A Slew of Product Reviews

Over the last few weeks or so I have tried a few new products and thought I would give my reviews.  So without further ado…here are my opinions:

1. Joseph’s Pita Bread 

7/10: I am giving this a 7 out of 10. It wasn’t as great as I was hoping for. I thought the texture was a little dry. I probably wouldn’t buy these again. 😦

2. Edward & Son’s Exotic Rice Toasts

10/10: THESE ARE AWESOME! Not only are they gluten-free but they taste so yummy! I have tried all the flavors and all are great but this one (purple rice and black sesame) is my favorite! I found them at Whole Foods and they are definitely going to be a staple!

3. Bell Evans Grilled Chicken Breasts

10/10: Another HIT! These are fully cooked chicken breasts (also gluten-free) that are convenient when you are short on time. They are frozen so you can either pop them in the microwave or heat them in the oven for a quick chicken breast to add to a salad or a wrap. They come in other flavors too (buffalo style and honey BBQ)  but I like the plain ones best.

4. Glutenfreeda Instant Oatmeal

8.5/10: I have only tried the maple and brown sugar flavor. It is DEFINITELY good (plus gluten and wheat free)for instant oatmeal and I feel  a lot better about eating this than Quaker instant oatmeal (lots of sugar). I am just a fan of slow cooked oats or steel cut oats because they taste so much better! But for a quickie oatmeal fix…this is definitely going to be my go-to buy!

5. Kinnikinnick Gluten-Free English Muffins

8/10: These were good but probably not something I would buy on a regular basis. I would rather just toast my Udi bread or eat a Glutino bagel. But definitely not bad and good for when you want a GF english muffin!

6. Powerbar Fruit Smoothie Energy Bar

3/10: I usually eat half a powerbar before my runs each morning and this was a new flavor I thought I would try. I HATED it which is odd because I LOVE Powerbars! My favorite flavors: Cookies & Cream, Vanilla Crisp, Honey Nut and Peanut Butter. So it isn’t that I don’t like Powerbar (they are definitely my go-to fuel before a run) but just not this flavor!

7. Moringstar Farms Breakfast Sausage Links

10/10: These were great! I typically don’t eat a lot of soy protein but these were really tasty! I typically use Applegate Farms breakfast (chicken and apple) sausage but these were a nice change up. I will definitely buy these again!!

8. Puffins MultiGrain Flavor

10/10: LOVE THESE! I am already a huge Puffins fan but these are actually gluten-free (the other’s are just wheat-free) and they are great! I added a drizzle of agave nectar and some raisins with almond milk…ah the perfect bowl of cereal! Try these!!

9. Kinnikinnick Gluten-Free Ginger Snaps

9/10: These are awesome! My new favorite cookie! I [insert heart] them! The only reason they are getting a 9 instead of a 10 is because they don’t sell them in Austin! I have to order them which means you have to pay shipping! UGH! But maybe you can find them in your local area…if you can GRAB them fast. They are amazing!

10. Pacific Unsweetened Almond Milk

10/10: I used to be an Almond Breeze girl but this stuff is so much better! My husband bought this brand ironically because it was on sale and I was hooked! We both like it better. The texture is the same but the taste is just cleaner and tastes better. I can’t really explain it…my suggestion is try it and then decide! I still love the chocolate almond breeze though..that is still tops in my book!

Alright..that’s all I got. I hope some of you find this helpful and if you have a product that you really like leave a comment and tell me about it. I love to try new things and I will always take product recommendations!!

Have you tried anything new lately?

Don’t forget to play the week #3 trivia game

 

27 Responses

  1. I love Joseph’s pita bread!! But I haven’t been able to find it many places around here. Thanks for reviewing those gluten-free products. I bet my husband would love those ginger snaps. I need to show your reviews to Andrew. Just curious, do you try to eat GF?

    • I eat about 90% GF just because it makes me feel better. Digestively, I haven’t always been the most “regular” person and I was always feeling slightly bloated. So a friend of mine suggested taking gluten our of my diet and it was like a light switch had been flipped. I immediately started having more regular movements and no more bloating. My skin cleared up (I never had bad ache but I always some pimples and my color was always a little blah). After removing gluten…no more pimples (not even when it is my time of the month) and my skin looks so much brighter. Overall I just like the way I feel without gluten in my diet. Whenever I do have a “gluten-fest” I can immediately tell!

      It is definitely a commitment and a lifestyle change but thankfully my husband was more than willing to go along. After the initial rough time of adjusting it is not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. (we’ve been doing this for about 2 years)

      Sorry for the long response…probably way more than you wanted to know!! haha! 🙂

  2. I tried that almond milk last week because it was cheaper, and Im SO glad. It was fantastic!

  3. Have you tried the Morningstar Farms sausage patties (as opposed to the links)? They are so good.

    • I haven’t…but I will defintely check those out soon! Thanks!!

