Tuesday Fighter

Hey everyone…thank you so much for all the feel better wishes you sent me yesterday. I got sick on Sunday and it lasted until about yesterday afternoon. I am feeling much better today and I am determined to fight my way through this! There has been a NASTY stomach bug going around mine and Keith’s gym and I guess it was just my turn to get it! UGH! But being down for the count I was able to complete my personal training rectification test and get that mailed off. It was due by April 9th so I was definitely pushing the envelope. I just couldn’ make myself sit down and do it these last few weeks because the weather has been SO gorgeous! So at least that is one positive coming from this stomach blah! I also literally think that is 2 days I probably got close to 24 hours of sleep…seriously. I needed it! Keith was great…he actually told me I was beautiful (even though  hadn’t showered in 2 days and was not smelling the greatest)..what a guy! :)

When you are sick what makes you feel better?

Today, I am going to take it easy. I did run 10 mile this morning but at a comfortable (8:34) pace. I am still feeling a little dehydrated but the run felt awesome…I needed to stretch those legs out! I am a F-I-G-H-T-E-R and I am going to knock this thing OUT!  Just you watch!

In between bathroom runs, while laying awake in the middle of the night on Sunday I was watching infomercials (don’t ask) and I came across a 30 minute spot for a product called Brazil Butt Lift - A Brazilian Butt Lift Workout by Leandro Carvalho.

Brazil Butt Lift

Has anyone heard of this?

I must admit, in my sick state I did find this kind of appealing. I tend to not be a believer in gimmicks but this actually caught my attention. Now before you ask, no I did not whip out my credit card and order this system at 3:00a.m. (you thought that didn’t you??) but I did make a mental note to ask you guys about it. Truthfully, my bum has always been my ‘trouble spot’ and I am always on the lookout for something to help with it. But I don’t want to be one of those gimmick-suckers either. So c’mon people…give me you opinions!

To Brazilian butt lift or not?

50 Responses

  1. So glad you’re better. I had that bug a few weeks back. It’s been making it’s rounds in our office. I soooo feel your pain. I have heard of the Brazilian Butt Lift. I have not seen any informercials though. I say just do lots of step ups, squats, and donkey kicks, oh and deadlifts.

  2. Good to see your smiley face back… Sorry to hear you were sick with the stomach bug.. everyone in my office is sick and has taken a few days off work… I am really hoping I don’t catch anything.

    I haven’t heard of teh brazillian butt workout… sounds intresting. I don’t know if I would pay to buy the set but I might try it at the gym (if they have it at a gym)

  3. So glad you are feeling better, girl. :) I haven’t heard of the butt workout, but I need a lift!!! :)

  4. Great to hear you are feeling better! It didn’t feel like Monday without your sunny post!! Luckily the stomach flu usually doesn’t last for long.

    Butt is also my “problem” area and do you know what has done the wonders for me…Running up and downhill or even walking if it is a really steep hill. Also different type of jumps and leaps.

    • Oh thanks!!! I sometimes think that people think I am annoying because I so upbeat…glad to know that it at least makes you smile!! :)

  5. Ugh, don’t you just hate being sick!! Glad you are feeling better though. I meant to tell you I did a blog about this man, Dr. Katz a few days back and I don’t know if you got to read it, but this man is right up your alley!!

    As for the BBL, haven’t heard of it, but I am a firm believer (hahaha, pun intended) in lots of squats!

  6. Brazilian butt lift…lol. I could use that workout!! :-)

  7. So glad you are feeling better! I just got over a nasty cold myself!

    Never heard of the brazilian butt workout before… I just do lunges ;)

  8. A friend of mine was in an infomercial for Rev Abs and she said that, while it did make her core stronger, she was more toned just b/c they had her on a 1200 cal/day mail order diet while exercising 2 hours every day so she lost the fat that had been covering up the abs. I’d save the money and just do a bunch of squats, lunges, and ballet barre work. Dancers have great butts and they don’t need DVDs! ;-)

  9. Glad you’re feeling better! I’m always leery of infomercial products…but you never know :-)

  10. I’m glad you are feeling better (I am too)! Man, do I wish my comfortable pace was as lightening fast as yours! You rock!

