I’m going Greek on your arse…

Good morning everyone! So I have to confess that dinner last night rocked it!! We had BBQ chicken. Which was basically just chicken covered in BBQ sauce and baked in the oven at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Yum! Served up with a side of red potatoes and broccoli. Dinner heaven! But what I want to share is my easy, never fails to please, potato recipe! 

EASIEST RED POTATOES EVER 

  • 12-16 small red potatoes
  • 2-4 tsp of butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried chives

Thoroughly wash red potatoes. Then place in a pot with enough water to cover the potatoes by about 2 inches. 

Cook the red potatoes over medium high heat until they are easily pierced by a fork but still are a bit firm, about 20 minutes. Once the potatoes are done drain immediately, set aside and cover them to keep warm. 

Microwave the butter until melted (about 5 to 10 seconds). Then stir in the dried parsley and the dried chives into the melted butter and then pour the butter mixture over the warm potatoes tossing to coat the potatoes. 

Serves: 4 

65.6 Calories; 2.9g Fat (1.8g saturated fat); 7.6mg Cholesterol; 24.8mg Sodium; 9.1g Carbohydrates; 0.9g Fiber; 0.5g Sugar; 1.1g Protein 

Yum Yum

Try these out…very tasty and easy to make! Now that is a win-win in my cooking book! 

How many people wear a heart rate monitor when they work out?  

I do and I LOVE it. I sport a Polar F6 and it is the best watch I have found. I totally rely on it to check my heart rate levels during my workout especially when trying to stay in certain zones. After you workout, it also tells you how many calories you burned, your average and maximum heart rate (and what percentage of your max heart rate you were working). Plus the watch talks with  my computer and I can upload all my stats each week to compare progress and chart my workouts. It is a pretty cool gadget…considering I don’t consider myself a gadget girl! I sell this out of my Opensky store…if anyone is interested! 

Polar F6

 

Okay, let’s go Greek! At the risk of being exiled from the blogging community I need to say that my favorite Greek Yogurt is the plain Fage 0%! I LOVE IT! I know, I know everyone else is on the Chobani bandwagon but I am a Fage girl all the way! I love the plain flavor and then adding in my own mix-ins! So yum! 

Fage Goodness

 

 Are you a Greek yogurt fan?  

I also need to tell everyone THANK YOU for all the sweet comments on my legs yesterday! What is funny is that honestly my legs have historically been my least favorite part of my body. I guess I have always just thought they were a little too big for my small body due to all the running I do. But yesterday made me realize that I need to EMBRACE my legs and be thankful that they are so strong and allow me to run like I do! Thanks for giving me some perspective! 

What is your FAVORITE part about your body?

31 Responses

  1. I love the Fage, too! I usually buy the Trader Joe’s 0% but Fage tastes a little better to me. My legs are my favorite part of my body – I’ve learned to be grateful for their strength!

  2. I am a total Greek yogurt fan. I like to just get the plain as well and mix in blueberries and cinnamon. Yum. Sometimes I’ll also add almonds for crunch.

    I do wear my HR monitor for every workout. Sort of addicted to it. Not sure if I could workout without it.

  3. I also only eat Fage – I can’t find Chobani around here, but have tried it. It’s not as good as Fage in my opinion!!

  4. I agree! Fage 0% is my favorite. It is so creamy and I like the plain stuff better than the fruity kinds. In a few hours, I’ll snack on some Fage I brought with me to work and post about it 😉

  5. Lol. I don’t think anyone could exile you for liking Fage. I love it! But it’s over 2 dollars here. I go for the best bargain, which is either Chobani or Trader Joes

  6. I was always a fage girl, but I did buy Chobani at Sprouts because it was on sale. I liked it and it’s cheaper even when not on sale. Not sure it’s quite as creamy as fage, but it was a bit higher in protein, so I’ll go with either.

  7. I eat Fage 0% too. So I’ll be exiled with you. I love it with honey, ground flaxseeds, and slivered almonds. When they’re in season (aka cheap) I’ll add berries, too.

    My favorite part of my body is my arms. But that might just be because they’re fully functioning and not injured–more than I can say for my legs.

