A Southern Meal with a TWIST….

So last night for dinner we had my pineapple meatloaf topped with BBQ sauce! (So yum) and instead of meatloaf and mashed potatoes (gotta love that southern food) we did Cauliflower Mashed Potatoes! They were very good and everyone liked…even my meat and potatoes husband went back for seconds! :) But here’s the bummer…can you believe I totally forgot to snap a picture?!? Dang it! :( 

CAULIFLOWER MASHED POTATOES 

1 head of cauliflower 

1 oz fat-free half and half 

salt and pepper, to taste 

rosemary, optional 

Boil cauliflower until soft, about 20 minutes. Drain and place everything in a food processor and pulse until desired consistency of mashed potatoes. 

Serves 4-6 

30 Calories; 0.2g Fat; 0.1mg Cholesterol; 244mg Sodium; 6.2g Carbohydrates; 2.6g Fiber; 2.2g Protein 

We also watched another movie….Julie and Julia. It was good. I enjoyed it a lot! A good movie for all you foodies out there! We are working our way through Santa’s movie gifts!!! :) 

A Good Foodie Movie!

 

Today my Aunt and cousins came in for the day!! YAY! We walked on the beach and we seashell hunting!! 

The Beach!

Looking for seashells

Me and my cousin Kristen

 And tonight we are having FRESH fish…we went to the fresh seafood market and got some Grouper! We are putting the boys in charge and we plan to grill it with some fresh ears of corn! Can’t wait!

14 Responses

  1. I have tried the cauliflower mash before and just can’t get into it! Have you ever tried the cauliflower pizza crust?

  2. I’ve done the cauliflower pizza crust. I liked it! A little chewy though. Mark’s Daily Apple has a recipe. Glad you enjoying the beach, looks peaceful!!

  3. I’ve tried the pizza crust and its really hard to get it to get crispy, but eaten with a fork and spoon it was tasty!

    Have fun grilling! I miss grilling in the winter! :(

  4. Good to know…I will be willing to try it. Heck…I will try anything! :)

  5. Beautiful beach pics! Looks so peaceful :-)

  6. Mmm I LOVE mashed cauliflower! One of my big time comfort foods – my meat/potatoes loving husband loves it too – so it’s an easy go-to at our house.

    Fun pictures of you at the beach!

  7. OOH mashed cauliflower.. so delish!!
    Love your beach pics.. soo pretty. Enjoy! :)

  8. A walk on the beach sounds soo lovely :)

  9. I just bought a whole head of cauliflower at the grocery store today. It was really weird actually. I didn’t buy it for any reason but now I’ve got a new recipe to try! I love mashed potatoes so we’ll see… Julie and Julia was just ehhhh for me. Amy Adams was a bit whiney :(

    Grouper on the grill is incredible!!!

  10. I can’t wait to see Julie & Julia! I might have to make a special trip to the video store to see if they have a copy.

  11. I’m going to make this over the weekend. I was just gifted a food processor for Christmas and Ive been using it like crazy! This sounds good and I’ve seen this before with cauliflower!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