  11. Glad you are feeling better and that you were still able to knock out 10 miles at what would be a fast pace for me, haha. Those infomercials always suck me in.

  12. It’s been awhile since I’ve been sick, but I love when it also happens to fall on a rainy day- so I can just stay in bed with the covers pulled up and listen to the rain… aaaahhhhh

  13. Glad you’re feeling better. I can’t believe that you consider ten miles at 8:34 pace an “easy” run.

  14. Someone on FitSugar commented and recommended it. I don’t think I can even say the name without giggling like a 5th grader. ;)

    Hope you’re feeling back to 100% soon!

  15. So glad you’re feeling a bit better. Stomach bugs are the worst. All I ever feel like is ginger ale and Saltines. I’ve never heard of the butt lift, though I probably need it since my butt is basically nonexistent. I find the leg press works my butt really well.

  16. I can’t believe you ran that fast for 10 miles after being sick! And if you buy the butt tapes, let me know. This is my problem spot as well!

  17. Oh I’m so glad you’re feeling better!

    I’ve never heard of the brazilian butt lift. My butt is still saggier than I would like it to be, but its about 100 times better than it was in august. I credit all the hills in my neighborhood for that. However, at 3 am I might be tempted to buy this.

  18. Only you would knock out 10 miles the day after having the flu! So glad to hear you are feeling better!

  19. I’m a total sucker for 3am infomercials. I even list that as one of the things I watch on TV on my facebook page. lol. I’m the one inthe living room whispering my CC # on the phone ordering whatever it is they have brainwashed me with. lol

    Heather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

  20. I have never heard of that product either. I think squats, lunges, deadlifts, stepups, plyometrics, etc are the best way to lift that tush. More so than something you could do at home I bet. Too bad you can’t try it for free though.

  21. infomercials are my downfall. i’ve never bought anything, but i’ve had the phone in hand with a credit card before! i would say just wait a little bit b/c anything that’s on an infomercial will probably be released to the public (in Walgreens and stuff) in a couple months anyway!

    hope you continue to feel better girl! drink some sprite!

  22. glad that you are feeling better! I love infomercials, I get sucked in so easy.

    Are they just exercise videos? If so, just keep doing your squats and lunghes and butt exercises and save yourself some money :)

  23. Cold grapes. Not frozen! I like them cold with some ginger ale and medicinal aloe vera. The aloe vera is a super all-natural wonder cure for upset stomach. I didn’t believe it until I tried it.

    As far as food, when I get to that point, nothing works like Town House crackers and cheese. That’s about the only time I will eat “white” crackers with little nutritional value, but that will put me back in a happy place rather quickly.

  24. Glad your feeling better!

  25. welcome back to the land of the living :)

    ive heard of that Brazil Butt lift because I overheard some coworkers laughing about it. I never looke dit up myself but judging from the laughter it must have been a pretty itneresting infomercial.

  26. Brazilian butt lift. lol.

    When I’m sick, oatmeal and sleeping makes me feel better.

  27. Glad you’re feeling better!

    When I am sick what makes me feel better is tea, and toast.

  28. Glad you are feeling better! That Guiness cake looked AMAZING by the way. My roommate’s bday is coming up. I may have to bake that cake!

  29. Hey my lovely sista!!
    sooo glad your getting back to feeling like your beautiful self! When I am sick it’s ALL about the smoothies, fruits, and tea! any and all forms of hydration!! YA YA for getting on the tready and workin’ it…I SWEAR working out makes me feel BETTER when I’m feeling a little sickly, call me crazy but to me it’s as though the sweating pushes the toxins out!…
    hehe!! you are too cute with the brazilian booty DVD’s…LUNGES at an incline with dumbells in each hand=a GOOD booty!!!
    I hope you have an awesome tuesday pretty chica!
    xoxo!

