Protein Browies a la Peanut Butter Fingers!

I was on my favorite blog site: Peanut Butter Fingers and I saw her recipe for a carbless brownie. Needless to say I was intrigued! Below is her post that I copied from her site:

-From Peanut Butter Fingers: My carbless brownie (which I’ve dubbed my protein brownie) is my snack of choice when those 3 p.m. munchies hit. I use All the Whey protein powder (my favorite flavors are chocolate peanut butter cup and cup cake batter) to make the “brownie.” Now don’t go expecting Duncan Hines-quality brownies because the density and moisture just isn’t there, but this little substitute is a great way for me to sneak extra protein into my diet since I do not particularly enjoy protein shakes or really crave meat. 

 
 Protein Brownie

Protein Brownie

 Ingredients:

One scoop protein powder of choice

One egg white

Pinch of baking soda

 Little bit of water

 Nuts (optional)

 Directions:

Combine ingredients, adding just enough water to make the “batter” moist. Microwave on high for one minute. Your brownie will puff up a lot and then deflate. Enjoy immediately while still warm and moist. This brownie is also good topped with yogurt and fresh berries.

 Again, this will not taste anything like the ooey-gooey brownies you’re used to but remember that this brownie is actually good for you! Some will love it, some will hate it”

Okay my verdict! LOVED IT! She is right that it isn’t going to taste like a normal brownie and some of you will hate it…but it is definitely a good little snack to get in some extra protein. This is going to become a regular snack staple for me!! THANKS JULIE!!  

4 Responses

  1. hooray so glad you liked it. can’t you see how some people might not though? i just LOVE it! i eat it almost everday as an afternoon snack w/ a hanful of nuts mixed in. yummy! definitely try it w/ a bunch of different protein powder flavors. 🙂

    • I can see how not everyone would like them. I used chocolate protein powder but I am definitely going to be experimenting with other flavors! This was great!

  2. Intrigued! I saw a recipe on whole foods site for a GF brownie based on black beans. Haven’t dared try it….

Leave a Reply

