Happy Tuesday

Happy Tuesday! Hope everyone is having a good day so far! This morning has been very chill for me at the beach. I got up and ran 7 miles…nice…came home and have done NOTHING! Love it! We did watch Inglorious Basterds last night…it was really good!

Great Movie!

This morning after my 7 miler (8:05 minute mile pace) I had another protein smoothie but this time I used the Luna Strawberry Banana Recovery mix. (I blended it with vanilla almond breeze and ice) It was tasty too but I think I preferred yesterday’s Dark Chocolate Flavor better. But overall I am impressed with these and will definitely keep buying them!

Strawberry Banana Flavor

I found a very interesting article about weight loss and the scale. How many of you use the scale to measure your weight loss success? Sometimes the scale isn’t the best indicator to use to measure your fitness goals. Since lean muscle mass weighs more than fat you might not lose weight quickly at first even though you are lowering your body fat percentage. Rather use your clothes as a guide. Are your clothes fitting better? Are you losing inches? Sometimes that is a better way to check in than by using a number on a scale. Here are 4 signs that you might be a little scale obsessed:

  1. You constantly worrying about weighing in
  2. You weigh more than once a day
  3. You can recite your weight to the nearest fraction at all times
  4. The scale determines how you feel about yourself for that day

Try not to use weight loss as your goal but rather look at it as the result of a healthy lifestyle that includes a healthy diet and regular exercise. Sometimes ditching the scale is the best thing you can do for yourself! And if that number is important to you try only weighing in once a week at most. 🙂

Alright I am off to go beat the hubs at boggle! Well…maybe!

Oh…and their is a HUGE vitatop giveaway from Iowa Girl!

 

14 Responses

  1. holy cow! you’re a speed demon!

  2. yay for 7 miles 😀 that is an awesome running pace!!

    great article – I too think being a slave to the scale is dangerous – weight does not define us. Plus I would rather weigh more and have more muscle than be skin and bones.

  3. I have 10lbs to lose to reach my total goal of 35lbs lost. Instead of using the scale all the time I have been using pants sizes. I think judging my fitness abilities will definitely be a better choice!

  4. I hardly ever use a scale. i prefer to measure my goals by how i’m feeling and how my clothes fit – i find scales to be discouraging!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. 7 miles is amazing! You ROCK!!

    I used to let the scale rule my life, but now I only weigh-in once a week. Depending on the day, my weight can go up or down by as much as 4 lbs, so as you mentioned, I had to learn to let my clothes be my guide. I know how it feels to get on the scale and feel disappointment for the rest of the day just because I didn’t like the number.

    • EXACTLY!!!! I personally weigh about once a month…maybe. I just feel like if my clothes still fit and I feel good then a number is just a number and it really means nothing. I prefer to measure my success with my mileage and increasing my running times!

  6. Thanks for the movie review. I’ve been wanting to see that one.

    I am obsessed with the scale and it does all those things it said up there. I’m weighing tomorrow and if I wake up feeling great and light if that number isn’t what I want i’ll feel like a fat cow. I need an intervention.

  7. I haven’t seen that one yet so I’m really glad you like it! Makes me want to go rent it now! That smoothie looks absolutely delicious! I weigh myself every now and then but I don’t go by the scale at all when it comes to how I feel about my health or anything like that. Part of what bugs me about The Biggest Loser is that they go by weight rather than fat loss. If they’re working out THAT much, then they’re gaining muscle which is going to alter the scale.

    • I, myself, am not a big fan of the Biggest Loser. I agree that the concept is good…that losing weight and having a healthy lifestyle is about hard work and there isn’t really any “quick fix” but for some reason I think the show also plants unrealistic ideals into people’s minds about how quickly they can (and should) drop that kind of weight!

  8. You’re a speed demon!!!

    I weigh myself every morning, more out of habit than anything else. I know that it’s not always accurate, but what can I say– it’s a habit!

  9. Thanks for commenting. Your in my reader and I look forward to reading more of your blog!

  10. […] am not going to weigh myself this morning.  After reading this post and this post I want to have a good day.  My mom and I are going up north to the la-tee-da […]

Leave a Reply

