Good Foodie Blogger

I have redeemed myself!! Happy Saturday everyone! So far this morning has been great, but more on that in a minute. First, let’s go back to last night! In an effort to make up for my dinner in a box Thursday night, I went all out and made my awesome Puff Pastry Salmon. Basically it is a salmon fillet rubbed with pesto and topped with fresh spinach…all rolled up in a puff pastry crust and baked to yummy goodness. The hubs was quite happy! (Always a plus!!)

PUFF PASTRY SALMON 

2 (4 oz) boneless skinless salmon fillets 

1/8 tsp. garlic powder 

1/4 tsp. onion powder 

1/3 package puff pastry, thawed 

2 tbsp pesto 

1/2 (6 oz) package fresh spinach 

Preheat oven to 375* F. Season salmon fillets with salt, garlic powder and onion powder. 

Divide 1/2 the spinach between 2 sheets of puff pastry and mound in the center. Place salmon on top of spinach. Spread pesto over salmon and top with remaining spinach. Moisten the edges of puff pastry with water (or you can use an egg wash); fold to center and seal the seams. 

Bake for 20-25 minutes until pastry is puffed and golden. 

Serves: 2 (You can make 2 individual packets or one big packet and then cut it in half) 

574.4 Calories; 34.2g Fat (7.5g saturated fat); 85.5mg Cholesterol; 432mg Sodium; 28.9g Carbohydrate; 4.4g Fiber; 2.1g Sugar; 38.1g Protein 

Ready To Wrap

 

Ready for the Oven

 

Golden Brown Delicious!

 

EAT NOW!

 

Did I redeem myself?  

So now this morning I am enjoying my coffee, post workout. Speaking of, it was great! I had been uber sore this week from my race last weekend and today I was finally starting to feel like my old self again!! I ran 10 miles at 8:30 pace and it felt great! My quads are still a little sore but I have a date with my foam roller in a few minutes…so that should help! I hope everyone has a fun Saturday!  

Do you have plans?  

I have to run a diet analysis on 4 nutrition clients and design some meal plans! But at least I can do my work curled up on the couch in my boxers, right?! haha! Then tonight me and hubs have a date! Woot woot! 

Oh and keep on entering the give-a-way for the Perfect Foods Bars! YUM! YUM!  

29 Responses

  1. Wow how good does that look!! I love pesto. You are redeemed 🙂

  2. This looks delicious! I love the pesto w/salmon idea!!

  3. That’s very pretty. 🙂 Planwise, we are supposed to be going to some “midwinter beach party” hosted by people older than my parents tonight. Dubious!

  4. That looks SO good. I’ve seen a couple puff pastry recipes I want to try lately… 🙂

  5. We had something very similar as an entree at our wedding reception. Andrew got to pick out his meat to be carved at a carving station and I picked out the salmon in a pastry. I think it was called Salmon Wellington. I looooooved it so much and still talk about it… mmmmmmmm!! I would love to make this, but will need to find out a way to make it gluten free. I’ll find a way… perhaps for Valentine’s Day?!!!!!! 🙂

  6. That looks really good! I have to say, I love puff pastry 🙂 Weekend plans? today’s my day off (running/workout) so I’m going bathing suit shopping!!! For which I’m way to excited… Anyways have fun on your hubby-date tonight!

  7. that looks awesome!!! sounds yummy, too… i’ll be working this weekend so i hope yours is better than mine 😉

    ps- it wasn’t your white chili 😉 it was a random recipe i had, maybe from taste of home?

  8. That looks like a delicious meal! You definitely redeemed yourself 🙂

  9. Wow– that’s beautiful!!! Puff pastry dishes always look so impressive and elegant!

  10. Oh wow that looks good! I’ll trade my pancakes for a bite of that deliciousness… 🙂

  11. Holy yummmmm!

  12. Gosh dang, that salmon pocket looks unbelievable!! I want it!

  13. You have more than redeemed yourself! How long did that whole process take?

    • Not long at all!! The puff pastry has to thaw (for like 45 minutes) on the counter. Then I just layed everything inside the puff, wrapped it up and baked. Maybe…like 10 minutes to assemble and then about 25 minutes to cook…very labor easy!!! Try it!

  14. That looks so fancy!!
    You have definitely redeemed yourself.

  15. You and your hubby are too cute. Uh…can I come for dinner? I ate so much canned soup tonight and carrot cake…can you say Holy Sodium…:(…honestly, I’m too tired to give a care right now…take care girl .

  16. Kelly, that looks so pro! Like something ordered from a restaurant. Good job! Don’t be surprised if you see me making this sometime next week 🙂 I want to be pro like you.

  17. Looks like my hubs will be in for a treat later this week! We do dinner round here “poor college student style” every once in awhile, nothing wrong with that . Meaning, we do air popped popcorn, microwave dinners, you get the point. Sometimes, you just need one of those days!!!

  18. I should hire you to do a diet analysis on me! What exactly does that mean? Anyway, that puff looks serious and you absolutely redeemed yourself—even though no redemption was needed. Have a great Sunday Kelly.

    • Hey girl…a diet analysis is basically what it sounds like. I analyze your diet. Basically my client do a detailed food journal for three days (2 week days and 1 weekend day) and then based on their current weight, body fat %, age, and height I run an analysis. It shows what your diet looks like in terms of calories, carbohydrates, protein and lipids (fats) but it also shows you all the vitamins, minerals, and macro nutrients you are taking in (or lacking). Then based on your goals of weight loss, gain or maintenance I design meal plans.

      Kelly Bruneman Nutrition Manager 512.740.8241 Kelly0412@hotmail.com http://www.myhealthypassion.wordpress.com

  19. Hey girl-great job on the run!

    Have you seen the two giveaways I have up? A nathans hydration belt and running skirts. 🙂

    Hope youre enjoying your weekend!

  20. Thanks for your kind words 🙂

    The puff pastry salmon looks amazing!! Anything with puff is a-ok in my book but thanks for the tip, it’s always nice to try something different with basic ingredients!

  21. This looks AWESOME 🙂

  22. Salmon is one of my all time favorite foods! That looks really yummy!!
    &That sounds like a great run! Good job!! 🙂

    ps- what was your bachelors degree for in college? Your job seems so interesting! I’ve been researching a lot of nutrition related jobs (hopefully not involving too much sciences) and I’d be curious what kind of schooling you had to go through?
    Thanks!
    Michelle

  23. Never thought to use puff pastry that way—good idea! Looks yummy AND healthy, plus everything is better with a little pesto 🙂

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  24. Your Salmon looks really good. I should make that for my husband.

  25. that looks sooo good! must try soon!

  26. Wow, I am definitely going to try those this week. I thnk my husband will love iit!

Leave a Reply

