MY RANT!

First, let’s start with dinner last night. It was EASY-PEASY! Don’t you love those?! We had chicken thighs (boneless and skinless) baked simply in a little olive oil and sprinkled with poultry seasoning. Served with a side of organic au gratin potatoes and some basic steamed broccoli (with a lemon for some flav-ah!) Delish! I love those easy meals that look complicated but aren’t.

Keith's Plate

Okay, time for my RANT! I know you guys have seen the commercial for the drive-thru Taco Bell Diet. Christine (aka the equivalent of Subway’s Jared) has apparently lost 54 pounds by choosing the Al Fresco items off the Taco Bell menu in place of her daily fast food choices! Okay I have 1 word: REALLY!?!?! This is what we have come to…endoursing Taco Bell as a healthy way to lose weight?? Let’s not mention that most of the burritos on the Al Fresco menu are still so high in sodium that eating ONE comes dangerously close to the daily recommended intake of 1500mg! And if you think the tacos are better…order 2 and you’ve hit the limit! So again…I ask…REALLY?!?! 

REALLY?!?!

 What ever happened to good old-fashioned exercise and healthy eating? I am not saying that there is anything wrong with indulging in Taco Bell (or any other fast food place for that matter) on occasion, but trying to convince me that following the Taco Bell Diet is healthy? Never. Sorry.

How do you feel about the Taco Bell Diet? 

On a more fun note; check out this article on the 125 Best Foods For Women according to Women’s Health Magazine.  It is broken down into all kinds of catergories…you may find some of the results interesting! Happy reading! 🙂

23 Responses

  1. Mt favorite part of that commercial is her saying ‘I really wanted to lose weight, but didn’t want to give up my fast food.’

    UM, WHAT?!?!? Fast food is garbage. There is no way of knowing what you are eating. And it is so unsanitary. Blah!

    It’s just ridiculous. Wonder how long it will stick?

  2. I know– these commercials kind of made me laugh, but then when I started thinking about it, I got kind of pissed off. Americans have enough health problems without diet endorsements from the fast food industry. Talk about wolves in sheeps’ clothing.

  3. I will admit to giving in to fast food on occasion, but I am no idiot. I do not believe that it is one of my better choices just because it is on the fresca menu. If I do eat there I do order those items just because they have more vegetables.

    Marketing is marketing…it is still ultimately the consumers’ responsibility to know what is good and bad. Do I think they should have to include a statement everytime they airbrush a body or face for an ad? YES!!! I do think that type of deception is WRONG. There is no way she looks like that simply from eating fresca. Last time I checked that kind of muscle tone was not achieved by diet alone.

  4. I’m with you! My idea of a diet is eating as much food as you want, so long as it’s healthy, and kicking your own but in the gym.

  5. It’s things like this that get my blood boiling! It perpetuates our perception that “Fast Food” can have healthy choices. Comparatively, it’s healthier than other things on their menu, but it’s not as healthy as, oh I don’t know, making your own burrito?!?

  6. The first time I saw the add I was waiting for the hahaha punch line… I was so shocked.. really taco bell… anyone on a 1200 cal diet can lose weight. The big problem where they don’t talk about on the commercial is each serving has over 700 mg of sodium… I really wish instead of the taco bell, subway, nutrisystem etc they would advertise healthy eating and living.

    • Me too…when I first saw the commercial I thought it was a joke. Literally I could have picked my jaw off the floor when I realized it was serious!

  7. Ummm…yeah! SO true about that stupid diet! It does sound like a joke. It’s going to make women go out and do that instead of cooking their own meals!! No, don’t fall for it!!!

  8. oh eek, I hadnt seen that! Thats insane! I cant even imagine having to eat that all the time! And you know all these people will just turn to Taco Bell now and think they are doing themselves a good thing.

  9. i’m glad you’re ranting today too 🙂 makes me feel better about the rant I wrote on my blog today! haha

    I think the taco bell diet is stupid. If someone wants to go on a diet, their first thought should not be “OH YEAH! Let’s go to Taco Bell!”
    Is there a huge disclaimer saying that you should hold the cheese, sour cream and tortilla?

    I personally love Taco Bell; however, them going around saying they are good for diets sounds like a joke.

  10. I know – the Taco Bell diet is just so crazy. What will they come up with next?!!?

  11. Holy Cow – can’t even believe that Taco Bell would try something like that! Is the American public really that gullible?

  12. Oh man, I saw that yesterday too!! Makes me so mad. I HOPE people will be smart enough not to try anything that silly but you never know…

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  13. During lunch yesterday, my co-workers and I had a good laugh over the news… I think the “Taco Bell Diet” is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Maybe she lost weight, but what are her numbers now? How’s her blood pressure, her cholesterol levels, etc? Just because someone looks good on the outside doesn’t mean they look good on the inside. It saddens me to think that some people will jump on the Taco Bell bandwagon and try this “diet.”

  14. BUT…if people do choose items off the al fresco menu (or whatever it’s called) INSTEAD of their normal Taco Bell items…it is an improvement…albeit a small one. With 2/3 of the population overweight or obese, I think any place making healthier items avaiable is a good thing. We can’t change all the things wrong overnight, but I do see this as a good (tiny) step in a better direction… Most people aren’t as health-conscious as you, Kel, so if this does get people to go from eating 4,000 calories a day to 3,000 or 2,500…

    • I see that point too! DEFINITELY! I mean eating an al fresco menu item is thousands times better than eating a double cheeseburger for sure! I guess what bothers me the most is that they are inferring that all she did was follow the Taco Bell diet to lose 54 pounds. When if you read the fine print it says she restrcited her caloric intake to 1250 calories a day and worked out 5-7 days a week. It is just a tad dishonest by making us think the ONLY thing she did differently was eat Taco Bell.

      With that said…I 100% AGREE that baby steps are key and if someone chooses an al fresco item over the double whopper then success has been made.

  15. Wow – I hadnt seent his yet. These things make me mad. They promote these things as healthy and theyre not. Maybe compared to the other options, but in reality youre just slowly rotting out your insides!!
    This reminds me of the gum commercials, I think it was for Extra when they called it a 5 calorie snack. GUM IS NOT A SNACK!

  16. Hey Kelly! So glad you found my blog so that I could find you!! 🙂 Your blog looks great and I look forward to keeping up with you!! Also just read that about “Kelly’s Corner.” That is awesome!! Good luck with that!!!! 🙂

    I’ve heard about that Taco Bell diet too and it is so crazy to me. I just know that some people out there who are not very knowledgable about health and proper diets are going to start eating Taco Bell every single day thinking it’s ok. Taco Bell and diet just shouldn’t be in the same sentence, in my opinion. I see nothing wrong grabbing some TB once a week, but to make people believe that they’re going to lose weight by incorporating into their regular diets is just sickening to me. Shame on TB if you ask me.

  17. I was kind of hoping the commercial was a joke. Like, surely everyone realizes thats ridiculous.

    And thanks for the sweet comment on my post today.

  18. I definitely thought it was joke. That would have been funny. Instead, it is just sad. http://ribsramblings.wordpress.com/2010/01/07/77/

Leave a Reply

