t even bring it out and I just don’t care. I know some people would “die” if they didn’t have their phone. My theory is like this: if I’m going to see a movie (or some other event) and I’m already doing something, why would I need my phone? It’s not like I’m going to be talking to someone when I’m already out.

  9. I went to bed at 9 on Friday so I know what you mean about needing some sleep! Glad you got a good day of rest 🙂

  10. That’s what I loved about the cruise: people didn’t have access to me 24/7 — except my better half! 🙂

  11. I know what you mean about being married to technology!

    It’s peaceful to not open to the computer or my cell phone!

  12. Ahh, I miss the days of sleeping in. With an energized two year old, getting to sleep until 6:30 sometimes feels like sleeping in.

  13. I do feel married to technology but it’s like if I unplug for a day, I feel like I have so much to catch up on that it’s not worth it!

  14. Thats awesome!! I am so impressed. You guys are super busy so I’m sure you both needed a little bit of R&R.

  15. it’s great that you listened to your body and took a rest day yesterday, we all need those! oh man, i am so dependent on technology it’s kinda scary! maybe i’ll find a balance someday 🙂

  16. I love days without techonology! Although, I got a new macbook so Im sure once it comes in I’ll be attached to it.

    PS–I love throwing chicken in the crockpot with salsa—so yum and easy!

  17. I haven’t slept past 7 in forever! There are definitely days when I wish I could sleep till 10 🙂

  18. I love to totally disconnect from the world sometimes – life is so much more relaxing!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  19. Must have been a sleepy blogger weekend! I slept for 12 HOURS on Friday night, 10 hours on Saturday night and then took a 3 hour nap on Sunday. What the HECK?? I usually get like 6-7 hours/night and I am fine! I was also shocked, but today I feel very refreshed and sharp…I guess I just needed to catch up!

  20. Oh, and that chicken/salsa crockpot idea…stealing it this week for SURE.

  21. Relax and enjoy it! You need those daysssss ;)…crockpot – I must get one!

  22. AMEN girl..so good you listened to your body!! sometimes you need that! i need to do it more often.
    sometimes i need a BREAK from technology!!

  23. glad you got the rest you needed 🙂 sometimes sleeping in feels amazing!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  24. Good to hear you got a good rest day.

    I try to think back to the days when we didn’t have a computer and internet at the tip of our fingers. Same thing with cell phones.

  25. Good for you taking the day off from technology!! I am so addicted!! I really need to take a vacation from it like you did. Maybe this weekend…

  26. ya ya ya to the awesome sleep in! I bet your body is very happy with you! technology is everywhere…there’s no escaping it! even when I’m out for a run I’ve gotta have my ipod cranked up bumpin’ the beats! I hope you have a great monday! xoxo!

  27. oooh on saturday- I knew we were closed at work and I had the next two days to study- I ended up sleeping for 12+ hours- from 11 pm until 11:30 sat. am! It felt awesome- but I had been in an accident and i couldn’t seem to shake this cold so I knew that I needed it!

  28. Good for you, you have more willpower than some of my friends with their blackberries, iphones, etc.

    I have dayss where I love not being able to be reached and will either keep my phone on silent or leave it at home for the day, it’s sad how liberating it is!

  29. there was a really interesting segement on npr today about a documentary called “the digital nation” that is supposed to be on pbs tomorrow across the country. about our addiction to technology and how it’s happened so fast! interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

