Can You Believe This?!?!

While I was cycling this morning I was reading a fitness magazine (that will remain nameless) at the gym and I read an article that kind of annoyed me a little….okay truth it downright pissed me off! It was about losing weight in a healthy way and emphasising the importance of snacks. So far so good! I am a huge believer in snacking! It is a great way to keep the metabolism engaged and it helps you not overeat and gorge yourself at meal time. So far I am digging this article. And to be helpful it gave some snacking options..perfect! Sounds innocent enough. Turn the page and here was the list of 10 calorie snacks! (yes you read that right…10 calories):

  • 1 Whopper
  • 2 large strawberries
  • 4 1/2 mini-marshmallows
  • 1 Wheatables cracker
  • 12 1/2 blueberries
  • 1 1/2 almonds
  • 2 1/2 Jelly Belly jelly beans
  • 1 French onion SunChip
  • 3 watermelon balls
  • 3 Altoids mints
  • 1 Austin Zoo animal cracker
  • 11 pieces shelled edamame (soybeans)
  • 1 cashew half
  • 1 dried pineapple piece
  • 1 pecan half
  • 1 Big Cheez-It Cracker
  • 1 Tostitos Scoops! chip
  • 1 gummi bear
  • 1 large celery stick
  • 1/3 cup air-popped popcorn
  • 1 Keebler mini vanilla wafer
  • 4 Cheddar Goldfish crackers
  • 2 Skittles
  • 1 apple slice
  • 2 1/2 pistachios
  • 1 reduced-fat Pringle
  • 4 Nestlé Toll House semisweet chocolate chips
  • 10 Wheat Chex
  • 2 1/2 baked Cheetos
  • 3 cherry tomatoes
  • 2 Fritos
  • 1 shoestring french fry
  • 1 peanut M&M
  • 3 green or red grapes
  • 1 1/2 Twizzlers black licorice bites
  • 2 1/2 baby carrots
  • 2 Teddy Grahams
  • 3 plain M&M’s
  • Okay I have 4 words….ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!?! These are considered snacks?? A half of a pecan; 1 peanut M&M, 1 gummy bear! WHAT?!?! I was so outraged!! This is what we are going to tell people that a snack should be? This is what is supposed to keep my metabolism running and my appetite controlled? Really?! Hum…okay so the next time you are hungry in-between lunch and dinner (which is natural…as I seem to think eating every 3 to 4 hours is NORMAL) you should reach for 3 cherry tomatoes and BAM! hunger controlled! Who are they talking about? Certainly not me…I can only think that if someone gave me a snack of 2 1/2 baked Cheetos I would LAUGH! Great…so this apparently “healthy” magazine is showing women they can snack in between meals…no problem! It is as easy as eating 1 apple slice! This magazine would probably think my snacks were complete meals! I mean how could a container of Greek yogurt with some almonds and a few sprinkles of oats be considered a snack. I mean that is at least 200-250 calories…gasp for a snack?!?! What on earth am I thinking feeding myself substantial foods like that?

    Hum…and women have body image issues why? When you tell them 1 stick of celery is a snack then what kind of sick and twisted thinking are we creating about eating and health?!

    What do your typical snacks look like?

    28 Responses

    1. These are humorously outrageous. 2 1/2 jelly beans–who cuts up a jelly bean?

      I don’t really snack. I more eat 4-6 minimeals a day because that’s what works for me. Today my afternoon snack/meal was chocolate avocado pudding made with coconut milk kefir and topped with 2 raw chocolate macaroons. I think that was more than 10 calories 😉

    2. That seriously makes me sick. I whopper?! What the heck!!

    3. lol– SO healthy too, right? What a freakin’ joke.

    4. That’s ridiculous!! It doesn’t even make sense to publish that list. First off, no one eats 10 calories and feels satisfied, and second of all, what kind of behavior is this encouraging- no meal or snack should be 10 calories… Wow!

    5. What the heck is the point of a 10 calorie snack?!?! I think a couple hundred at least to be snack. I mean, a piece of gum can be 10 calories….and that’s NOT a snack!

    6. That just floors me. I have stopped reading Fitness magazines. They have some really absurd “diet tips” in them and it makes me so mad.

    7. That makes me angry too. It’s dangerous to publish something like that, because you know there are some people out there who will follow that “advice”.

    8. That’s one way to feed on women’s insecurities! Geeze, I can’t believe that would even remotely be considered a snack. I’ve noticed a lot more of that kind of crap lately. You know we all can have unhealthy treats sometimes! It’s called balance!

