You Just Thought I Was Done…

So you might have thought after my all-day Sunday baking day that I was finished, right? WRONG! Yesterday I made a gluten-free Pumpkin Pie for my hubby (his fave) and Pineapple Meatloaf (another household staple) for dinner. I also made the gingerbread for the Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle I will be making for Christmas Eve.
 I am also responsible for the Christmas Eve dinner since it is at my house. The menu will be Chicken Tortilla Soup and Tamales! Plus for Christmas Day I am making my traditional Raw Broccoli Salad and a 5-cup Fruit Salad to take to my Mom’s. Okay…now calm down, all of those recipes will be coming in the next few days, but for now let’s stick with the Pumpkin Pie and the Pineapple Meatloaf, shall we?

PUMPKIN PIE (GLUTEN-FREE)

Keith's GF Pumpkin Pie

1 unbaked 9 inch gluten-free pie crust (I use the Whole Foods brand)

3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

2 large eggs

1 can (15 oz) canned 100% pure pumpkin

1 can (12 oz) fat-free evaporated milk

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Mix sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves in a small bowl. Beat eggs in a large bowl and stir in pumpkin and spice mixture. Gradually stir in the evaporated milk. Pour into pie shell.

Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350 degrees and bake for another 40-50 minutes (or until knife inserted comes out clean).  Cool on a wire rack for 2 hours and either serve or refrigerate.

Serves: 8

247.3 Calories; 6.8g Fat (2.3g saturated fat); 55mg Cholesterol; 323.7mg Sodium; 41.2g Carbohydrate; 3.5g Fiber; 29.3g Sugar; 7.1g Protein

PINEAPPLE MEATLOAF

Meatloaf with a Pineapple Twist

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup steel-cut oats (or 1/2 cup regular oats)

1/2 onion, finely chopped

1/2  red bell pepper (or any color of your choice)

1/4  teaspoon salt

1 pound lean ground beef

8 ounces crushed pineapple, drained

BBQ sauce

Combine egg, oats, onion, bell pepper and salt. Add beef and pineapple. Mix well. Place in a 8 x 8 baking dish and bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes or until meat is no longer pink. Top with BBQ sauce and bake for another 3 minutes.

Yields: 4 servings

CALORIES 235.9; FAT 8.6g (3.4g saturated fat); CHOLESTEROL 118.1mg; SODIUM 138.6mg; CARBOHYDRATE 13g; FIBER 1.4g; SUGAR 7.1g; PROTEIN 26.6g

 

10 Responses

  1. Ohmigosh I LOVE that meatload idea! How delish!!

  2. i’m intrigued by that pineapple meatloaf… might have to give it a try! can’t believe you’re still baking 😉 that pumpkin gingerbread trifle will be a hit!

    ps- pierogies are sort of like ravioli, or maybe a potato dumpling. much better homemade 😉

    • I am seriously going to try the peirogi recipe after the holidays. It sounds great…can you basically just fill them with whatever you want?

  3. […] a TWIST…. Posted on December 30, 2009 by Kelly So last night for dinner we had my pineapple meatloaf topped with BBQ sauce! (So yum) and instead of meatloaf and mashed potatoes (gotta love that […]

  4. 😯 I am just now getting to your recipes and am IN LOVE with this idea for pineapple meatloaf. Oh yum! I wish I had seen this before I hit the grocery store!! Will definitly be making soon and will let you know what I do so 🙂

  5. […] The reason for the post name is that I am devoting this day to two of Kelly’s recipes: Peanut Butter Jelly Muffins and her Pineapple Meatloaf!!  […]

  6. […] here…trust me…you WANT this!) so last night it was just me and Keith! I made my pineapple meatloaf! We love this! And it definitely hit the spot! Paired with some fresh steamed broccoli you got no […]

  7. […] this wasn’t just any meatloaf.  It was pineapple meatloaf (think Hawaiian and instead of pizza we’re adding some funk to meatloaf).  The best part […]

  8. […] the week ahead (ironed, cut up a fruit salad) and then started up on dinner, which consisted of Kelly’s Pineapple Meatloaf, Chobani Mashed Potatoes and Roasted […]

Leave a Reply

