And The Winner Is…

Happy Thursday! First, I need to start off by saying THANK YOU for all the support everyone gave me yesterday regarding my “I Don’t Need No Baby Drama” post! You guys are awesome!

Second, I want to say THANK YOU to everyone who played Trivia Wednesdays for the month of January. It was fun! Yesterday’s question was: What fast food restaurant is credited with introducing the first modern-day drive-thru window? The answer was WENDY’S! Wendy’s crafted the formula for drive-thru operations that made it a staple in the fast food industry, convenient for soccer moms and frantic road trippers.

So, I guess I should announce the winner?! Everyone who played every Wednesday and got the correct answer had their names entered in a drawing. I actually wrote all the names down on little pieces of paper (and you got your name written multiple times based on how many times you played and guessed correctly) and then I had Keith randomly pick one name out of a bowl. (Sorry if that was elementary but that was the most fair way I could think to do it) Okay without further ado..the WINNER IS:

EMILY @ Homecookedem’s Blog

Congratulations girl! Shoot me an email with you information and I will send out your care package ASAP!

So let’s back up to last night. Keith and his friend, Zach, had tickets to the UT/Texas Tech basketball game, which left me on my own. So usually when I am on my own for dinner I do one of two things: breakfast or vegetarian. (Keith isn’t a fan of breakfast for dinner and he thinks if a meal doesn’t have meat then it isn’t a meal) So I went for a combination and did a veggie breakfast!! 

First, I made an egg-white asparagus frittata with sautéed mushrooms and onions! It was so good!!

Plus I had a piece of cinnamon toast on my gluten-free Udi bread!

It was the perfect dinner that Keith would have turned his nose up at! 🙂

What’s your favorite thing to make for dinner when you are on your own?

22 Responses

  1. I love breakfast for dinner when I’m on my own too! It is so comforting. 🙂

  2. That is so funny, my boyfriend is the same way! Definitely something green and something breakfast related 🙂

  3. oh my gosh– I LOVE breakfast for dinner 🙂

  4. Hey! Thanks for your comment! I’ve enjoyed looking around your blog this morning. That frittata looks delicious!

  5. eggs are a great meal for one 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. How is that Udi bread? My friend has celiac and I’m always looking out for good products to suggest to her!

    • Cait…the Udi bread is AWESOME! It is the best gluten-free bread on the market in my opinion. It totally does not taste like gluten-free. Even my friends who don’t have to eat gluten-free buy it because it is SO good!!!

  7. My husband will eat meals with out meat, but only like once before he starts lamenting about how he NEEDS SOME MEAT! silly men.

    I like making things that include my favorites that my hub wont eat: mushrooms, tomatoes, olives, avacados.

  8. Dinner sounds wonderful!

    When I’m doing dinner alone, I usually order sushi (bad for my wallet) or make some kind of wrap or have oatmeal. Nothing labor intensive, that’s for sure!

  9. Ha ha…my husband says the same thing. A meal needs meat. And bread–even if it’s a carb-heavy dish. When I’m all alone, I like to eat cereal. Sometimes it’s what hits the spot!

  10. I’m always on my own, so this is a bad question for me, but I’d say tofu because if I am at home then I’m the only one who really really likes soy

  11. that looks great!! im always on my own-so i make whatever i want..when i get married its gona be a hard adjustment!! ahh!

  12. YAY!! I can’t believe I won!! Thank you so much, Kelly!! This makes my day!! 🙂 I’ll email you in a sec! 😉

    My favorite thing for dinner when I’m on my own is definitely breakfast. Most of the time I wind up making pancakes since I can’t get away with delicious gluten meals as easily when Andrew’s nose is around! 😉

    Hope you’re having a great day!! 🙂

  13. Mmm I love breakfast for dinner! It’s an easy go-to.

    When the husband is away, the meals are usually vegetarian for me too. Sometimes cereal. 🙂

  14. Congrats to Emily!
    And thank you for your comment on my blog…I don’t know how much I’ll be writing – sporadically I suspect – but hopefully I’ll still be around …I’m always on my own …and it’s not as healthy as yours! I wish! Crapola usually….veggies and beans and chicken or , like last night, cheesy lasagna with bread and dessert…followed by M&M’s…i won’t get into it 😦

    Wish I could just do the “eat a bowl of cereal” and go to bed thing…but I’m always with my butt out the fridge door…

  15. delicious eats!! breakfast for dinner 🙂
    congrats to emily!!

    xoxo
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  16. Hi! I just found your blog, and I love the recipes I’ve seen so far! I love love enchilada casseroles, and those black bean burgers look awesome. I also am an avid exerciser and just started to eat gluten free. I”ll definitely have to try the Udi’s bread! I just started to invent and post recipes for my own gluten free cookies. Do you like the Pamela’s blend better than Bob’s Red Mill? That’s the only one I’ve tried so far. Its pretty gritty, but a little guar gum added seems to help.

    • Hi Katie! Thanks for coming to my blog! I personally like Pamela’s baking blend better than Bob Red Mill. But when I need straight up flour I use Bob Red Mill’s all purpose gluten-free flour. I also like Bob Red Mill’s GF oats! We also like the Namaste brand for brownies! They are out of this world!!! 🙂

  17. I usually do some sort of mixed veggie, bean, salsa combo. I really like those things together.

  18. Your frittata looks yummy! And the pic of the cinnamon toast is calling my name! Might have to make some of that for dessert! I love breakfast for dinner but we don’t do it too much. My husband likes meat for dinner, too. If he’s away, the kids and I will just do something easy – pasta or something leftover. I can’t always convince them of the merits of breakfast for dinner!

  19. […] when I WON Kelly’s gluten free giveaway last week, I was beyond excited because I knew Andrew and I both could enjoy all of the goodies!! […]

Leave a Reply