    9. WHAT THE F***?! Ridiculous! Snacks rock, though I tend to be more in the boast with the first comment that I more commomly eat 4-5 small meals rather than three large meals and two measly snacks. My favorite “snack” right now….greek yogurt with cinnamon, honey, sliced almonds, and frozen peaches. I have to eat every 2-3 hours and definitely more than 10 calories or people won’t want to hang out with me 🙂

    10. jeeez that’s crazy. i’m glad you’re pissed off too!

      -The Paris Food Blague

    11. That is insane! A snack for me would be more like a larabar, or a banana with pb, or yogurt and granola….you know, FOOD!

    12. WOW. That is rediculous! I’m so happy that you posted this though! Today’s society is so WACK- saying that 1 1/2 almonds are considered a snack. really?!! I’d consider a HANDFUL of almonds and some Craisins a snack… yum:), but when people live so deprived like that- They end up NOT healthy by any means… geesh! haha
      thanks again for posting this (and allowing me to vent that! )

    13. WHAT!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME! that pisses me off!! heck NO..1 1/2 almonds?!?! are you serious?!?!
      more like a HANDFUL of almonds WITH a peice of fruit!! wow, sad people.
      i love greek yogurt w. cereal and PB2 as a snack!

    14. This is disgusting…and exactly why women do suffer from eating disorders and disordered eating. I’m really sick of reading stuff like this to be honest. It really makes me feel self-conscious…I just grab random stuff….I eat PB and J sandwiches as a snack – and then feel guilty…and I wonder why – because apparently I’m supposed to count out 12 1/2 blueberries….:(

    15. Ummm, I could eat the whole list as a snack. Ridick.

    16. What a ridiculous article! It makes me so mad when I see nonsense like this in print, ugh!

      Some of my favorite snacks include: apples with peanut butter, carrots and hummus and a handful of almonds with a yogurt.

    17. hey omg that is so ridiculous! that infuriates me.. my snacks are huge, especially now since i’m gaining weight- ex) i just ate a thing of chobani, a cup of cereal, some peanut butter and osme almonds… take that health magazine!!

      xoxo
      shelley
      http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    18. Whaaaa? What magazine was this? I really want to know.

      I usually have around a 200 calorie snack. I like yogurt, fruit or nuts. Sometimes a protein bar type thingy.

    19. I’d like 1 peanut M&M please!!! 🙂 I laughed my butt off reading this post. If I get to the gym tonight with my latest Oxygen mag and find this article I’ll be blown away. What kind of health advice is that?! I agree.. my snacks are more like meals. It takes a little substance to calm the mid-morning rumbles.
      My fave snack is a whole wheat tortilla roll up with ricotta cheese or almond butter. Mmm
      P.S. I love your blog, and congrats on qualifying for NY!!

    20. oh my god! that is insane! 1/2 a cashew? really?

    21. Those snacks are ridiculous!

      Any WHOLE PIECE of fruit like an apple, an orange, a banana or something is snack. I usually would have some yogurt or cottage cheese with it too.

      If I’m feeling a sweet tooth, a piece of toast with PB will work as a snack too 🙂

      Ohhh and cocoa roasted almonds… (or an ounce of any nuts)

      Or 100 calorie kettle corn bags…

      Or dry cereal like Banana Nut Cheerios…

      Okay, I’m getting ahead of myself 🙂 Sorry.

    22. Wow! No wonder people have such misconstrued views about healthy eating. My typical snacks are things like an apple with light string cheese, Greek yogurt with blueberries, cottage cheese.

    23. Wait, no one else eats cashews one half at a time? Must just be me.

      🙂

    24. This article really contributes to the notion that all calories are equal. I hear people at work talk about their diets and say things like…ohhh I like to save all my calories (or points if on Weight Watchers) for a piece of cake or whatever. Most of those things on the list are empty calories. I agree that indulging is no problem as long as you can control those cravings and understand it is to be in moderation and I am not dissing Weight Watchers as I have seen many people use it correctly and be successful. But 10 calorie snacks especially those on the list are ridiculous and I hope this isn’t from Fitness Magazine. It’s one of my favorites…and I haven’t read mine yet this month.

    25. I think if I said, “man, I could really go for a snack” and someone handed me a single peanut M&M, I would die a little on the inside.

      I’m a big fan of the Kashi granola bars or something similar that hits about 100 calories… It’s an absolute requirement for me to eat something like that in the afternoon, otherwise I just get bitter.

    Leave a Reply

