Comfort Food At Its Finest!

Thanks to everyone who played my trivia game yesterday! Those yummy mushrooms were Morels! Good job for everyone who got it right! I have written all your names down for the drawing at the end of the month. Be sure to check next Wednesday for trivia question #2! 

Okay so dinner last night was FABULOUS if I do say so myself! I was craving nachos and since I am out to prove that even the classic comfort foods CAN be healthy…here is my creation. I adapted this from my George Foreman cookbook! 

CHICKEN LIME NACHOS 

Nacho Goodness!

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts 

1/2 cup lime juice 

1 teaspoon pepper 

1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder 

1 tablespoon olive oil 

1 cup frozen corn kernels 

1/3 cup red onion, chopped 

1 teaspoon cumin 

tortilla chips (I used the yellow corn tortilla chips by Guiltless Gourmet) 

  

Cut chicken in small strips 

Combine lime juice, pepper, chili powder and olive oil and use it to coat chicken. Marinate chicken for at least half an hour. 

While chicken is marinating, cut up onion and cook corn. Toss these with an additional 1 tablespoon of lime juice. 

Grill or pan-fry marinated chicken pieces. (I grilled mine on the GF Grill) When finished, add them to the salsa mixture. 

Serve over tortilla chips. Add cheese if desired (I shredded up cheddar almond cheese by Lisanatti and it was perfect!) 

Serves: 4 

Including the chips and almond cheese: 322 Calories, 8.1g Fat (1.2g saturated fat); 34mg Cholesterol; 96mg Sodium; 34.0g Carbohydrates; 3.6g Fiber; 1.1g Sugar; 23g Protein 

 __________________________________________________________________________________________ 

This morning has been great, so far, I just finished a chill 14 mile run at 8:40 pace. Felt GREAT! I didn’t actually plan on doing 14 this morning but once I got started and found my rhythm is just felt too good to stop!

How was your Thursday workout this morning?

 

So tonight is the College National Championship Game! Since I live in Austin, Texas I am definitely rooting for the LONGHORNS! (Even though I went to the rival Texas A&M I have to support my state and my conference..Go BIG 12!) 

GO HORNS!

Are you going to watch the game? 

Who are you rooting for…the Texas Longhorns or the Alabama Crimson Tide?  

21 Responses

  1. Those look amazing! I LOVE nachos!!

  2. Well, I graduated from OU so there is absolutely no way I will be rooting for the Longhorns.

    Plus, OU and Alabama have always had a mutual respect for each other, so I will be rooting for them!

    Can’t wait to watch the game though!

  3. I am curious about the almond cheese – does it melt? Thursday work out was tough but good! And, of course, I will be rooting for my alma mater – Hook ’em!

    • Yes…almond cheese melts really well actually. You can find it at Whole Foods. Try it…it is so much easier on the tummy than dairy cheeses!

  4. YUM!! Those nachos sound so good!

  5. CHICKEN LIME NACHOS? YUM!!!

  6. Longhorns all the WAY!!

  7. Almond cheese?! I didn’t even know it existed. I’ll say it again… You find the BEST stuff! I normally throw the chicken in the crockpot and pull it apart for dinner. Then I just slice up a tortilla with a pizza cutter and toast them for chips. Would much rather have tortilla chips though 🙂

    • Thanks Kristen! I love almond cheese because it is easy on the tummy, gluten-free, low fat, soy-free and cholesterol free. And the kicker…it tastes SO good!!

  8. I loooove healthy nachos!! Such an easy and totally yummy meal. Your version looks amazing!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  9. Hook ’em Horns!

    I also love healthy nachos – I like to make them like a tuna melt…little bits of tuna on each one. Yummmy. Yours look great, too. Have a good one!

    • Your tuna nachos look AWESOME too! I saw them on your blog (last week??). I can always eat nachos so I am going to try your version this weekend probably! 🙂

  10. Nachos are great, but healthy ones are even better! They taste good and they don’t make you feel bad for eating them afterwards.

  11. Those nachos look delicious!! I’ll have to make them sometime b/c I know my husband would love them!!

    My friend is in Pasadena right now for the game. Hook ’em! 😉 (I’m actually not a football fan, but always support whoever my friends are cheering for, haha!)

  12. love this recipe! I just turned a greasy chili cheese fries into a healthy one too!

    Who says you cant have nachos and fries? – just amke them yourself and make them healthy!

  13. ok now i’m craving nachos!!! yum… too bad i’m still at work 😦

    i’m not a big college football fan, probably b/c our school didn’t have a team! nfl all day sunday though 🙂

  14. your chicken lime nachos looks yummy! Thursday workout consisted of 45 min. interval on the elliptical. I’m about to do my evening workout – yoga & abs 🙂

  15. I bet you are watching the game right now as we are… Go HORNS!

Leave a Reply

