Another Side Dish + Trivia Week #2!

Last night for dinner Keith wanted turkey burgers. Easy enough. We use Applegate Farms turkey burgers (because they are organic and natural) and for the buns we use gluten-free Udi bread. But instead of french fries I made a yummy cucumber salad to go with it. It was delicious and a perfect little side dish! I kept thinking this was definitely going to be a good spring dish when people start doing grill-outs in the nice weather!

CUCUMBER, TOMATO & RED ONION SALAD

Cucumber Salad

4 tomatoes, cut into 4 wedges

1 large cucumbers, peeled and sliced

1/2 large red onion, chopped

1/4 cup fresh cilantro

 1/2 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 limes, juice of

salt and pepper, to taste

 Mix all ingredients together and enjoy!

Serves 4

97 Calories; 0.6g Fat (0.1g saturated fat); 0mg Cholesterol; 9mg Sodium; 20.4g Carbohydrates; 6.0g Fiber; 5.6g Sugar; 5.3g Protein

One of the reasons I liked this so much was the use of fresh cilantro. I love fresh herbs because they add so much flavor and depth to recipes! What are your favorite herbs to cook with?

Okay trivia week #2! Every Wednesday, for the month of January, I am posting a trivia question that is health and/or food related. All you have to do is leave a comment on my blog with what you think the answer is. Every Thursday I will announce the correct answer. All the people who guessed correctly will have their names put into a drawing. At the end of the month I will draw a random name and that person will win a really cool prize. Last week everyone did so good at identifying my mushrooms that I am attempting to make this one a tad harder! Again…have fun and don’t go googling to cheat! haha! 🙂

Made with a lightly sweetened egg-rich dough and usually shaped into a loaf, which yeast bread is similar to brioche?

A. Challah

B. Ciabatta

C. Butterzopf

D. Kavring

24 Responses

  1. I make a salad just like that but without cilantro (I can’t stand the taste!)

    I’m gonna go with A for the trivia challenge 😉

  2. I’m gonna go with Challah, but I really have no idea!

  3. I’ll go with ciabatta only because it’s one of my favorites.

  4. That salad looks so yummy and refreshing!! I want summer…sigh :).

    Hmm…ciabatta??

  5. I love cooking with herbs. My favorites are without a doubt cilantro, dill and basil.
    As for the trivia, I have NO idea, so Im going with Butterzopf because I really like that name!

  6. I’m going with Challah, just b/c I like it so much 😉

  7. I wonder why people peel their cucumbers? I just eat it whole. But I do peel my potatoes- is there a rule of what to peel and what not too?

    • That is so funny because I never peel my cucumbers either but my husband won’t eat them unless they are peeled! But I don’t peel my potatoes either…I love the skins of all foods…fruits, veggies, squash, potatoes, etc…maybe I am just the weird one!!

  8. umm, yeah, not quite bbq weather up here 🙂 although i have never heard of c & d, i’m going with challah!

  9. I’m going with challah because that’s the only one besides ciabatta I know and I think it’s that.
    I didn’t know applegate farms made turkey burgers! I bet they’re good. I’ll have to look for that brand when I get a craving

  10. I vote for A!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  11. Challah!!

    What a creative, cute idea Kelly! I love it!!

    And, I adore YOUR blog – your lighthearted – I think we’d be good friends in “real” life haha 🙂

  12. I will go with Challah too. I love to cook with thyme. I grow it in my garden and it’s evergreen, so available year round. I dried a lot last summer and that was nice to have on hand as well. In the summer I use a lot of basil (from the garden, too.) At the end of the season I make a vat of pesto and freeze it in ice cube trays to use all winter.

  13. i’m guessing challah? i know what ciabatta is but have never heard of the other two. cilantro, dill, and basil are awesome!

  14. A, Challah! So yummy!!

    Mmmm…I love a good crisp cuc salad in the summer!

  15. I’m gonna go with A. Challah.

    These quiz questions are fun!

    My favorite herbs are thyme and basil!

  16. I don’t know anything about bread….. so I have no clue.

    I love cucumber salad… I have a great persian cucumber salad recipe that I should post on my blog soon 😉

  17. Thanks for mentioning Applegate Organic Turkey Burgers! Here is a comment from our customer Christina P: “Other than cold-water fish, this is the only meat I can have. I add a little sage and olive oil and they’re wonderful! Thanks for for being there.” http://bit.ly/aRBKXI

Leave a Reply

