More Beach Fun, Food, and Movies!

Still beaching it up on Padre Island!! I have until Saturday and I am making every minute count!!!

I have also seen 2 more movies: Kill Bill Volume 1 and 2. I didn’t think I would like them but I did. I am now an Uma-convert…I actually think I like her. 

Today my mom is making her famous bison beer chili! So excited…she started it this morning so our condo smells amazing!! Here is the recipe ala Cheryl! 

BISON BEER CHILI 

  • 4 pounds ground bison
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, diced + 2-3 whole cloves
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce
  • 6 Tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 4 bottles beer (my mom uses Shiner Boc)
  • 1/2 cup Quinoa, optional

Heat oil in a large stockpot. Add meat to brown. Pour off liquid. Add beer, onion, garlic and quinoa. Cover and simmer 10 minutes. Add all other ingredients. Add additional water if needed, to cover meat. 

Cook for 1 1/2 hours or more at a low boil. 

Serves 10-12 

Nutritional Facts (based on 12 servings): 325.5 Calories; 9.5g Fat (5.4g saturated fat); 93.7mg Cholesterol; 519.8mg Sodium; 770.5mg Potassium; 16.7g Carbohydrate; 2.9g Fiber; 2.6g Sugar; 35.8g Protein 

 
Later tonight we plan to watch Florida and Cincinnati in the Sugar Bowl. My stepdad, Jim, is a Florida alum so it should be a loud and noisy night! 🙂

 

Oh…last thing. Another product review! After my run on the beach this morning I made another one of my protein shakes but I used Jay Robb Egg Protein Powder. (chocolate flavor) It contains NO dairy, casein, lactose, fructose, aspartame (it is sweetened with Stevia), gluten, wheat, or cholesterol. Each packet has 120 calories, 0g fat, 4g carbohydrates and 24g protein. I mixed it with unsweetened chocolate almond breeze, lots of ice, and half a banana. It was YUM! I liked the taste just as much as the Luna mix I reviewed earlier this week. But I especially like that this protein is lactose and caisen free (since it is egg protein and not whey protein) so for those of you who have dairy sensitivities this would be perfect! 

 

   
8 Responses

  1. Awww…I wish I was at the beach!!! Keep having fun!

  2. I love Kill Bill! Nothing like a woman kickin arse 😀

    Mmmm…Bison chili looks great!

    Happy New Year!!!

  3. Love me some jay robb! The bars are pretty good too! Oh and bison chili, can you bring some back to me? haha! jk. But that is definitely a recipe to try out in our household, yum!

    LC

  4. Are you in North or South Padre Island? I lived in North Padre for awhile 🙂

  5. I totally think you should have bought those peace sunglasses 🙂

  6. Sounds like a great time!

  7. I have lived in TX for 3 years now and have not been to Padre Island yet.! Have a blast!

Leave a Reply

