I <3 Thursday

Good morning! I am feeling nice and good this morning. Thank you workout! I was a little short on time this morning and knew I wouldn’t be able to get in a normal run so I figure if you can’t go long you might as well go fast, right? I laced up the shoes and headed out on my 7 mile loop. Exactly 53 minutes later I walked in my door…sweet!! I think that is about 7:37/pace right? Don’t check my math…it is too early! haha!!

Dinner last night was also quite tasty! Keith bought some macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi from Costco last week and so we tried it out. The verdict! YUM! We would definitely buy this again! I steamed some fresh squash and zucchini to go along with and it was a meal I happily gobbled up! :)

Goodness!!

So I think I have mentioned before that should I ever get the chance to meet Venus Williams, I know we would be great friends! :) I love her! She is my favorite tennis player and I have enjoyed seeing her thus far in the French Open. Did anyone see her outfit she wore in her match against Arantxa Parra Santonja  last Sunday? No? Check it out:

Bringing SEXY back!

Some people were talking about how she should be embarrassed to be playing in what is essentially looks like bedroom attire. She and her sister, Serena, have always been in the spotlight for their amazing tennis skills but also for their fashion sense. I personally think that she owned it! I mean how awesome…she is a bad-ass tennis player who is not afraid to show a feminine style. Some people say it is inappropriate because young girls look up to her. To which, I make the point that I think it shows total confidence and body acceptance that she would wear that! I think she shows that athletic can be sexy and I see nothing wrong with that. And it isn’t any worse than some other so-called role models to young girls…insert Brittney Spears! I say ROCK ON VENUS and let’s go win the French Open!

What do you think? Are you okay with this outfit?

50 Responses

  1. I love it! I think she should wear what she is comfortable in, and this is clearly it!

  2. I agree– I think it shows body confidence. I read some really nasty things that people (mostly men) were saying about her, and I think it just shows how some people (usually men) can be so intimidated by the idea of a strong female who can A. kick ASS and B. Look good while doing it.

  3. I gotta disagree with everyone so far, I am so not okay with this outfit! To look like a lady and show your femininity I don’t think you have to dress like you just walked out of victoria secret. Save that stuff for off the court and kick ass (as she does) on the court dressed more appropriately.

  4. Each to his own is the way i see it. Who am I to judge????

  5. I’m on Jill’s side for this argument. Venus is an amazing athlete and awesome tennis player. But I think her fashion sense is questionable at best. Dressing ridiculous and over the top doesn’t mean she has a good sense of style. She should try to stand out by show casing her amazing skills, not wearing crazy “costumes” on the tennis court.

    Plus it doesn’t look that comfy. Lace is itchy! Haha.

  6. I think she looks like a) she woke up late and had to wear her sexy lingerie to the match or else she wouldn’t make it or b) she’s playing on Halloween. I think there’s a difference between being feminine and dressing in lingerie. Doesn’t she stand out enough with the way she plays tennis?

  7. I get the fact that the Williams sisters like to be “fashion forward” on the tennis scene. So I have no problem with that- I’m just not a fan of the outfit itself. I dont’ really think it looks like lingerie or anything, I just don’t like it….

  8. If I looked like Venus I’d wear it too. I say who cares and agree with Heather “Who am I to judge?” It’s very “Burlesque” though hey ;)

  9. i totally love the outfit. I dont like Serena’s outfits as much though…but Venus usually wears something that looks great on her. I love how muscular they are and yet still so beautiful. Def the role model I want my future daughter to look up too!

  10. not to sound like a total lame-o prude, but i’m not a fan. it looks so much like lingerie to me and i think there’s a time and a place for outfits like that. she can easily wear something feminine and flattering that doesn’t resemble a negligee, even if she does look fantastic in it.

  11. I think it actually covers more than some other tennis outfits out there, especially ones Anna Kournikova used to wear. But I agree with Amy, I don’t think the outfit is very attractive either.

  12. heh. its not the front of the outfit that was so controversial — but she wore flesh-colored bloomers which basically made it look like she had nothing on underneath. You could see her butt crack and everything. I’m not a prude but even I had to gawk at the NSFWish photos of her booty on the internet. She had to know people would talk and I think that’s what she was going for — so more power to her! if you’re a badass, you can get away with it. :-)

    • Haha…I know. She totally looked bare under there! But since she is such a badass we might as well look at her truly bad ass! haha! :)

  13. I don’t really care that it resembles lingering or anything like that, or how much she’s exposing. I just think she looks ridiculous, really the only place that outfit belongs is the bedroom. It just looks stupid worn out in public, haha.

  14. I think she should wear whatever she wants but sorry that is an ugly outfit….looks trashy in my opinion but to each its own ;)

  15. I have to admit that I was shocked when I saw that tennis outfit on tv, but I love it!

  16. i love how she does it regardless of the critics. she does her thing. and she really puts forth the whole “tough” thing, but still has a bit of “girly” in her too..neat.

    love mahi mahi….i should try to roll it in some crust type things (nuts or oats or something) might be good.

