Check Out My Kicks!

I get a lot emails each week about what kind of running shoes I recommend. First, let me start by saying that I think finding the right pair of shoes is kind of a personal journey. Everyone has different feet and like the fit and wear of different shoes.

With that said, here is my background: I run on average about 60 miles a week and I have freakishly tiny feet for my height! I am 5’6 1/2″ and I only wear a size 5.5 shoe. I have extremely HIGH arches. Not sure about your arch? Check out this photo of what a wet footprint would look like.

Then there is the concept of pronation. If you have a normal arch, you’re likely a normal pronator, meaning you’ll do best in a stability shoe that offers moderate pronation control. Runners with flat feet normally overpronate, so they do well in a motion-control shoe that controls pronation. High-arched runners typically underpronate, so they do best in a neutral-cushioned shoe that encourages a more natural foot motion. Want more information on pronation? Check out this Runner’s World article complete with explanation videos.

So what kicks do I sport? I wear two types of shoes made by K-Swiss. What, K-Swiss makes running shoes? Why, yes they do! Don’t worry, I didn’t know that either until recently. I used to wear Mizuno, specifically the Waverider, and while I still love those shoes I just found K-Swiss to be a better fit for me. About a year ago, I met a professional triathlete, James Cotter, who is sponsored by K-Swiss and on his recommendation I tried them out. It was love at first wear!

The two styles I like for me are the K-One and the Konejo:

K-Ona

  • An Ultra-light (9oz) and stable running shoe perfect for fast days and races.
  • Durability is achieved with an Aosta® II rubber outsole.
  • Flexibility is enhanced by anatomically correct flex-grooves.
  • Support is obtained with a direct injected urethane support cage with five-stripe branding on top.
  • Stability comes from a rigid TPU midfoot shank.
  • Breathability is enhanced by a Flow Cool System™ for moisture management.
  • Cushioning is provided by Superfoam® technology, an Si-18 technology crash pad and a k-EVA midsole.
  • Comfort is enhanced with a seamless upper construction.

Konejo

  • A lightweight stable running shoe
  • Lightweight is achieved with an open mesh and molded synthetic leather upper.
  • Stability and motion control are enhanced with a “Y-Beam”; TPU arch support and medial posted midsole.
  • Cushioning is maximixed through GuideGlide Guidance System™ and a triple-density Superfoam® compound.
  • Durability is enhanced with an Aosta® II outsole with anatomically correct flex-grooves.

 I like both of these styles for different reasons. They both fit a little differently but fit true to size! I have a 5.5 in both and have never gotten any blisters or chafing from them…even straight from the box! I can’t say enough good things about these shoes. I also need to point out that I am NOT being paid or endorsed by K-Swiss…this is just simply my personal opinion about how great the shoes are!

Hope this information was helpful and useful to all your fabulous runners out there!

 

11 Responses

  1. Thanks for this post! I’m new to your blog, I love it! It’s great!

    I’m a runner, but have the opposite of you… I have a flat foot. Mizuno seems to work pretty well for me 🙂

  2. Interesting! You’re right– I didn’t know that K-Swiss makes running shoes! Glad you have some that you love, because you are a RUNNING MACHINE! 🙂

  3. Great information, thanks for posting! Funny, I never even thought about K-Swiss when looking for running shoes, but you’ve definitely made me consider it. Think they might bring some fun colors to the line? 🙂

  4. Great tips! I love reviewing information like this. I have a normal arch, but I run on the outisde of my feet (I think that means under-pronating). Anyway, went to Colorado Running company and they filmed me running and recommended Asics..very firm, lots of support and they are the best shoes ever! I have gone through 4 pairs!

  5. Fabulous/very helpful info!! Thanks Kelly! I’m currently running in Saucony, which I love. I had to go get fitted b/c I had NO idea on my own. This is great advice!

  6. Thanks for the tips. I’ve been running in Asics which I enjoy (I won them in a raffle at my very first 5K so there’s a sentimental attachment as well) but am starting to approach the point where they might need to be replaced. Looks like I’ve got a couple more brands to check out!

  7. Thanks for checking out my blog. This is great–running shoes make all the difference. I have flat feet so I swear by Asics since some of the line is specifically made with arch support. But I also wear custom orthotics, too.

  8. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Leanda Cave and K-Swiss, Inc., Gina Crawford. Gina Crawford said: RT @KSwissInc: Check out our K-Ona and Keahou review on My Healthy Living with Kelly http://bit.ly/77ayaK […]

Leave a Reply