  8. Mmmm…I love herbed potatoes!

    I don’t wear a heart rate monitor when I work out now, but I did when I was training for my half-marathon, especially at the beginning. I was curious to see the numbers!

  9. Chicken with red potatoes is one of our favorites too!

    One of the things we like to do is grab one of those rotisserie chickens from the grocery store, pull all of the chicken off the bones in pieces, add barbeque sauce and voila! You’ve barbequed chicken sandwich meat. And enough for several sandwiches too.

  10. I now have a heart rate monitor but I haven’t tried it out yet, I’m nervous the strap will be uncomfortable!

  11. You thought your legs were big?! Oh honey, they looked tiny and lean.

    My favorite part of my body is my shoulders :).

    PS–what are some of your fav add-ins to your yogurt?

    • That is the beauty of plain yogurt…you can get so creative! Some of my faves:

      cinnamon
      Stevia
      lemon peel
      almonds
      pecans
      walnuts
      granola
      honey
      fresh fruit
      cereal
      mini chocolate chips
      shredded coconut

      Okay…seriously I could go on forever!!! haha!

  12. You think your legs are too big? What the heck??? When I saw your picture yesterday I was wishing I had legs as skinny as yours! Your crazy!

    I’m an Oikos greek yogurt girl all the way. I have it for breakfast every morning.

    Is there a cheaply-priced heart rate monitor that you would recommend? I spent too much money on Scott’s Garmin that now I have to buy something cheap for myself!

  13. I love greek yogurt. I’m an oikos and brown cow fan.

    I love my eyes and bum 🙂

  14. I like Fage the best too. I really like the 2%. Chobani 2% plain is just as good, in my opinion, but it’s really hard to find.

    I like my calves.

    • I think that is what I don’t like about my legs…I have ZERO calf muscle despite all my running! Genetics I guess! haha! Lucky you! 🙂

  15. Keith had that meal sitting out in the gym office today. I was SO SO tempted to take a bite, haha!

  16. i’d be on the fage bandwagon… if i could afford it 🙂 now i stick to whatever’s on sale, and lots of it! i have switched to the 2% though. your legs were bammin’ even with the compression socks 🙂 i like my smile!

  17. Your dinner looks so delicious! I loveee BBQ Chicken- simple and so good!
    I definitely love plain Greek Yogurt- sometimes I like vanilla, but the beauty of plain is that you can add virtually anything to it and make it your own :)… I love all brands- basically whatever’s on sale!!

    And my favorite part of my body (LOVE this question by the way) are probably my legs… or my stomach; depends if I did a good ab workout that day and the 6-pack is showin 😉 hehe

  18. I LOVE red potatoes, especially with chives. These look great.

    My favorite part of my body is my nose. Weird I know – but its the only thing Ive NEVER wanted to change.
    Now, if we’re going for something bigger I’d say my legs (specifically my calves). I have SUPER long legs so nomatter what weight Ive been at, they still look good.

  19. That is my fave Greek yoghurt too – In the UK, where I live, it is branded as Total 0% (not Fage) but the packaging is very similar with the pale pink colouring.

    I really need to get a similar watch with all the exercise stats!

    Chloe

  20. It’s funny because I am just torn between fage and chobani!! I do love my fage though I must say, it is the first greek yogurt I have ever had!!!

    Im a new reader, love the blog and your great attitude!!

  21. I really want a heart rate monitor but I dont have one. The one you have is the one I want too! I just found out that at my school gym, they have heart rate monitors (the strap on ones) for you to rent (for free)! I’m so excited to have found that out. I’m going to try to remember to do that next time.

    I LOVE greek yogurt. Vanilla is my favorite.

    My favorite body part…right now I’m loving my arms/shoulders.

  22. I love my Polar F6. Sadly it’s getting repaired at the store and I’m anxiously awaiting its return!

    I do not like Greek yogurt! I think I may the only blogger out there that thinks so!

  23. Oooh. I’m a fage girl too! I think chobani has a wierd taste!

  24. Lol I was reading this recipe and I have the EXACT same bowl!

Leave a Reply

