Even More Cookies?!?

It’s the holidays people…so forgive all the cookie posts! 🙂 But I want to be able to provide you guys with alternatives to traditional fat-laden holiday desserts! These cookies are AWESOME! I got the recipe from a sweet woman, Pam, who is a member of a weekly healthy recipe & cooking email I am a part of. So add these onto your holiday baking list…you will NOT be disappointed! With that…I hope everyone is having a Happy Hump Day!

CHOCOLATE COVERED CHERRY COOKIES

1½ cup flour

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp baking powder

½ cup softened butter

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 ½ tsp vanilla

1 10 oz jar maraschino cherries

1 6 oz package semi sweet chocolate chips

½ cup sweetened condensed milk

 

 Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large mixing bowl.  Set aside.

 In another bowl, beat butter and sugar on low-speed until fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla and beat until blended.

 Gradually add in flour mixture until smooth.

 Shape into 1 inch balls by rolling a small amount of dough between your palms.  Place on an ungreased cookie sheet.

 Using your thumb, make an indentation in each ball.  Drain cherries, reserving juice, and cut cherries in half.  Place  half of a cherry in the indentation of each cookie.

 For frosting: In a small sauce pan combine chocolate chips and condensed milk.  Heat over low heat until chocolate is melted.  Add 1 Tbsp and 1 tsp of reserved cherry juice and stir.  Spoon about 1 tsp frosting over each cherry, spreading to cover the cherry.  If frosting gets too thick, add a little more juice.  Note:  Frost the cookies before baking.

 Bake cookies at 350 for 10 – 12 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack.

 Makes 48 cookies

Per Cookies: 87.7 CALORIES; 3.3g FAT (2.17g saturated fat); 11.48mg CHOLESTEROL; 30.5mg SODIUM; 12.1g CARBOHYDRATES; 0.7g FIBER; 7.8g SUGAR; 1.25g PROTEIN

I’m sending these to Susan, from Food Blogga for her Christmas Cookie Roundup! Click here to find out how to submit your own recipe (hurry, time’s running out!), and click here for the roundup and more ideas!

 

10 Responses

  1. ooh, i love chocolate covered cherries!!! might have to try these ones out, too… and then give them all away 🙂

  2. Oh, Kelly, these look amazing! And there’s never a need to apologize for too many cookies. 😉

  3. I just made these and tried one… yum! Thanks for the recipe! Took awhile to prepare but worth it in the end. However, I just realized why I had so much of the frosting left over… I used a 14 oz bag of chocolate chips!

    • Yay! I am so glad you liked them Cindy! Aren’t they awesome?!? That’s funny about the frosting but, to me, you don’t need a cookie to enjoy frosting!! haha! 🙂

  4. MMM chocolate covered cherries are my absolute FAV!! i have to try this recipe! thank you for sharing!! great blog!

  5. Hey I wanted to get some family members of mine some really nice Valentine’s Day gifts. Valentine’s Day is tomorrow and I still dont have any ideas. Can you guys give me some good ideas please. Thanks

  6. […] Living with Kelly from Austin, Texas Despite being thick, moist, and fudgy, Kelly’s Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies are low in fat. She promises they won’t disappoint. I believe her. Sugar Plum Fairy of […]

  7. so many healthy recipes to choose from on the internet*-.

  8. Valuable info. Lucky me I found your site by chance, and I’m surprised why this twist of fate did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

