Bake With Me!

I found a great recipe for Flaxseed Muffins, that upon seeing all the goodness crammed into them, I knew I HAD to make them! So ta-da I did! Check it out: 

FLAXSEED OATBRAN MUFFINS 

  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 whole wheat flour (I substituted gluten-free flour here)
  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 apple, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup nuts (optional)
  • 1/4 cup raisins (optional)
  • 1/2 cup 2% milk (I substituted almond milk here)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Mix flour, flaxseed, bran, sugar and dry ingredients together. Shred carrots and apples and add these along with optional raisins and nuts to dry ingredients. Mix well. Stir together milk eggs and vanilla and stir this into batter until well moistened. Fill cupcake papers until 3.4 full and bake at 350* for 20 to 25 minutes. 

Yields: 12 muffins 

Nutritional Information (not including optional ingredients): 123 Calories; 3.6g Fat (0.7g saturated fat); 36.2mg Cholesterol; 304.2mg Sodium; 21.1g Carbohydrates; 3.3g Fiber; 0.9g Sugar; 4.1g Protein 

Flaxseed Oatbran Muffins

My opinion: they are good but they definitely have that “health food” taste. Do you know what I mean? I liked them a lot but I don’t want you to expect something they aren’t. But they will definitely be good fuel for tomorrow! 🙂 

I also caught up with a good friend today on the phone! My friend Hilary, whom I love so much but rarely see. Which is HORRIBLE because we literally live maybe 10 minutes from one another! But catching up with her today was relaxing and calming. She, too, is a runner and was able to offer good advice on just being me! 

Me and Hilary after the Rock N Roll Marathon

HOORAY FOR GOOD FRIENDS! I hope everyone has a great Saturday night!! 🙂

18 Responses

  1. Oh YUM!! 🙂 Those muffins look great!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your recipe!!

    I just wanted to remind you that if by some chance you don’t run as fast as you want to tomorrow, it will not change the fact that you are an amazing woman. I can tell from your posts and comments on my blog that you are quite fabulous. Good luck tomorrow, but remember that no one will be disappointed in you if you don’t reach your goal. We will all be awe that you simply completed it!! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! As cheesy as this sounds that made me tear up! I put so much pressure on myself and I get so wrapped up in making sure I do my best that I sometimes forget to have fun! I sincerely appreciate this…so much more than I am able to express! 🙂

  2. Those look so good!! And I agree with the first commenter, you are fabulous no matter what!

  3. Those muffins look great! I love that you said they have the health food taste. Granted I didnt expect them to taste like chocolate chip muffins, but you can never really be sure. My mom used to make my brother and I cookies when we were little without wheat eggs or dairy. Everytime I expected them to be delicious, and they always had the health food taste. lol not what a 9 year old is looking for in her cookies. I bet you I would like them now though.

    • Exactly! I mean they are definitely good but they aren’t going to taste like an oil/butter laded muffin from your local bakery! haha! I just want to be honest! 🙂

  4. Good luck tomorrow!!! I’ll be thinking about you!

    These muffins look just like some “morning glory” carrot muffins that my husband used to be obsessed with at our local coffee shop. I’ll have to make them for him as a surprise! He’ll be so pleased!

  5. I agree, hooray for good friends! I got to catch up with my best friend today, too. Those muffins look tasty, but I totally know that healthy taste you are talking about.

  6. Ooh, I have all the ingredients for those muffins in my house. Maybe I’ll embark on a little baking tonight.

  7. ahh good luck tomorrow 🙂 you’ll be great! i definitely know what u mean with the ‘health’ food taste ..they still sound good

    xoox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. Oh those look FANTASTIC!!!

  9. Good luck tomorrow, Kelly! I know you will do great! Let me know how it goes.

  10. i’ll be thinking of you on my run tomorrow morning!!

  11. I am always looking for good muffins for my husband… Don’t think I could get those past him though 😦 Especially if they have the health food taste! Having good friends that make you feel good is awesome 🙂

  12. Wow those muffins look really good- I definitely know what you mean with the “health food taste”! Pretty much most of my eats have that taste and i love it! But whenever I really enjoy something and have someone else (particularly members of my fam) eat it, they think I’m crazy!! haha I guess “health food taste” is acquired!!

    &That’s awesome you were able to catch up with an old friend! 🙂

  13. OH MY GOD THOSE MUFFINS….DELISH! Great picture and memories – I hope all goes as well as can be today and you enjoy it. You deserve it 🙂

  14. […] up:  Kelly’s Flaxseed Oatbran Muffins Flaxseed Oatbran […]

  15. Hi, Kelly,

    I just tried these muffins and I really like them! Thanks for the recipe. One thing….when you made them, did the carrots in the muffins get moldy quickly? Like within a day? I am so baffled…I made them yesterday and put them in a ziplock bag after they cooled, and woke up this morning to find molded carrot bits. Maybe they were just extra moist or something, but I thought you might have had the same problem.

    Thanks!
    Kiersten

Leave a Reply

