Oh No She Didn’t…

OH YES I DID!!!! I qualified for the NYC FULL MARATHON!!!

 Here are my official results:

  • TIME: 1:31:56 (averaged 7:01 minute mile pace)
  • OVERALL PLACE: 242 out of 3939 total finishers
  • SEX PLACE: 32 out of 2275 women
  • AGE GROUP PLACE: 10 out of 365 runners ages 25-29

First, I have to say THANK YOU to everyone who supported me and sent me such good luck wishes. This blogging community is AWESOME! Also, I have to give a shout out to James Cotter (my pacer)! There is no way I could have done that without him…no way! He was incredible and helped me every step of the way!!!

Want to see some pictures?

The Starting Line

Me and James before the race. It was COLD!!

Crazy Runners!

This was me running into the finish shoot! Almost there!!

Me and James post run! He is officially the BEST pacer ever!!!

Me and my sweet husband, Keith!

Race Recap:

So first off, the race was supposed to start at 6:45a.m. this morning BUT (yes there is always a but) the wind was SO bad that it kept blowing barricades down and the Austin Police Department wouldn’t allow us to take off until they could deem the course “safe”. So…we didn’t actually end up starting until almost 7:45am! I was FROZEN and the wind was brutal!!! (Today it is supposed to gust up to 40 mph in Austin!!!) Thankfully the wind wasn’t too bad on the run. The first 3 miles it was full on right in the face and then for the rest of the course it was mainly a crosswind or at our backs! Sweet! For the first 3 to 4 miles James and I were rockin under 7:00 minute mile pace…around 6:53-6:58. I knew we were fast and I was a little scared I wasn’t going to have anything left come mile 13…but that is where James was INSTRUMENTAL! He kept me pushing and he got me through it! I am not going to lie…this hurt…um…BADLY! haha! But it was totally worth it. I crushed my old PR by 7 minutes! So any pain I had today was 100% WORTH IT! I am so excited!!! I am definitely on a runner’s high! Who needs drugs? Just go run a race! :) 

Now I am happily curled up on my couch and I am about to watch my man…Peyton Manning…play the AFC Championship Game against the NY Jets. It would be the perfect day if the Colts win and make it to the Superbowl! :)

Love you all…and THANK YOU FOR ALL THE GOOD VIBES…they worked! :) 

45 Responses

  1. CONGRATS!!! way to persevere thru those temps :) enjoy the game, and your accomplishments!!!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!! That is so awesome, I can’t imagine how excited you must be! Running in the cold is so miserable for me (especially if it’s windy!) – so I really admire you for just gettin’ it done!

    Enjoy the rest of your day, I hope the colts win, too!

  3. YAY YAY YAY! Congratulations on qualifying! You absolutely owned that race and I hope you had a wonderful, relaxing afternoon!

  4. Congratulations! You’ve been so positive about what you’re able to do that succeeding at this race almost seemed like a forgone conclusion.

    Congratulations again! Well deserved!

  5. Congrats on qulifying!!! woot woot

  6. Oh girl I’m SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!! Your results are unbelievable!

  7. congratulations! that is such an amazing accomplishment you should be SO proud! 7 minute miles…you are a rockstar!

  8. That is awesome news! I am thrilled for you! Hope you take it easy the rest of the day!

  9. Congratulations!!!! Wow, you’re speedy!!!

  10. Wow – those results are amazing!! Especially coming in 242 out of nearly 4000 people. Thats phenomenal!!

  11. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m in awe of your time!! You are super woman!! Absolutely incredible!! Enjoy your runner’s high, you’ve worked so hard for it and deserve every bit of happiness!! :)

  12. oh my gosh CONGRATS girl!!!!!!
    that is sooo wonderful!! you are such a beast!

  13. Wow you’re fast!! Congrats!
    Thank you for visiting my blog and for the nice comment :)

  14. What can i say…ummmm…CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. WOW!!!! CONGRATS!!!!! YOU ARE AMAZING!!!!

    So, so awesome girl!

  16. ahhh congrats!!!! that is such an accomplishment :)

  17. Congrats! That is AWESOME! November is a great time to be up in the northeast.. running through the beautiful foliage oh amazing. Looking forward to reading and seeing all the pic from it in NOV.

  18. WOW! Congratulations to you! I really admire people who run marathons. I’m not a runner, and it’s because my body doesn’t react well to running (I have weak ankles, and I get gross plantar warts from running!) but I would love to run a marathon. I bet you feel GREAT right now, and you should.

  19. Oh my gosh, you are my running hero! How is it even possible to run that fast for such a long distance. Enjoy basking in your post-race glory :)

  20. CONGRATS!!! Yay girl!! SO proud of you, I am beaming right now. :)

  21. Oh my gosh, Kelly! That is AMAZING! I new you were fast but not that fast!! I told Scott your time and he was so jealous! Congrats!

  22. CONGRATS that is amazing. Seriously I hope you are out celebrating right now!

  23. Congratulations! What an amazing accomplishment! What out NYC…here come Kelly!

  24. Wow, you are super speedy! Congratulations!!!

  25. Congrats! You’re so fast!!

  26. Congrats! Your stats are amazing!! One day…I aspire to run with stats like yours. One day at a time though..

  27. Hooray!!! Congratulations!!! See you in NYC in November, for sure :-)

  28. Holy F-ing God!!! (Sorry I am NOT taking the Lord’s name in vain haha ;) )…I didn’t know you were THAT kind of a runner!! You are amazing – I am so proud of you! 1:31 – wow – the last time I was a real “runner” before I seem to lost myself and life…a did a half at 1:34…but that was like 5 years ago and now I can barely eke out 9:30 min miles…whatever – I am so proud of you and your smile is infectious!!! Can’t wait to read about the NYC journey :)

  29. Wow! Congrats on qualifying and running such an amazing time!

  30. […] Posted on January 25, 2010 by Kelly Good Monday morning everyone! I am officially SORE from the race yesterday! Holy wow…the worst is my booty! Seriously!! But it was worth it!! […]

  31. Congrats! That’s so exciting! Awesome time!!!

  32. Congratulations! That’s SO exciting. Run Kelly run! :)

    Sorry I cheered for the Jets. Haha. but I’m glad your race went well and then YOUR team did well.

  33. WOOP WOOP! Congrats!!! You are AMAZING!

  34. THAT IS AWESOME!

  35. I put myself in the lottery, so I hope I get in!

  36. I know I’m 10 years behind on commenting, but congratulations!! How exciting!! And wow, you are a fast chickie!

  37. […] so happy to have found her blog.  She is an amazing woman for many reasons and she just recently QUALIFIED FOR THE NYC FULL MARATHON!!  Um, yeah, she’s pretty much a rockstar with crazy fast superwoman legs.  She has a […]

  38. […] When I qualified for the NYC Marathon. It is one of my proudest moments thus far!http://myhealthypassion.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/oh-no-she-didnt/ […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