  30. When I’m sick, I love the Mrs. Grass’s chicken noodle soup mix. It comes in a small box and it tastes wonderful!

  31. Glad you are feeling better and thanks for stopping by my blog again :)
    It is still a work in progress but I’m getting there

  32. An EASY 10-mile run at 8:34 pace? Girl, you crack me up! I couldn’t run that fast even if Girl Scout cookies were at the finish line! Glad you feel better tho :)

    The Brazilian Butt Lift sounds interesting, but have you tried Physique57? It WORKS. DO. IT.

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

    • Thanks Ellen…I will look into that one too! I am probably going to order something I just don’t know what yet.

      And I bet you could run that fast for girl scout cookies! C’mon where’s your motivation! haha! :) Love you girl!

  33. Stomach bugs are the worst! Glad you’re feeling better. I love how your relaxed run is so much faster than my best 10miler! You’re amazing!

  34. Glad you feel better- I think you should try it so I can read about it:) And who doesn’t want a brazilian butt?

  35. Yay! Being sick is SO not fun. On that note, I have a wellness tea giveaway that might help you with that :-)

    Comfort food, and hearing the voices of my loving parents make me feel so much better when I’m sick. I’ve never heard of the Brazilian Butt Lift…but why is it Brazilian? Guess it just sounds exotic…

  36. Glad your doing better!

    I’ve never heard of that workout DVD…maybe you could find some freebie previews on youtube or something of the like and see if it suits you! Good luck, can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  37. I’m so pessimistic about all that stuff that I think it’s a gimmick. Though, at the same time I haven’t bought any “gimmicky” gadgets either, so idk if they’d work!!

  38. Kelly,
    Just came across your blog today – what a coincidence! I just received my Brazilian Butt Lift in the mail last night and did my first workout this morning. I am very excited about starting this program and after looking over the materials I am positive that it will give me a better booty! As much as I hate to take pictures of myself in a bathing suit I am going to because I cannot wait to see the before and after photos. If you want more info you can visit my beachbody website or e-mail me if you have questions. I would love to share!
    I look forward to your future blog posts as I am working on improving my nutrition and it looks as if you have many recipes that I will need to test out soon!

  39. i’ve never heard of that workout but i feel ya on the butt thing! i think most women would like a tighter tooshie!

  40. check out bodyrocktv.com — these short workouts are intense but highly effective for shaping the body.

    You’ll see that a nice butt comes from strength training.. not necessarily with weights. Zuzana – who has an UNBELIEVABLE body- does mostly body weight exercises.

    I will add that I had a flat and flabby bum when I was a runner… Now that I dont tear down my muscle mass with long bouts of cardio– my rear end is tight and round. I know your a runner so quitting that is not an option for you, but I would incorporate some new exercise movements into your routine.

  41. Well we had a stomach bug at the same time! I am still going through it right now but I was able to keep some food down this afternoon. Hope you are feeling 100% tomorrow! Sleeping or trying to sleep is the best so you are not focusing on the pain

  42. Only you would could run ten miles through a stomach bug thing. Hope you’re starting to feel better. Oh, informercials. Get ya every time. Keiths so sweet.

  43. So glad you’re feeling better! When you’re an active, busy person, being sick is so terrible!
    I had the flu a few weeks ago and it was horrible. When I’m sick I like to make yummy smoothies (I get so hungry when I’m sick!), watch movies, read, and take plenty of naps!

    I can’t believe running 10 miles at an 8:30 pace is an easy run for you! I can’t run even a couple miles at that pace. You are so much stronger and a much better runner than you think you are!

    • Thank you very much. That means a lot to me. Maybe one of these days I will be able to see myself through everyone else’s eyes! :)

  44. you are a fighter! and holy heck an 8:34 pace being easy… after being sick… superwoman :) umm, i’m gonna go with gimmick, but they always make those things sound so good!

  45. I would love to try the brazilian butt lift workout! It looks amazing, maybe because of all the bright colors?!

  46. [...] for everyone’s opinion on the Brazilian Butt Lift post from yesterday. I think after doing a little research and thanks to Ellen’s advice, I [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

