Wednesday = Trivia Week #3

Happy hump day!! I hope everyone enjoyed Keith’s guest post last night on the benefits of strength training. I am definitely going to have him do more regular posts and definitely some video demonstrations. I think he got a kick out of it too! πŸ™‚ I know I am baised but I think he’s pretty great! πŸ™‚ Here is my favorite picture of us from this Christmas!

Christmas 2009

So last night’s dinner was fabulous, if I do say so myself! I made my chicken enchilada casserole with a side of black beans! Keith gobbled his up and went back for a huge second helping! (What better compliment, right??) It is super easy (like most of the things I make) but filled with flavor! Here’s the recipe and for those of you purchased my cookbook it is on page 43! haha!

chicken enchilada goodness

YUMMAY!

Β CHICKEN ENCHILADA CASSEROLE

  • 1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, uncooked and cubed
  • 1 cup low-fat sour cream
  • 1 (19 oz) can green enchilada sauce
  • 12 corn tortillas
  • 1 (to 1 1/2) cups reduced fat shredded Mexican cheese blend
  • 1 cup salsa

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine chicken and sour cream. Pour 1/2 cup enchilada sauce into the bottom of a 10X8 casserole dish. Place 4 tortillas on top of sauce. Layer half the chicken mixture on top of tortillas. Sprinkle with 1/3 cup cheese. Layer a cup of salsa, place 4 tortillas on top of this. Layer remaining chicken mixture and 1/3 cupΒ cheese on top of tortillas. Cover with remaining tortillas. Pour remaining enchilada sauce over tortillas.

Cover the casserole with foil and bake for 35 minutes, or until bubbly. Uncover and sprinkle remaining cheese on top of the casserole and let cook another 5 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

Serves: 6

337 Calories; 8.5g Fat (3.5g saturated fat); 59mg Cholesterol; 708mg Sodium; 36.9g Carbohydrates; 4.6g Fiber; 5.4g Sugar; 28.8g Protein

TRIVIA TIME

Every Wednesday, for the month of January,Β I am posting a trivia question that is health and/or food related. All you have to do is leave a comment on my blog with what you think the answer is. Every Thursday I will announceΒ the correct answer. All the people who guessed correctly will have their names put into a drawing. At the end of the month I will draw a random name and that person will win a really cool prize. Again…have fun and don’t go googling to cheat! haha! πŸ™‚

Italy leads the world in pasta consumption with 61.7 pounds eaten per person per year. What country is second?

Carbohydrate Goodness

A. Venezuela

B. The United States

C. Switzerland

D. China

30 Responses

  1. Aw, you guys are too cute. As for the trivia question, I want to go crazy and go with China. I’m hoping noodles in general count as pasta. My thought is Americans are too busy leading the world in Big Mac consumption to care about pasta. πŸ™‚

  2. LOVE chicken enchiladas! That casserole looks tasty. And I have no idea to the answer.:)

  3. Love this post!! You and Keith are gorgeous girl!!! Are you married by the way ?? And enchiladas – holy moly – will get on those soon…hmmm – love this trivia thing !! I’m guessing the U.S?? And I LOVE that you give multiple choice haha…cause otherwise who knows what randomn non-related country I’d say?? !!

  4. That looks delicious! I know the answer already so I won’t say πŸ˜‰

  5. Mmmm, your enchilada casserole looks amazing! I drooled a little bit just looking at it. My guess is China.

    Kristi~

  6. Mmmm…that casserole looks AMAZING!

    My guess would be China…didn’t pasta originate there, anyway? πŸ™‚

  7. My guess is the US.

    The casserole looks so delicious!

  8. I love enchiladas! My guess is China.

  9. B. The U.S.

    love your blog kelly!

  10. I’m guessing the US.?…

  11. My guess is the US, but I don’t really know! The enchilada casserole looks delish!

  12. A) I am stealing that recipe!
    B) You and Keith are tooo cute!
    C) I am guessing China.

  13. You and your hubby make such a cute couple!

    I have no clue what the answer is 😦

  14. My guess is D. China!

    You’re right, there is no better compliment than when your husband goes back for seconds!

    πŸ™‚

  15. i’m gonna go w/ the US! aren’t we the fatties? πŸ™‚

  16. I gotta guess B

  17. im guessing China!! and you and your husband are adorable πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  18. I vote for the US! I bet we are close to the top in consumption of most everything! haha.

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  19. Yum, yum yumm!! I love mexican food AND casseroles. Perfect dish!

  20. You and your hubby are too cute. I missed his post, I’ll have to go check it out as I’m a strength training slacker.

  21. My guess is US!!

  22. uhh us?!?!
    LOVE that pic of you and your man!!
    and that dinner!!

  23. looks SO delicious! I love enchiladas. Its so fun to have themed dinner nights like one night mexican, one night mediterrean etc πŸ™‚ my guess is US πŸ™‚ we just love pasta, don’t we?

  24. […] Don’t forget to play the week #3 trivia game […]

  25. Cute picture of you and The Hubs!!

    My guess is the U.S.!!

  26. I will guess the US but I really have no idea on this one!

  27. Just made this chicken enchilada casserole tonight. Oh my gosh! So Yummy! Jensen loved it, too, and plans to take the leftovers to work tomorrow (something he never does with “healthy” recipes πŸ™‚ ) He said it doesn’t taste that different from restuarant enchiladas. Wow!

  28. […] after a bit of just sitting I headed in the kitchen to put the chef hat on.Β  I have made her chicken enchilada casserole before (also FAB!), but she made this variation for Jensen one night when I was out of town (thanks, […]

Leave a Reply