      • I secong the Morning Star patties recommendation. I’ve never had the links, but the pattie are awesome and are perfect for an egg white, english muffin breakfast sandwich.

  4. Ooh thanks for all of the product reviews! Where did you get the chicken from? I hate handling raw meat so those look great and I hope I can find them. My favorite powerbar flavor is the oatmeal cookie I think it’s called. I love peanut butter Puffins so much that I can never bring myself to buy any of the other flavors- maybe I need to branch out 😉 I’m really interested in the almond milk since I am a big-time Almond Breeze consumer. I really like it so have never felt the need to try other kinds, but now you have me wondering. How does this new one compare nutritionally and cost-wise? Oh and I finally got around to adding you to my blog-roll. Us “Kelly’s” gotta stick up for one another! Thanks for always leaving me comments- I am pretty new to the blog world and don’t have many readers yet 🙂

  5. This isn’t a comment about your product reviews (fun to read though), but you always type [insert heart here], but did you know that ❤ is the blogger way of doing a heart? Can you see it? 🙂

  6. My mom LOVES Joseph pitas 🙂

    I’ve tried that almond milk but I like the breeze better. Or maybe it’s the blue carton that I like?

    I love seeing people’s product reviews thanks!

  7. Ooh! I currently drink Almond Breeze, so I’ll have to give that Pacifica kind a whirl! I don’t think I’ve seen it in our stores, but I’ll keep my eyes peeled…

    thanks for the great reviews!

  8. Thanks for your list and rating… it is always good to what everyone else is eating and what they think of it.

    Have you tried Hemp milk? I love it more than Almond milk.

  9. Your so lucky you have those pitas! I’ve tried their lavish wraps thanks to a blogger swap.. I’d love to try the pitas!!

  10. Great post Kelly – awesome to hear all those reviews.

    I love that you are 90% gluten-free – me too! I do have an intolerance to wheat but I eat completely gluten-free most of the time.

    Chloe

  11. James LOVES the smoothie powerbar. I hate it. Too sweet and chewy. ick.

  12. Too bad about the power bar, I love the vanilla crisp flavor too!

    Thanks for the reviews 🙂

  13. Hi Kelly,

    Glad to hear you’re an Applegate fan normally — they are great people. I’ve been down to visit their offices and was really impressed by the integrity of their organization. I’m sure the Morningstar product is good, but make sure you keep giving Applegate your business! Also, a huge fan of Puffins cereal — if you like peanut butter, give those Puffins a shot!

    • Matt..I love all Applegate products! My husband and I loyally buy the breakfast apple chicken sausages, their lunch meats (LOVE that they are gluten-free), their turkey burgers and their turkey bacon!! Love that company!!

      I also love puffins…all kinds! Personally I just don’t like how big the peanut butter ones. But the multigrain and the cinnamon ROCK!

  14. This may be a silly question to most people here, but why almond milk? Is it just to eliminate dairy or are there other benefits? My son does not like cow’s milk all that much and has on occasion looked as if he has hives after drinking it, but because he does not drink it very often and if he does drink any it is often just a few sips it is hard to tell if he is actually having a bad reaction to it. He eats cheese, yogurt, and ice cream with no signs of a reaction to those.

    But I do worry about him not getting enough calcium and vitamin d so how does almond milk compare?

  15. Stephanie…I use almond milk because it is much easier on my tummy that regular cow milk. (and I just think it tastes awesome!) On average, nutritionally here is what an 8oz glass of almond milk (unsweetened) looks like:
    40 Calories, 3g Fat, 2g Carbohydrates, 1g Fiber, 1g Protein, 0mg Cholesterol, 180mg Sodium, 200mg Calcium

    On Average, here is the NI for 8oz of 2% low-fat milk:
    120 Calories, 5g Fat, 12.5g Carbohydrates, 0g Fiber, 8.1g Protein, 20mg Cholesterol; 100mg Sodium, 285mg Calcium

    Another option is Goat’s milk…have you ever tried that with Jax? It has a lower lactose content that cow’s milk and easier to digest. On average here are the NI for 8oz of 1% goat’s milk:
    89 Calories; 2.4g Fat; 9.4g Carbohydrates. 0g Fiber; 7.4g Protein; 8mg Cholesterol; 200mg Calcium.

    Hope this helps!! 🙂

  16. i agree about those pitas… they fall apart really easily. i use them the most as tortillas – just folded over b/c they’re more durable that way. 🙂

  17. YAY FOR PRODUCT REVIEWS!!
    i gota find those chicken breasts! whered you get them?!
    yeah the pitas are okay.. I love the wraps way more!

  18. I love the Bell Evans chicken. I have eaten them for quite a while and love all three flavors. Hated the smoothie powerbar, too! I tried it when I was training last year and thought they were so gross! Gonna try the “new” almond milk. Love Almond Breeze, but it’s definitely worth a taste-test.

  19. I also love the puffin multigrain cereal, it had a surprising hint of sweetness as well!

Leave a Reply

