The random post about all things….

TGIF! It’s Friday…yay! I don’t know about you, but this week flew by for me! I am shocked today is Friday. Do you have fun plans for tonight? We don’t. Fridays tend to be like any other night for us because we still have to get up early and open the gym on Saturday mornings. But since tomorrow night we are definitely going to be watching the Cowboy wildcard game against Philly I am going to try to convince the hubs that tonight should be movie night! Santa brought me the movie Australia and I really want to see it! Has anyone else seen it?

Last night the hubs and I watched the national championship game between Texas and Alabama. Bummer that Bama won…but all’s fair in love & football, right? We had Keith’s all time favorite recipe for dinner: Chicken Adobo! The best part about this meal is that is ridiculously EASY! How great is it that Keith’s favorite recipe is probably one of the easiest ones of all time?! Lucky me! 🙂

Chicken Adobo

 Okay, bear with me really quickly but I REALLY need to gripe about this weather! Okay…seriously it is 22 degrees right now…I know the entire country is COLD but we southerners are not used to this. We are used to balmy 50 degree weathers and 100+ degree summers…this extreme cold is totally killing me!!! Okay…I’m done!

Moving on: I know everyone has that one thing they HATE to do in the kitchen. For me, it is hard boiling eggs. I literally despise to do it, but between me and Keith we eat about 12-18 a week. I only bring this up because we are totally out of eggs and I need to go boil some. Ugh…don’t make me! PLEASE!

What do you HATE to do in the kitchen?

But to be slightly informative…here is everything you ever wanted to know about the egg: 

 Lastly, I love to find inspirational quotes and I found one recently that really hit home with me. It said, “Trying to be perfect actually hinders your chances of being excellent.” That is me! Totally. I struggle with perfectionism in EVERYTHING that I do. But here’s the problem: since perfection is impossible that means I am always failing. That is a hard burden to carry every single day in everything I do. I know I don’t tend to reveal very personal things about myself (a stoic trait I am trying to break) but they always say that before you can correct something you have to own it first. So…I am owning it…right here with you. Being a perfectionist is really difficult and exhausting. Where does it come from? I have NO idea. But in an effort to start 2010 off right, I am trying to break the perfectionist cycle. so, if I accidently overcook dinner…it’s okay. If my workout isn’t the best that day…it’s okay. If I don’t get every item marked off my to-do list…it’s okay. IT DOESN’T MEAN I HAVE FAILED!

What things do you struggle with?

23 Responses

  1. I love the info about the egg!

    Hang in there with the cold weather! It will be warm again….soon I hope!

  2. I know, the cold weather is driving me nuts too!! Chicken adobo looks awesome! I really struggle with confidence, sometimes…not sure why! It has its ups and downs!

  3. I hate to CLEAN in the kitchen. My hubby always loads the dishwasher and cleans up.

  4. For about a minute, I was convinced the onion in the lower part of that pot was a fish eyeball, Lol

  5. You are the only person who thinks you fail. But in actuality, you succeed daily in far more things than most people do in a week. Give yourself credit. I think its time to have a daily glass of vino. New year resolution maybe? haha!

  6. I hate working with raw meat in the kitchen. It grosses me out so bad. I rarely ever cook it. If you see me eating chicken on my blog, chances are Andrew prepared it.

  7. That egg info is awesome! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    I am SO with you on the perfectionist thing. I struggle with it daily. I find I have to constantly remind myself that even a little is better than nothing and NO ONE IS PERFECT!

  8. I hate peeling eggs! I’ve tried every which way hard boiling them and they still don’t peel right!

  9. Happy Friday!

    Watching a movie is a good way to spend a Friday evening… maybe with a little popcorn, too! I really enjoyed “Australia.” Have fun!

  10. So cool to see this recipe on here! I’m a filipina and this is one of my favorite things to eat. I actually just made some last night, mixture of chicken & pork. Sooooo goooood!! 🙂

  11. I agree with Jessica – my least favorite thing in the kitchen is cleaning it! I don’t mind cooking boiled eggs anymore – put them in a pot of cold water, turn it on and set the timer for 20 min for good hard cooked eggs. I also hate failing and to me having something unfinished is nearly equivalent, regardless of whatever else during the day gets done. So, my husband suggested I look at the list of things that get done rather than focus on the undone at the end of the day. It helps. It also helps to recognize what things really need to be done perfectly (not much) and what just needs to be done (almost everything else!)

  12. peeeeeling hard boiled eggs is the worst! i really hate chopping up onions (i usually make ryan do that b/c they make me tear up) & i realllllly can’t stand peeling a butternut squash. no fun at all!

  13. Sorry to hear about Texas. Oklahoma had a rough season, and I felt absolutely horrible about Coly McCoy. Even though I’m a Sooner fan, you can’t help but like Colt.

    • Thanks!! I felt bad for him too! But since I went to A&M and was only really rooting for my conference I wasn’t that mad that Bama won. haha…maybe I really am a “hater” underneath! 🙂

  14. Least favorite thing in the kitchen….chopping onions! ‘i don’t like onions cause they make me cry” (old Ritz commercial 🙂 ) But seriously, they do and I hate it! Too bad they seem to be in EVERYHTING I make 🙂

  15. Ah, I’m a perfectionist too, and I live every day like it’s a race– that is what I struggle with. I’m using 2010 as an excuse to work on that as well. 🙂
    Happy Friday!

    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  16. what a great quote!!

Leave a Reply

