Do you DVD?

Happy Tuesday. Today’s workout was a chill 8 miles again…I stayed around 8:40 pace. I wanted to push the envelope a little but decided not to (details to come tomorrow about why…) and then I did a KILLER arm workout that the husband wrote for me! Sheesh…Keith! Look what he made me do: 

  • Dumbbell Push-Up Rotations (8 each side)
  • Dumbbell incline chest flys (15)
  • 1 DB overhead press (balancing on one leg) (15 each side)
  • 1 DB bicep curl (balancing on one leg) (15 each side)
  • 1 DB tricep kickback (15 each side)
  • Bench dips (20)
  • Front plank on the bosu ball (90 seconds)
  • Jack knives on bosu ball (20)
  • Body Pulls (15)

REPEAT ENTIRE PROGRAM 3 TIMES! SHEESH! 

Good thing dinner was so yummy last night! I fueled up with my traditional fish sandwich. This seems to my go-to meal of late. It is just too dang easy and it tastes SO good. Orange ruffy on a multigrain Arnold Thin with a little low-fat mayonnaise, dill relish and tomato slices. It was heaven in my mouth. 

FISHY FISHY

So. Question for you. Do you DVD? I am talking workout DVD’s here. I honestly don’t remember the last time I did a home workout DVD but in the last month I have ordered two of them! The first one is called Yoga For Runner’s 

Yoga For Runners

 

and the second one was Jillian Michael’s Banish Fat & Boost Metabolism. 

Jillian Michael's Banish Fat & Boost Metabolism

 

Honestly, I haven’t done either one yet…but plan to in the NEAR future. I am not sure what sparked my interest in getting these two DVDs. I want to start Yoga but I am not sure I am ready to go to a Yoga studio so I thought this might be a good way to ease myself into it. And then I liked the idea of Jillian’s DVD because I tend to be a little unbalanced with my running and I thought this might be a fun way to add in some varations to my cardio?? I don’t know…. 

Do you DVD? If so, what is your favorite workout DVD?  

Is your new fitness gadget a gimmick? Go here to find out!

26 Responses

  1. Right now the two dvd’s I have been using are Erin O’Brien’s Prenatal Fitness Fix and Shiva Rea Prenatal Yoga. The first is cardio and toning that I use when I can’t walk outside. My hips hurt if I walk for a long period of time this pregnancy so I have been doing only the dvds for the past few weeks…all the squatting and lunging seems to help stretch whatever is hurting me.

    When I am ready to really workout again I want to try P-90x. Heard anything good or bad about that? I am not a fan of the gym and prefer to workout at home or run outside so generally I do well with dvds.

  2. I’ve actually never done workout DVDs! I’m kind of scared of them. 🙂 You make it sound fun though! Maybe I’ll have to get one and give it a go. 🙂

  3. I haven’t done them EVER – because when I used to, they were on VHS. 🙂 I started working out with TaeBo when I was about 15 and loved it. But since, I just can’t quiet my mind enough to do one at home. I love the clink and clang of the gym!

  4. I have the Jillian Michaels DVD. I’ve done it, and its a good workout, but I prefer more classes in the gym 🙂

  5. I can’t seem to get motivated at home, so I never do them. It seems like it would be convenient though!

  6. I’ve tried P90X in the past as well. I just wasn’t able to commit the time to complete it regularly but I did really like the videos. Tony Horton is a great teacher and makes the videos instructional and fun. The one thing I was perhaps the most impressed by was his yoga video. You might think he’s a fitness guy trying to do yoga but his form and practice is REALLY good. He has great form. He offers modifications for all skill levels. He’s really a great teacher. I’d recommend all the videos if you’re looking to try something new.

    Also, thanks for your words on my blog the other day. I appreciate that you keep coming back to check in!

  7. Iinstead of buying movies, my collectio od dvd’s is fitness dvd’s. I find cheap and awesome ones at Dollar Tree and on Amazon. My fav is ”Yoga for Urban Living” bought at Dollar tree, it’s great!

