Give To Me Straight Thursday

Happy Thursday!!! We made it past Wednesday and I was truly in a FANTASTIC mood all day long yesterday! It must have been because I took control and blacklisted Wednesday! hehe! Or it might have been my quick trip to Lululemon where I scored a few items for my closet!! YES!!! :)

My workout this morning was a definitely a needed recovery day! I did 5 miles at 8:00/pace followed by 30 minutes on the elliptical. Followed by some GOOD stretching!!! Feeling good!!

My dinner last night was pretty simple. I did a meatless dish (much to Keith’s displeasure…don’t worry I added chicken to his!!!) from my cookbook!

FETTUCCINE WITH WALNUT SAUCE

  • ½ cup park-skim ricotta cheese
  • ¼ cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 6 ounces fettuccine
  • ¼ cup walnuts, chopped
  • ¼ cup crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

In a small bowl, combine ricotta, chicken broth and lemon zest; mix until smooth. Cook the fettuccine according to package directions; drain and place in serving bowl. Top with ricotta mixture, then sprinkle with walnuts, Gorgonzola and parsley; toss to coat. (I also added in a small can of peas…hey I needed some green!)

Yields: 4 (1 cup) servings

CALORIES 271; FAT 10g (3g saturated fat); CHOLESTEROL 55mg; CARBOHYDRATE 33g; SODIUM 129mg; PROTEIN 12g; FIBER 2g

Now tell me this didn't make for a happy husband?!

Question: Do you want a sexy back?

If the answer is yes…then let’s talk about your posture. Is your posture good? Do you even know what posture means? According to this website; “Most people think that to “stand up straight” means tensing your back to heave your chest ‘in and up’, and pulling your head back in to your chest. This is not so. The spine has two natural curves that you need to maintain called the ‘double C’ or ‘S’ curves, these are the curves found from the base of your head to your shoulders and the curve from the upper back to the base of the spine. When standing straight up, make sure that your weight is evenly distributed on your feet. You might feel like you are leaning forward, and look stupid, but you don’t.”

How can you check your posture?  “Proper alignment places your ears loosely above your shoulders, above your hips. Again, these points make a straight line, but the spine itself curves in a slight ‘S’. You’ll find that this doesn’t hurt at all. If you do experience pain, look at your side view in a mirror to see if you’re forcing your back into an unnatural position. If so, stop it!”

I personally tend to roll my shoulders forward really badly. Keith is forever correcting this on me. In fact I have gotten so used to that slight forward shoulder roll that when I actually have them placed correctly it feels wrong! UGH! But I am working on it!!

Do you have good posture? Would you even know if you didn’t?

52 Responses

  1. I do have pretty good posture. I also love working back – its my favorite muscle to work!

  2. I love this recipe! I’ve been looking for a healthier version of fetticinne!

    As far as posture goes… I make an effort not to slouch! Slouching is a problem for me.

  3. Posture… uhhh…. I always catch myself and try to fix it. But it could be better. I blame the desk job!

  4. I have bad posture when I’m not aware of it for sure. I see so many people with bad posture and they don’t realize how it causes so many of their problems – from breathing to just being able to work…but yeah, after sitting on my butt all day my back is killing me no matter what…

  5. Happy Thursday! I have better posture from years of dance, but it doesn’t come naturally. I tend to want to hunch forward. I do make a conscious effort to stand tall and keep shoulders back when sitting as well (I have a desk job).

  6. I try really hard to focus on my posture, but I always let it go when I’m at work. Sitting at a desk hours on end can make you forget to sit up straight and not hunch over the keyboard. It’s so horrible for my back, but if I’m into something and really intense, I tend to forget about posture. Having a lumbar pillow on my chair helps. I have a friend with amazing posture and just seeing her makes me focus on mine. I envy the fact that she’s got great posture all the time.

  7. The pasta dish looks really good. And so cheesy! My favorite! As I am sitting her right now typing this comment, I do not have good posture. I try to sit straight, but that rarely happens! I need to work on proper posture more often than not!

  8. you know, i do have good posture! thankfully…that used to not be the case though. i had to consciously think about it and do specific back weight training!

    and i almost cried tears of joy at that recipe!

  9. ohh as I was reading this post I caught myself really hunched over lol. Something to work on!

  10. I have okay standing posture…but TERRIBLE sitting posture! I always catch myself slouching over the computer…which is bad, because I spend a LOT of time at the computer!

    Great run!

  11. My hubby and I both have terrible posture! My mother is forever yelling at me to stand up straight. When we got our wedding video back from the videographer, there is a scene in it where my “soon to be husband” is slouching atrociously! We sat on chairs with no back on the altar. And at one point I turned to him and you can see me mouth – “sit up straight” because he was slouching so badly, he looked shorter than me!

    • That’s too funny!! At our wedding, Keith was sweating so badly that people thought he was crying because he kept have to bend over and wipe his head! ;)

  12. So we did an intense “speed” workout on the treadmill today. At one point we had to do 3 minutes at an 8:25 or so pace.

    I wanted to vomit. I don’t know how you run so fast Kel!! LOL :)

  13. haha! Your “recovery” workout is my HARDCORE workout. LOL’ing at myself. Now can we talk Fettuccine?

