A Weekend of Blogger Recipes!

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a good weekend and a good start to your morning. I just finished an 11 mile run averaging about 8:20 pace! WOO HOO…I feel great! I love to start my day (and week) off with a feel-good run! 

So this weekend I was a recipe tester! I made four different recipes that I have gotten from other fellow bloggers. It started on Saturday afternoon, for a snack I made April’s recipe for easy microwave pumpkin cake by mixing 1/2 cup pure pumpkin, 1/2 cup liquid egg whites, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, 1 packet stevia, and a small pinch of baking soda and then I microwaved it for about 5 minutes  and then I topped it with low-fat cottage cheese mixed with stevia and cinnamon. I followed April’s recipe exactly and really enjoyed it! I didn’t snap a photo because my dang camera batteries were dead so I am stealing the picture of it from  April’s blog. But mine looked almost identical to this!   

Pumpkin Cake from Foods of April

Then Sunday morning, I made Jessica’s vanilla cinnamon pecan butter. Again camera batteries still dead…I charged them right after this. So again, forgive me, but I am stealing Jessica’s picture. This was so good. We followed Jessica’s suggestion and mixed it in with our oats. Very nice!   

Jessica's Vanilla Cinnamon Pecan Butter

  Vanilla Cinnamon Pecan Butter  

 Makes ~3/4 cup  

 10 oz whole pecans   

1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract   

1/2 tablespoon cinnamon (more or less, depending on how you want it)   

1/8 teaspoon sea salt   

1/2 teaspoon canola oil   

Add pecans into food processor and grind until the become pasty. Add in vanilla, cinnamon, and oil and process until creamy, roughly 1-2 minutes.   

 Then on Sunday for dinner,  I made Julie’s Crockpot Beef. (I finally had charged batteries so this is actually my photo)It was so simple yet so delicious! PERFECT! All you do is place chucks of beef (like the kind pre-cubed for stew) in a crockpot with one family size can of cream of mushroom soup (I used the 98% fat-free kind) and then half a can of water. Cook on Low for 6-8 hours and wa-lah! Dinner is served!   

Julie's Crock Pot Beef

 And lastly I made me Kailey’s acorn squash fries. I have made butternut squash fries before but never thought to make acorn squash fries until I saw them on Kailey’s blog. Simply cut the acorn squash in half and de-seed it. Then I cut each half into strips, tossed them a little olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted them in the oven at 450 degrees for about 35-40 minutes…until they were crispy!   

Kailey's Acron Squash Fries

 Okay…that’s it! It was fun. I think this might be my new weekend tradition. Picking out recipes off blogs I like and trying them out! What do you think?   

 Did you make any new recipes this weekend?    

22 Responses

  1. What a fun idea!! I like it. And all of those looks SO delish…I didn’t make anything new this weekend…but it’s my goal for the rest of this week!!!

    Happy Monday Kelly!!

  2. I love finding new recipes through blogs!! Glad you liked it!!

  3. Ooh, I have all the ingredients for that pumpkin cake in my house.

    I made a lentil salad which was good.

  4. I finally mastered the blogger peanut butter cups this weekend
    And that pumpkin pie sounds so good, I’ll have to buy just egg whites, or try a whole egg

  5. blogger recipes are the best! i love all the ideas. i’m glad you liked the beef! doesn’t get much easier than that, huh?

  6. Those all look so good!!
    Dont you just love finding recipes on other peoples blogs? I get so excited about them!

  7. The recipe for vanilla cinnamon pecan butter sounds like heaven. I would eat that on top of everything… already thinking it would be good on top of my morning English muffin or mixed with banana slices.

    Yum!

  8. Oh man, those all look like great recipes, especially the pecan butter!!

    I, too, tried a new recipe this weekend and actually posted it this morning. Now I’ve got soup for the whole week!

  9. The pumpkin cake looks great! I have the ingredients!! I will be having that for dessert tonight! I just discovered April’s blog and love her little creations!! I just tried her protein cookie dough for the first time this weekend. OMG, love it!! 🙂 I also saw Jessica’s pecan butter and want to try it also. YUMMY!!

  10. They all look good.. you were busy baking this weekend.. I am a soup from vegetarian times it was pretty good.

  11. I saved every single one of those recipes! It all looks SO good! 🙂

  12. ooh, i’m intrigued by that pumpkin cake! you’ve had quite the busy weekend, i only baked cookies, lol.

  13. That’s so cool that you actually took the recipes from other blogs and then shared how it turned out for you. It’s so nice to see how blogging can benefit others!

    Man, 11 miles on a monday!? Good for you, girl!

  14. Great post! I love that pumpkin pie idea – quick ! I didn’t make anything new…I am too impatient and had store-bought goodies…too much :(…great freaking run and pace girl 🙂 yikes – i finally tried for the first time in ever and it sucked majorly …10 min pace…but oh well you take what you can right? thanks for commenting and reading my blog – love it :)!!

  15. Congrats on your 11 mile run! That’s a great pace!

    &Ahh all of these are amazing ideas for things I can cook this week :)- I’m going to the store later so I’m thinking about picking up some acorn squash after looking at those fries! Bloggie-inspired food is always so yummy and everyone comes up with such great ideas!

  16. Looks like a great weekend of bloggie eats! That pumpkin cake looks delicious…and I love any dessert I can make in a microwave!

  17. That was funny when I saw your picture I was like wow her’s came out exactly like mine! LOL. I’m so glad you liked it!!

Leave a Reply