  17. Rock on Venus! She should be able to wear whatever she wants…if she has that confidence, I say do it!

  18. I think it’s a cute outfit! I mean, I don’t think I’d personally wear it…but I think she rocks it :)

  19. I am sort of on the fence about it. On the one hand, yes it shows that she’s comfortable wearing whatever. But on the other hand it sort of reinforces society’s demand that women athletes have to wear sexy small clothes. If you compare women’s gear to men’s, the difference is huge. Men can be in huge bulky baggy clothes while women must be in either skirts or some other short form-fitting gear.

    Love mahi-mahi! Such a great light tasting fish. :D

  20. If you got it, flaunt it! And she’s definitely got it. Go girl!

    • Exaclty…if my body looked like that I would flaunt it too!! Did you know she is our age? She is about to turn 30! I am not sure if she graduated in 1999 or 1998 but I am totally in awe that she is our age! I don’t know why that surprises me….

  21. I love Venus (although I am a bigger fan of Serena). They are both awesome tennis players and so much fun to watch.

    I’m not a fan of the outfit. I don’t think is inappropriate, I just think it’s ugly.

    • Did you read Serena’s biography? It is REALLY good! I definitely recommend it! I honestly never liked Serena until I read her book. I always thought she was a jealous baby little sister and acted like one. But after reading her book I completely changed my mind about her. I still think she is kind of a brat (haha) but what is so great is that she owns it and admits to that in her book. She is really real and I respect her a lot more now! But Venus is definitely my favorite player. I just love her! :)

      • I did and I loved it!

        My husband has always preferred Venus over Serena too. He thinks she’s more gracious and has a better attitude and is an overall more talented player. I kind of like Serena’s take no prisoners approach, so that’s why she appeals to me.

    • Definitely after reading her book I am much more of a fan! :)

  22. I think she’s awesome to show such confidence as well! Although I am a little concerned about the support going on up top in that outfit. LOL

  23. I always admired them for wearing what makes them feel good! She definitely rocked it!

  24. i couldnt understand the outrage over the outfit either. dud, she’ll always have controversy no matter what, and plus shes just pure awesome so she can wear whatever she wants….the parisians should honeslty be the last ones to point fingers…i mean seriously, paris and corsettes go hand in hand….

    im gonna look out for that mahi mahi at our costco…looks really good.

  25. I’m not a prude but it kind of looks like something you’d wear in the bedroom….. ;)

  26. I don’t see why she shouldn’t wear it :)

  27. Personally I like it, but I also play tennis and I can see where people don’t think it’s appropriate for the court.

  28. I think its an awesome outfit.
    The way I see it, you cant see her butt, and you cant see her girl bits. So we’re good.
    Besides, what do people want her to wear? Shes playing tennis, its probably hot, you know shes going to work up a good sweat. Is so supposed to wear pants and a turtleneck? I mean come on.

  29. I love that the Williams sisters dress a little wild!! They’re in great shape and are amazing athletes. So have fun with it I say!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  30. I like it when people do their own thing! I can’t say I love the outfit, but I don’t think it looks any more like bedroom attire than a bathing suit. It looks like a little sporty dress to me. I say go for it…besides, she is standing out and that is what she wants to do! It is all about marketing yourself!

  31. I’m not sure how I like this one. It definitely looks like something from a lingerie catalog, not a sportswear catalog.

    Anyway, that fish looks scrumdiddlyumptious! I never make fish at home. I should start.

  32. that mahi mahi looks great! oh they dress a little crazy kind of not traditional but whatever!

  33. ROCK IT GIRL! thats what I have to say…if she is comfortable who are we to judge?? i mean she is amazing at what she does, and if she can do it wearing that? more power to her!

  34. I like this outfit a lot more than others I’ve seen her in. It’s probably a bit of a distraction tactic too – her opponent was probably shocked! I think it’s cute, and yeah, maybe not the best role model outfit. But she’s almost 30, not 13, and Miley Cyrus wears a lot less than that and gives 45 yr old men lap dances, so there you go.

  35. AWESOME pace, girl!! You rock!

    I like the outfit, but it does look like something I might flaunt in my bedroom for my hubby rather than play tennis in. But hey, rock it! I wear men’s boxers as shorts, who am I to say? ;)

  36. I personally don’t have a problem with this outfit. But I heard on ESPN that what really raised eyebrows was that she wore this outfit two days in a row! Their point was that she is supposed to be a fashionista with her own fashion line and also a millionaire. Why would she wear the same outfit two days in a row?

  37. Much like your Ronald McDonald post the other day, Venus is marketing her clothing line she designs. What’s wrong with that? Though this isn’t my favorite of her collection, I still say she should go for it.

    And, like you, she has always been one of my tennis faves. She is a class act and a bad ass on the court.

  38. An athlete at her level is representing a sport and I don’t think she is doing so in a classy way at all.

  39. I personally don’t think this is very classy. These players are role models for many kids. I love watching tennis and love the French Open. I’m not a Venus fan anyway. Go Justine!! :)

    Just hope Venus doesn’t show up in anything like this at Wimbledon.

  40. I personally don’t watch it, so it doesn’t bother me. I don’t think the outfit itself is that great, though I would love to have body like hers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