  14. not only do i want a sexy back, but i want to BRING sexy back.

    omg so queer, i can’t believe i just said that.

  15. I tend to kinda stick my butt out and draw my shoulders up to my ears. If I’m cold I notice my neck starts to hurt from the scrunching. yoga has helped me to draw my shoulders down and tuck in my pelvis. I notice that I do it more naturally no wand have less neck and lower back pain.

  16. I try to keep my posture in mind.. I thougth about bringing a medcine ball to work to help me keep a better posture.. but was told that it is not a safe work chair replacement bs… oh well.

  17. I know I slouch over when I’m not thinking about it, so I do my best to pull my shoulders back!

  18. My posture is seriously HORRIBLE. I am a sloucher ;)

  19. My posture is like yours. Those pesky rolling shoulders! I always have great posture at the gym and in my car. The rest of the time… Ugh, it’s a work in progress.

  20. ooh i don’t have great posture, i try to work on it, but old habits die hard… that pasta sounds delish :)

  21. I have terrible posture. A yoga teacher once told me that even standing I have bad posture. I sit with a pillow behind my back and it seems to help, but I roll my shoulders forward too. I’m continually working on it.

  22. I do not have good posture! I have chronic pain in my shoulder and I believe that is the root cause. I am 5’11 so I have been known to stoop to be a similar height to the person I’m talking to…plus I work a desk job. Def something I need to work on!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  23. Yoga has done wonders for my posture. You realize that every movement has intention.

  24. As I was reading this I was hunched over my computer desk lol…it made me sit up straight! Thank you! :)

  25. im a major sloucher so these are instersting tips!

  26. My posture isn’t perfect, but I do try to sit up straight at work because I’m stuck behind a desk all day and I don’t want to be hunched over all the time!

  27. That walnut sauce sounds awesome! thanks for sharing!

  28. My posture used to be really good, not so much since I went from a desktop to laptop computer. I actually started a plan from Leigh Peele http://figureathlete.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/features/posture_power to add into my lifting and stretching to work on improving it

  29. Most of the time my posture is good. By the end of the day I get lazier with the posture. :(

  30. First of all, I want to try that pasta!

    Second, I think I have pretty good posture. Ive gotten a little lazy about it since I sit at a desk all day. But when I worked at the bank customers used to compliment me on my posture. Weird compliment yes, but I’ll take it! :)

  31. I admittedly have terrible posture (hello, 9-5 desk job!), but I’m working on it.

    Love the looks of that walnut pasta sauce!

  32. I just sat up straighter after reading this post. LOL

    I think I have pretty good posture overall when standing but I know I slouch a lot when sitting down.

  33. I would hope from doing years of gymnastics and ballet that my posture would at least be decent, but who knows! I did sit up straighter while reading this though.

  34. i know i have terrible posture! something i am working on while i run too. gosh your recovery day is my hard day. you are such a fast runner. do you do any races?

  35. I’m constantly looking to improve my posture but its not very good when I don’t pay attention… I can’t believe that is a recovery day for you!!

  36. Thank you for the compliments on me looking too young to have an 11 1/2 year old. That made my day yesterday! I got married when I was 20 and had him when I was 23. I have always looked way younger than I am. I used to hate it, but I love it now. My husband says he feels like a dirty old man with me even though I am older than him by a month! I have to say it is part genetics and part just taking car of myself. Nothing better than exercise and eating right!!! Anyway, you are too sweet! As for my posture. I work hard at that too. I hold my shoulders back, but now I am questioning if that is right…I have to go check out the right way. Have a great day! Oh, dinner looks delicious!

  37. so funny I JUST posted today all about the BACK on my blog! exercises and the anatomy!! great minds think alike!

  38. OMG i am making that dish ASAP. Looks sooo delicious!

  39. Oh boy!!! I have terrible posture, sometimes it seems like I have no spine because that is how bad I slouch!!! I have been working really hard on correcting this but it is so difficult :( I do want a sexy back!!

  40. That fettuccine looks yummm! I don’t even remember the last time I had it. Now, that’s just sad. I think my posture is OK, although my mom is always insisting that I’d look at least an inch taller if I stood up straighter. I dunno…I’m 5’2 and I’ve pretty much accepted it!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  41. Hey RunSis!
    Heck yes to the super pumped Wednesday! umm LULU is for sure a mood-booster! I am in LOVE with their Run-Tech tees! I try to make an effort to always have good posture because I am tall and my back gets sore if I slouch! my Mom is actually a good posture pusher…she’s 5’11 and stands so straight it looks like she is well above 6-ft! :)
    I am LOVING this recipe…walnut sauce!? sounds like a MUST try!
    I hope your thursday continues to be awesome!
    xoxo!

  42. i had a college dance professor who would rant that posture is not how you “hold” yourself. she said it was simply how you are organized. some organizations were better and more efficient for your body than others. i try to view posture in those terms, am i organized effectively for the task i am trying to complete.

  43. My posture is terrible. At work, I’m hunched at a computer all day. I know I’m sitting improperly, but I don’t care. Having good posture is not comfortable. That being said, I really need to work on it! Stephen is always correcting me too. :-(

  44. […] I’m working on my posture, thanks to Kelly. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