  8. Awesome arm workout! I’ve done DVDs occasionally, but so infrequently. I usually go to the gym just after work or during my lunch hour. When I’m home, that’s “family time” I can spend with my husband and dog. I don’t want to spend the time listening to Jillian scream at me!

  9. Aw, so cute that your hub give you your workouts! V. cool!

    I have a few DVDs that I use…I’m trying to get more into them, because they’re great for variation, especially during the winter months!

    Love that polka dot plate!

  10. I do DVD when I feel like swithcing things up. It’s ALL Cathe…love her!

  11. I used to do a pilates DVD before I started yoga at the studio. It was nice to be able to do it whenever I wanted. I’m with you that I may need some cardio variation. I love to run, but maybe I need to switch it out for something else a couple of days a week,

  12. I love The Shred and also Billy Blanks bootcamp! Billy is OUT THERE but in a very entertaining way! Plus, it kicks my ass everytime 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  13. That arm workout looks intense!! Especially after an 8 mile run! Are you really sore?!

    & I definitely want to “DVD” once I stop running in college- I’m really interested in yoga, and that Jillian Michael’s boost metabolism thing looks interesting as well!

  14. I’ve purchased a couple of exercise DVD’s in the past, but never used them… they’ve become dust collectors! I much prefer to do my own thing, especially when it comes to yoga. Yoga is a very spiritual/meditative practice for me and I prefer to do it in silence or with soothing music. Even though I don’t use them, I still I think they’re good resource and can be much cheaper than classes.

  15. In the past I have used a pilates dvd, yoga dvd and tai chi dvd. But it’s hard to do the movements on some of them and still look at the tv. My sister and I would do some together and we would end up in hysterics trying to do some of the pilates moves! Working out at the gym with Keith and gang has been a lot more fun and sustainable for me. Btw those jack knives are killer – tried them (not too successfully) on Thursday!

  16. I get really tired of doing DVD’s. I do them maybe once or twice and then get bored. The fish sandwich looks incredible! I never thought of doing that!

  17. I’m such a nerd but I love workout dvds! I have way too many of them to count too.. yikes!!

    My favorite is jari love’s Get Ripped Series. I’m sore no matter what after I do them! They are similar to the Body Pump classes they have at the gym.. all you need is weights!

  18. All I ever do in the winter are workout DVD’s and Exercise TV. I love them!! I really love that Jillian workout! Have fun with your new DVD’s! 🙂

  19. I have the Shred and a few others, but honestly, my dog gets in the way when I try to do them so I really don’t!

  20. I love DVDs! I wish we could afford to join a gym, but we can’t right now. So, on those cold, icy, dark mornings when I can’t run…DVDs are my friend. I love Jillian’s and I’ve found a few good yoga and pilates DVDs as well.

  21. I don’t dvd, I like going to the gym. However, I do own the P-90X dvds and was considering trying to do those for a while. I’m scared they won’t be as “effective” but realistically, people have gotten some SERIOUS results from doing that stuff. Well, now that I think about it, I’m sure Tony Horton knows more than I do about working out 🙂

    Maybe I will give them a try. I did them for about two weeks when I first got them but I had to stop because of a CRAZY work schedule.

    I’ll let you know how it goes!

  22. Yep, I have quite a collection of workout DVDs. Cathe Friedrich is by far my favorite for step and weights. She has an incredible series out called Shock Training System and Shock Cardio. I also tried Jari Love’s workouts Amy Bento. It’s only been recently that I started doing other workout/weight rotations not involved DVDs.

  23. Have you ever tried Core Fusion? It’s a series of classes run out of “Exhale Spa,” which has locations across the country. They also sell DVDs (less than $10 on Amazon) of their workouts. I like the Core Fusion Body Sculpt–I’ve been a marathoner and distance runner for years and this is the best strength/core work I’ve found (and I typically hate workout videos/classes). It’s all broken down into 10 minute segments for arms, legs, glutes, abs, etc. Just my two cents!

Leave a Reply

