Holidays! Holidays! Holidays!

Happy Tuesday!! I had an awesome 10 mile run this morning (although it was EARLY!!)  I was on the treadmill at 5:00 a.m. because I had to get finished and rush to the dentist by 8:00! Verdict: PERFECT TEETH! Yay! Dinner last night was nothing special…I revisited my fish sandwich because it was easy, healthy and convenient.  Also yesterday I finished my annual “Holiday Letter!”

Do you have any special holiday traditions? On mine and Keith’s first Christmas together (as a married couple) I wrote him a personal “holiday letter” that just recapped our year. It has become a tradition that every year I write Keith a holiday letter and I read it aloud to him every Christmas morning. It has become a sweet moment that we share…just us. I So now that I finished, I am SO excited to read it to him next week!

 Question: What is your own special holiday tradition?

________________________________________________________________________________

BREAKOUT RECIPE: HOLIDAY APPETIZER

Spinach Artichoke Dip

1 package (10 ounces) frozen spinach
1 bag (14 ounces) frozen artichokes
2 8 ounce packages light cream cheese
1 T lemon juice
1 small onion, minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 c parmesan cheese
1/2 t red-pepper flakes
1/2 t oregano
salt, pepper to taste
nonstick cooking spray
(Optional garnishes: minced red bell pepper or chopped tomatoes)

Spray a medium pot with nonstick cooking spray. Add garlic and onions and cook over medium heat until they’re translucent, about five minutes.

Put thawed and drained frozen spinach in food processor and pulse a few times to chop. Add artichokes and pulse a few more times. The mixture should be chunky.

Add spinach and artichokes to pot, along with cream cheese, oregano, red pepper and lemon juice. Heat until bubbly, then add parmesan cheese and salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with red bell pepper or tomato (if desired) Serve immediately.

Number of Servings: 20 (2 tablespoons)

65.9 Calories; 4.2g Fat; 13.3mg Cholesterol; 192.3mg Sodium; 3.8g Carbohydrate; 0.9g Fiber; 3.8g Protein

7 Responses

  1. spinach dip is classic! definitely one of the best holiday appetizers (and appetizers in general if you ask me!).

  2. We don’t have a huge hoilday tradition yet since we just got married, but each year that we’ve been together, my hubby has gotten me an ornament from Tiffany’s. 🙂

  3. ooh, spinach artichoke is one of my favorites 🙂 i need to make that again soon! love your pumpkin cookies a few posts back, too…. mmm, cookies. haha

    i love baking with my mom around the holidays. we’ve also recently taking up pierogi making together every thanksgiving/xmas!

  4. […] have a picture of this because it will be made to be served immediately.   I also made my HEALTHY Spinach Artichoke Dip. Again no picture because it will be baked to serve immediately as well. Both are served with […]

Leave a Reply

